Akamai 收购 Guardicore 以拓展 Zero Trust 解决方案,从而更好地帮助客户抵御勒索软件攻击。 阅读全文

Blue Code Hero Background

Hurb 使旅行预订更轻松、更安全

Akamai 提供的性能和安全性助力国际业务实现快速增长

分分钟预订心仪目的地

作为一家快速增长的在线旅游企业,网站的速度和安全性对于 Hurb 的成功而言至关重要。加载时间长或交易延迟都会令客户不爽。该公司依靠 Akamai 来为所有客户(包括那些身处网速不佳地区的客户)提供一致和安全的体验。

卓越的客户体验令 Hurb 的增长动力十足

Hurb 助力旅客前往心仪目的地。该公司的前身是成立于 2011 年的 Hotel Urbano,在旅游业混乱发展的十年中取得了显著增长。Hurb 最初只为巴西本土的客户提供服务,后来成功拓展了国际业务,目前全球注册客户数量高达 2000 万,全球可选目的地超过 35,000 个。

Hurb 成功的主要原因之一是其客户的忠诚度。新冠疫情期间,许多竞争对手都陷入了困境,而 Hurb 则通过采取慷慨的退款政策来保护受国内和国际旅行限制影响的客户,所以在这几个月内收获了大量订单。现在,该公司正利用这一势头向美国、加拿大、西班牙、葡萄牙和智利等国家/地区进行了国际业务扩张。

Hurb 开展在线旅游业务的基石就是其网站 - 客户需要在网站上浏览目的地,查看余票数量和价格,并进行预订。因此,页面加载时间是一个重要的考虑因素,特别是在巴西,更是如此。这里的许多酒店和客户都位于较偏远的地区并且网速可能会较慢。研究表明,网站加载时间每延迟 100 毫秒,转化率就会降低 7%,而网页加载时间每延迟 2 秒,跳出率就会增加 103%。

Hurb 的 CTO Carlos Rios 负责确保客户能够快速、无中断地浏览酒店和预订信息。“客户需要等待关于目的地的图片和其他详情加载的时间越长,他们就越有可能在未完成预订的情况下选择放弃。”他说道。

无论旅客是通过具有高速连接的笔记本电脑,还是在海滩上通过智能手机预订他们的下一次旅行,Hurb 都需要提供无缝的体验。“想象一下,如果您想通过手机来更改预订,但手机的网速比您最初在家里预订和支付定金时使用的笔记本电脑慢 10 倍,那么您一定会感到不爽。”Rios 说道。

对于企业而言,性能和安全性至关重要


这种对客户体验的不懈关注使 Rios 和他的团队选择与 Akamai 合作:“我们很快发现,Akamai 所拥有的技术和技能可优化我们网站的性能,并保护其免受黑客攻击以及其他安全威胁。”


Akamai 能够确保我们的客户从任何地点或设备均可享受他们的体验,让我们高枕无忧。

Hurb 首席技术官 Carlos Rios

Rios 最初被 Akamai 在巴西的基础架构所吸引,该基础架构有助于确保客户即使身处偏远地区,也能为其提供快速、一致的体验。现在,Hurb 依靠 Akamai 服务器在边缘解决 DNS 查询,并使用 Dynamic Site Accelerator 来缓存其 99% 的网站内容。这样就腾出了基础架构,使其可以处理实时数据,进而加快预订速度,并轻松应对网站流量高峰。

Rios 表示:“Akamai 的技术使我们能够专注于改进我们的基本服务。如今的客户在浏览目的地或预订下一次旅行时,希望获得即时的响应。Akamai 能够确保我们的客户从任何地点或设备均可享受他们的体验,让我们高枕无忧。”

借助 Akamai NetStorage,网络可动态选择性能最高的区域来提供内容,并迅速将其交付给客户。“通过结合使用 Akamai 的所有性能解决方案,我们可以向客户提供优化的服务,使他们能够从智能手机上轻松浏览目的地,进行预订,然后悠闲享受心仪目的地的海滩。”Rios 说道。

保护客户免受外部威胁

在安全方面,Hurb 使用 Akamai Web Application ProtectorSite Shield 来保护其系统免受外部攻击。有了这些保护措施,Hurb 即可让客户安心无虞,因为在预订时客户的付款和个人信息都受到了很好的保护。

Hurb 的 DevOps 工程师兼 IT 经理 Leandro Souza 表示:“如果客户停止操作,哪怕是一瞬间,并开始思索交易的安全性,都有可能导致他们放弃预订。Akamai 帮助我们确保系统不会受到入侵,并使客户在进行预订时没有任何顾虑。”

Akamai 安全技术还可保护业务免受软件漏洞的影响。Souza 表示:“我们每天都需要保护企业免受 SQL 注入等在线安全漏洞的影响。有了 Akamai 的帮助,我们对系统和客户都能受到良好的保护充满信心。也就是说,我们可以将资源重新投入到为业务增加价值的活动上。”

了解客户历程


除了提高速度和安全性之外,Akamai 的 mPulse 监控软件还有助于 Hurb 更好地了解最终用户体验,并针对这些信息做出调整。Souza 表示:“借助 mPulse ,我们可以确定趋势,并找到提升转化率的方法,而无需筛查大量数据。我们可以了解各种元素(比如图像或整个页面)如何影响用户体验,并在必要时做出调整,以改善用户体验。”


Akamai 帮助我们提供了五星级的在线体验。现在,我们有信心在国际上拓展业务,继续发展我们的业务,并为我们的客户提供卓越的假期出行预订体验。

Hurb 首席技术官 Carlos Rios

通过这些信息,Rios 可以展示该网站如何支持公司实现整体目标,并证明他们的 IT 投资可以带来的更广泛的价值。他表示:“我们发现页面加载时间缩短了多达 70%,这非常重要,因为用户可能会在偏远地区旅行并使用漫游数据。同时,我们拥有一个面向未来的安全基础架构,该基础架构可以不断更新,从而能够从容应对外部威胁。”

Rios 将客户在网站上的体验与他们在现实生活中的旅程进行比较。“当您旅行时,您希望顺利地从住所前门到达机场,然后到达度假村,一路不受干扰。预订旅行,也是如此。缓慢加载的页面可能与航班延误一样令人讨厌。”

Hurb 的客户无需担心。Rios 表示:“Akamai 帮助我们提供了五星级的在线体验。现在,我们有信心在国际上拓展业务,继续发展我们的业务,并为我们的客户提供卓越的假期出行预订体验。客户唯一应该关心的是记得带足够的防晒霜和手机充电器。”

关于 Hurb


Hurb 是一个由充满激情的旅游狂热者组成的团队,他们认为,与所爱的人一起探索世界会创造出伴随一生的回忆和值得分享的故事,可以拉近人与人之间的关系,并使人们变得更加幸福。Hurb 的最大目标是“让旅行变得更加轻松”,它希望在人们与他们的心仪目的地之间建立桥梁,以实惠的价格提供卓越的旅行体验。Hurb 现在是巴西领先的在线旅行社,全球注册旅客数量 2000 万,全球可选目的地超过 35000 个,并且 Facebook 关注者超过 1200 万,是全球规模最大的旅游粉丝网站。www.hurb.com


相关客户案例

Hotel and Travel

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts uses Akamai's CDN services to drive its online booking platform and improve website response time by 90%.
Read More
Content Delivery - CDN

Airbnb

Find out how Akamai helped Airbnb scale globally to deliver a superior web experience for web and mobile performance.
Read More

Akamai has acquired Guardicore to extend its Zero Trust solutions and help stop ransomware. Read more

Hurb Makes Booking Travel Easy – and Safe

International business takes off, powered by performance and security from Akamai

Dream destinations in minutes

As a fast-growing, online travel business, Hurb’s success depends on the speed and security of its website. Slow loading times or transaction delays can frustrate customers. The company relies on Akamai to deliver a consistent and safe experience for all their customers, including those in areas with poor internet speed.

Customer experiences power growth at Hurb

Hurb takes travelers to their dream destinations. The business, formerly known as Hotel Urbano, was founded in 2011 and has seen remarkable growth during a decade of disruption in the travel industry. Initially serving customers in its home country of Brazil, Hurb has successfully expanded its international operations and now has a global audience of 20 million registered customers who can choose from more than 35,000 destinations worldwide.

One of the main reasons for Hurb’s success is the loyalty of its customers. Although many competitors struggled during the COVID-19 pandemic, Hurb saw some of its busiest months thanks to a generous refund policy that protected clients affected by national and international travel restrictions. Now, the company is using that momentum to expand internationally into countries such as the United States, Canada, Spain, Portugal, and Chile.

The cornerstone of Hurb’s online travel business is its website — where customers go to browse destinations, check availability and pricing, and make their reservations. Here, page loading time is an important factor, especially in Brazil where many hotels — and customers — in more remote areas may not have access to a high-speed connection. Research shows that every 100-millisecond delay in website load time can reduce conversion rates by 7 percent, while a 2-second delay in web page load time increases bounce rates by 103 percent.

Carlos Rios, CTO at Hurb, is responsible for making sure customers can browse hotel and reservation information quickly and without interruption. “The longer a customer has to wait for pictures and other details about their destination to load, the greater the chance they will give up without completing a booking,” he says.

Hurb needs to provide a seamless experience whether travelers are booking their next getaway from a laptop with a strong connection or from a smartphone on a beach. “Imagine the frustration if you want to change your booking but your mobile phone is 10 times slower than the laptop at home where you originally made the booking — and paid the deposit,” says Rios.

Performance and security at the heart of the business


This relentless focus on the customer experience led Rios and his team to Akamai: “We saw very quickly that Akamai had the technology and the skills to optimize the performance of our website and protect it from hackers and other security threats.”


Akamai gives us peace of mind that our customers will enjoy their experience from any location or device.

Carlos Rios, CTO, Hurb

Rios was initially attracted by Akamai’s infrastructure presence in Brazil, which helps ensure a fast and consistent experience for customers even in remote locations. Hurb now relies on Akamai servers to resolve DNS queries at the edge and uses Dynamic Site Accelerator to cache 99% of its website content. That frees up the infrastructure to process real-time data for faster reservations and to easily handle peak web traffic.

“Akamai’s technology enables us to focus on the fundamentals,” says Rios. “Customers today expect an instantaneous response as they browse destinations or book their next getaway. Akamai gives us peace of mind that our customers will enjoy their experience from any location or device.”

With Akamai NetStorage, the network dynamically selects the highest-performing region to serve content and rapidly delivers it to the customer. “By combining all the performance solutions from Akamai, we can deliver a streamlined service to customers that takes them effortlessly from browsing on a smartphone to lounging on the beach at their dream destination,” says Rios.

Protecting customers from external threats

When it comes to security, Hurb uses Akamai Web Application Protector and Site Shield to protect its systems from external attacks. This helps Hurb deliver peace of mind to customers so they can trust that their payment and personal details are protected when they make a reservation.

Leandro Souza, DevOps Engineer and IT Manager at Hurb, says, “If a customer pauses, even for a split-second, to reflect on the security of a transaction, it may result in a lost booking. Akamai helps us ensure that our systems are never compromised and there is nothing in the back of a customer’s mind that distracts them from making a reservation.”

Akamai security technology also protects the business from software vulnerabilities. “It’s a daily battle keeping the business secure from online security breaches, such as SQL injection,” says Souza. “With Akamai we have confidence that our systems and our customers are protected. This means we can refocus our resources on activities that add value to the business.”

Understanding the customer journey


As well as improving speed and security, Akamai helps Hurb to better understand the end- user experience and react to this information through its mPulse monitoring software. “With mPulse we identify trends and get answers to conversion questions without sifting through vast amounts of data,” says Souza. “We can understand how elements such as images or entire pages affect user experience and make changes where necessary to improve the experience.”


Akamai helps us provide a five-star online experience. We now have the confidence to expand internationally, continue to grow our business and provide our customers with the best experience when booking a vacation.

Carlos Rios, CTO, Hurb

With this information, Rios can show how the website supports overall company goals and can demonstrate the wider value of their IT investment. “We’ve seen page load times shrink by as much as 70%, which is very important because a user can be on a trip in a remote area using roaming data,” he says. “At the same time, we have a future-proof security infrastructure that can evolve to stay one step ahead of external threats.”

Rios compares the customers’ experience on the website to the journeys they make in real life. “When you’re traveling, you want to go from your front door, to the airport, to the resort without interruption. It’s the same when you book a trip. A slow loading page can be just as annoying as a delay to your flight.”

Hurb customers need not worry. “Akamai helps us provide a five-star online experience,” says Rios. “We now have the confidence to expand internationally, continue to grow our business and provide our customers with the best experience when booking a vacation. The only concern they should ever have is remembering to pack enough sunscreen and their phone chargers.”

About Hurb


Hurb is a team of passionate travel fanatics who believe that exploring the world with loved ones creates lifelong memories, stories to share, strengthens bonds, and makes people happier. Hurb’s biggest goal is “To make travel Easier” by connecting people to their dreams and providing the best travel experiences at an affordable price. With over 20 million registered travelers, 35,000 destinations worldwide, and more than 12 million Facebook followers — making it the world’s largest tourism fan page — Hurb is now the leading online travel agency in Brazil. www.hurb.com


Related Customer Stories

Hotel and Travel

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts uses Akamai's CDN services to drive its online booking platform and improve website response time by 90%.
Read More
Content Delivery - CDN

Airbnb

Find out how Akamai helped Airbnb scale globally to deliver a superior web experience for web and mobile performance.
Read More
Edge Compute

Eurail.com

International railway company Eurail, trusts Akamai to provide exceptional mobile & desktop online experience.
Read More
Kona Site Defender

eSky

eSky Delivers on its Customer Experience Mission While Expanding Globally with Akamai Performance and Security Solutions.
Read More