Akamai 将收购 Guardicore 以扩展其零信任解决方案并帮助阻止勒索软件。 阅读全文

KKLab 采用 Akamai 的 Zero Trust 解决方案,获得面向内部和外部网络的灵活性和保护机制。

Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector 主要负责过滤和分析从内部网发起的连接,并准确判断目的地是否具有恶意的 IP 地址或域名。这其中的关键就在于大数据数据库。”

KKLAB 高级副总裁 Hung-Yi Chen

2015 年前后,KKBOX 的研发部门(后于 2019 年成为创新研究公司 KKLab)开始仔细审视信息安全问题。这支研发团队开展了多项不同的实验,并聘请了一支外部专业团队进行黑客入侵演习和渗透测试,以发现系统中的潜在漏洞,进而挖掘完善和改进机会。该部门决定实施多重身份验证,还引入了 Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector 来抵御定向攻击以及 Enterprise Application Access 来确保应用程序系统访问安全性。通过引入这两项云端信息安全服务,该公司实现了 Zero Trust 安全模式。

迈向 Zero Trust 架构加强了传统 VPN 的脆弱性

KKLab 的 AVP Hung-Yi Chen 表示,KKBOX 集团一直以技术为导向。他于 2005 年毕业时加入该集团,15 年来始终专注于技术研发工作。随着集团的发展,他帮助引进了许多值得关注也富有挑战性的新技术。其中包括在 2010 年组建一支网站可靠性工程团队,引入 CI/CD 并部署了一个混合云架构。后来,他加入了云端技术服务提供商 KKLab,利用自身对于云技术和人工智能的研究底蕴,帮助企业推进技术转型。

KKLab 为集团旗下各企业(如 KKBOX、KKTV、KKStream、KKTIX 和 FARM)的技术服务提供支持。他们还专注于人工智能和机器学习 (AI/ML) 工具链、大数据高速计算平台、多种混合云环境搭建和咨询服务,并就这些主题与外部公司展开合作。该公司扩展了数字支持服务的范畴,为高科技制造、零售物流、媒体和娱乐以及金融和保险等领域的企业提供服务。

在提供技术服务的同时,KKLab 也将信息安全视为一大重要目标。该公司特别引入了第三方信息安全测试能力,并利用黑客入侵演习来揭示系统中的潜在安全薄弱环节。当时该公司的许多员工都相信,他们公司的信息安全非常出色,应该能够轻松通过测试。但经过数据库攻击测试后,他们才发现,许多帐户和密码都可能被黑客攻破。这让 KKLab 团队意识到,通过 VPN 访问内部网资源的传统信息安全框架和概念实际上相当危险。一旦黑客获得内部帐户密码,他们就可能通过 VPN 进入内部网,随意窃取信息,给集团造成巨大的运营风险。

为了抵御风险,KKLab 采取了两阶段式安全强化措施。首先是强制实施多重身份验证机制。所有人都必须输入帐户密码和 OTP 代码,这样才能连接到 VPN。此外,KKLab 积极规划实施 Zero Trust 架构,持续检查和验证每一位访问者是否确实属于合法用户。KKLab 的最终目标是围绕 Zero Trust 的理念,打造更灵活、更安全的工作环境。

借助 Enterprise Threat Protector/Enterprise Application Access 构建安全防护网,阻断所有可疑连接

Chen 指出,专注于娱乐媒体和流媒体技术服务的 KKBOX 集团希望能够利用这种灵活性,即时阻止恶意行为。该公司并不希望采取过度严格的控制措施,因为那会抑制员工创造力,也正因如此,KKLab 建议采用 Zero Trust 模型。该解决方案必须易于部署和维护,同时尽可能降低对于用户工作流程的影响。根据这些要求,该公司决定选择 Akamai 解决方案。

“Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector 主要负责过滤和分析从内部网发起的连接,并准确判断目的地是否具有恶意的 IP 地址或域名。这其中的关键就在于大数据数据库。”他还补充说,Akamai 拥有很高的市场份额。KKLab 选择 Akamai 的第一个理由在于,该解决方案的基础围绕 CDN 和防范 DDoS 攻击的服务而建立,并且从这些服务中收集了大量的恶意行为数据。这些强大的资源是支持 Enterprise Threat Protector 有效运作的重要基石。

其次,他们也研究过市面上与 Enterprise Threat Protector 相似的解决方案,发现那些解决方案的部署要求有所不同。有些解决方案要求在每个终端设备上安装一个代理,有些则要求在企业主干网络上安装一个连接器。而 Akamai 支持同步连接。Akamai 连接器采用轻量级虚拟机 (VM) 映像的形式,只要求对一些网络设置进行调整。2018 年,KKLab 在短短 30 分钟内就完成了概念验证。通过这次概念验证,该公司确认,凭借丰富的情报数据库,采用 Akamai 连接器的 Enterprise Threat Protector 可以满足其需求,并因此敲定了与 Akamai 的合作。

在利用这款产品过滤内部和外部连接的基础上,2020 年,KKLab 采用了 Enterprise Application Access,以控制员工从任何地点访问内部网资源的行为。他们使用 Docker 映像部署了连接器。到目前为止,KKLab 已经通过 Enterprise Application Access 连接了 100 多个内部应用程序系统。如今,KKLab 的许多合作伙伴都在使用更复杂的 VPN 通道连接到内部网系统,而 KKLab 则可以使用 Enterprise Application Access 模型,避免了更多 IT 维护的风险,并为同事免去了额外的维护负担。

自从部署 Akamai 解决方案之后,KKLab 不断学习成长,如今已经不再仅仅是 Akamai 客户的角色。KKLab 在企业客户服务方面有深厚的底蕴,为 Akamai 提供了许多对客户有益的建议和用例,例如在报告中增加更深入的信息。例如,除了了解某一时期木马或网络钓鱼等事件的统计数据外,KKLab 还希望知道哪些用户、哪些设备触发了这些事件。他们还建议,在报告中原有的文字与数字的基础之上,增加数据的可视化表现形式,例如饼状图、柱形图和折线图。Akamai 迅速回应了这些建议,调整了报告,让全球用户都从中受益。

如今,在 Akamai Zero Trust 解决方案的保护下,KKBOX 集团每天平均自动拦截约 100 封试图诱使用户访问带有恶意广告、恶意程序或网络钓鱼行为的网站的电子邮件。KKLab 还能轻松了解任何可疑的连接行为,并在问题产生危害之前加以防范。随后,他们可以审查架构或用户行为中的问题并做出改进,推动 KKBOX 集团信息安全不断提升。展望未来,KKLab 计划建立一个 Zero Trust 旅程体验模型,并将其以服务的形式提供给集团以外的公司,让各种公司都能从中受益。

原文于 2020 年 12 月 7 日发布在 iThome 上,网址是:https://www.ithome.com.tw/pr/141499


Akamai 简介

Akamai 支持并保护网络生活全球颇具创新力的公司选择 Akamai 来提供安全的数字化体验,为数十亿人每天的生活、工作和娱乐提供助力。凭借全球企业信赖的大型边缘平台,Akamai 可使您的应用程序、代码和体验更贴近用户,并使威胁远离用户。如需了解有关 Akamai 的安全、内容交付以及边缘计算产品和服务的详细信息,请访问 www.akamai.com/zh/、 www.akamai.com/zh/blog,及微信公众号:Akamai。

相关客户案例

Security

Intuit

Read More
Edge DNS

Microgame

Read More
Security

Suntory Business Systems

Read More

KKLab introduces Akamai’s Zero Trust solution, combining flexibility and protection for both internal and external networks

Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector is mainly responsible for filtering and analyzing connections from the intranet and accurately determining whether the destination has a malicious IP address or domain. The key lies in the big data database."

Hung-Yi Chen , AVP , KKLAB

Around 2015, the R&D unit of KKBOX, which became the innovative research company KKLab in 2019, started to take a closer look at information security. The R&D team conducted different experiments and hired an external team of professionals to perform hacker intrusion drills and penetration tests to discover potential breaches to systems that could be refined and improved. The unit decided to implement multi-factor authentication, and also introduced Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector to prevent targeted attacks and Enterprise Application Access to ensure application system access security. With the introduction of these two cloud-based information security services, the company realized Zero Trust security.

Moving toward a Zero Trust architecture reinforces the vulnerabilities of traditional VPNs

KKLab AVP Hung-Yi Chen said that KKBOX Group has always been technology oriented. He joined the group while completing his studies in 2005 and has focused on technology R&D for 15 years. As the group grew, he helped introduce many interesting and challenging new technologies. This included the establishment of a site reliability engineering team in 2010, the introduction of CI/CD, and the deployment of a hybrid cloud architecture. He later joined KKLab, a cloud-based technology service provider that uses its foundation of research into the cloud and artificial intelligence to help companies promote technological transformation.

KKLab supports technology services for various businesses within the group, such as KKBOX, KKTV, KKStream, KKTIX, and the FARM. It also works with external companies through its focus on artificial intelligence and machine learning (AI/ML) tool chains, big data high-speed computing platforms, multiple hybrid cloud construction, and consulting services. The company expanded its digital support to provide services to enterprises in fields such as high-tech manufacturing, retail logistics, media and entertainment, and finance and insurance.

While providing technical services, KKLab also includes information security as a key goal. The company specially introduced third-party information security testing capabilities and used hacking intrusion drills to reveal potential security weaknesses in its systems. Many people at the company were confident that it had a high level of information security and would easily withstand the test. But it was discovered via a database attack test that many accounts and passwords could be compromised by hackers. It made the KKLab team realize that the traditional information security framework and concept of accessing intranet resources through a VPN is actually quite dangerous. Once a hacker obtains an internal account password, they may follow the VPN to enter the intranet and steal information at will, exposing the group to great operating risks.

To counteract the risks, KKLab adopted two-stage security reinforcement measures. First, multi-factor authentication is enforced. Everyone must enter the account password and OTP code at the same time before being allowed to connect to the VPN. In addition, KKLab is actively planning a Zero Trust architecture, which will continuously check and verify whether each visitor is really a legitimate user. The ultimate goal for KKLab is to create a more flexible and safe working environment based around Zero Trust.

Constructing a protective net with Enterprise Threat Protector/Enterprise Application Access to block every suspicious connection

Chen noted that KKBOX Group, which focuses on entertainment media and streaming technology services, hopes that it can take advantage of the flexibility and block malicious behavior immediately. The company does not want to take excessive control measures that will inhibit the creativity of colleagues, which is why KKLab recommends adopting the Zero Trust model. The solution must be easy to deploy and maintain while affecting the user’s workflow as little as possible. Based on these requirements, the company decided to work with the solutions from Akamai.

“Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector is mainly responsible for filtering and analyzing connections from the intranet and accurately determining whether the destination has a malicious IP address or domain. The key lies in the big data database.” He added that Akamai has a high market share. The first reason why KKLab chose Akamai is the solution’s foundation built around CDN and anti-DDoS services, from which a large amount of malicious behavior data is collected. These powerful resources serve as a vital cornerstone to support the effective operation of Enterprise Threat Protector.

Second, the deployment requirements are different when looking at similar solutions to Enterprise Threat Protector on the market. Some require the installation of an agent on each endpoint device, and some require the installation of a connector on the corporate backbone network. Akamai supports simultaneous connections. The Akamai Connector is a lightweight virtual machine (VM) image, and only a few network settings need to be adjusted. In 2018, KKLab completed the proof of concept in just 30 minutes. It confirmed that with the rich intelligence database, Enterprise Threat Protector with the Akamai Connector could meet its needs, and the company decided to work with Akamai.

In addition to filtering internal and external connections, KKLab introduced Enterprise Application Access in 2020 to control the behavior of employees accessing intranet resources from any location. It deployed the connector using the Docker image. So far, KKLab has connected more than 100 internal application systems through Enterprise Application Access. While many partners used more complicated VPN channels to connect to the intranet system, now they can use the Enterprise Application Access model, which saves them from taking more IT maintenance risks and saves colleagues the extra maintenance burden.

Since deploying Akamai, KKLab has grown to become something more than just a customer. KKLab has deep experience in corporate customer service, and it provided many suggestions and use cases that are helpful to customers, such as adding deeper information in reporting. For example, in addition to knowing the statistics of events such as Trojan horses or phishing during a certain period, KKLab wanted to know who and what device triggered these events. It also suggested adding data visualizations, such as pie charts, bar graphs, and line graphs, in addition to text and numbers on reports. Akamai quickly responded to these suggestions, adjusting its reports and providing greater benefits to global users.

Nowadays, under the protection of Akamai’s Zero Trust solution, KKBOX Group automatically blocks a daily average of about 100 emails that are trying to connect users to sites with malicious advertisements, malicious programs, or phishing behaviors. KKLab can easily understand any suspicious connection behavior and prevent issues before they cause harm. The company can then review issues in the architecture or user behavior and make improvements, promoting continuous improvement of information security at KKBOX Group. Looking to the future, KKLab plans to establish a model for the Zero Trust journey experience and provide it as a service to companies outside the group, so that a variety of companies can benefit from it.

Original article published by iThome, Dec 7, 2020, https://www.ithome.com.tw/pr/141499


Related Customer Stories

Security

The Washington Post

Read More
Publishing

The Associated Press

Read More
Download Delivery

ASUS

Read More