Skip to main content
Blue Code Hero Background

BurdaForward

BurdaForward 借助 Akamai 的支持,通过运行流畅、响应快捷的网站为数百万人提供在线阅读服务。

如果您正在寻找内容交付网络 (CDN),那么您会立即意识到 Akamai 有着目前非常优秀的先进解决方案。对 BurdaForward 来说,声誉就是一切,所以寻找可以信赖的合作伙伴至关重要。”

BurdaForward 运营主管 Sebastian Binder

BurdaForward 凭借及时新鲜的优质内容吸引在线读者

BurdaForward 以其引人入胜的新鲜内容和别具一格的透明广告投放模式推动了快速增长。为了保持网站的出色速度、可用性和响应能力,这家媒体公司选择了 Akamai 的产品和服务,以持续吸引读者。

通过引人入胜的内容和“优质好广告”吸引读者

报道突发新闻并且保证基础架构不会中断。BurdaForward 的目标是提供及时而又具有社会影响力的内容,在关注问题的同时也关注解决办法,从而改善德国民众的生活。其网站每月吸引 4000 万名独立访客,如果当日有重大新闻,每秒钟的访客数量可能多达 6000 人。该公司的旗舰品牌是 FOCUS Online,这是德国热门的新闻门户网站和广受信赖的资讯来源,提供各种时事资讯 - 很多人都会在每天清早一边喝咖啡,一边浏览他们的网站。另外还有数百万人依靠他们的 CHIP.de 获得技术测评信息,通过 NetMoms 获取育儿建议,从 Finanzen100 上获取财务洞见,以及通过他们的 The Weather Channel 查询天气信息等等。BurdaForward 的成功建立在广告投放模式之上,他们依靠广告来保证为所有人提供开放的内容。“BurdaForward 的宗旨是为每个人提供新闻和资讯,所以用付费的方式来设立内容访问门槛有违我们的初衷,”BurdaForward 运营主管 Sebastian Binder 这样说道。“这意味着我们要依靠广告作为主要创收来源,而这就需要找到一种有创意的广告投放方式。我们希望将广告打造成一种对读者有帮助的积极体验。”

该公司并不提供可能会破坏网站体验的传统弹出式广告,而是以一种干扰程度更低的方式展示其广告商投放的广告。BurdaForward 与广告商合作,撰写由广告商赞助的产品和服务相关文章,吸引读者点击其认为有用的内容。他们将这种广告称为“优质好广告”,能够推动有力增长。但为了保持这样的增长,他们需要在幕后不懈努力以发展进步。

报道突发新闻并且保证基础架构不会中断

BurdaForward 的成功有赖于 FOCUS Online 及旗下其他网站的速度、可用性和响应能力 - 以及抢先更新最新资讯的能力。如果任何一个条件没能满足,就会导致读者离其而去,破坏公司的“优质好广告”模式,并侵蚀客户的信任和营收。在对信息需求高涨的时期,德国各地的人们都在同时寻求可靠的信息来源,此时的风险就会较高。

“全国性的新闻报道可以让 FOCUS Online 的流量飙升到正常水准的五六倍,”Binder 表示。“在我们向移动设备推送新闻通知时,常常会有数十万人同时点击进入网站。”

在采用 Akamai 的产品之前,应对流量高峰只能依靠扩大基础架构的规模,让额外的硬件处于热备用模式,以防止系统无法处理流量。这种方法成本很高,而且也让运营团队寝食难安,始终担心会发生问题。但如今,您可以摆脱这样的困扰。

在不可预测的新闻周期中保持可预测的性能

BurdaForward 选择了 Akamai 的产品,以确保其基础架构能够以不变的速度和出色的稳定性来处理其流量。在过去几年间,Akamai 的产品帮助该公司顺利发展,从容应对各种无法预知的状况。

“在新冠疫情期间,更多人在家上网浏览资讯,造成我们的流量大规模增加,”Binder 说。“在 Akamai 的帮助下,我们轻松扩大了现有规模来适应额外的流量,不但没有对系统造成影响,也不需要做出任何调整。事实上,我们最初甚至没有注意到这种增长。”

对于 FOCUS Online、CHIP.de 和其他网站上蜂拥而至的读者来说,可靠而快速的响应时间和积极的体验不断吸引着他们。借助 AkamaiDynamic Site Delivery,BurdaForward 得以将大部分内容缓存在 Akamai内容交付网络 (CDN)上,其中 FOCUS Online 网站主页的缓存命中率高达 94%。这有效地分担了源站服务器的流量,让 Binder 可以延用以往规模较小的基础架构,从而控制成本。随着运营和开发团队逐渐朝着基础架构即代码的方向发展,他的团队不必再仓促应对流量高峰,而是可以专注于优化未缓存内容的性能并简化软件发布。

此外,AkamaiAdaptive Media Player还帮助 BurdaForward 适应了视频需求的飙升,包括日渐增加的付费视频广告。这家公司将这样的趋势视为进一步吸引读者的机会,并采用了 AkamaiImage & Video Manager以实现更快的交付速度和更高的质量。

Binder 说:“视频是我们网站内容中冉冉升起的一颗新星。在疫情期间,很多人都来观看我们有关新冠肺炎的科学讲解视频,所以视频观看量显著增加。“在 Akamai Image & Video Manager 的帮助下,我们能够以更快的速度发布更多视频,并针对各种设备和显示格式优化内容。”

BurdaForward 还选择通过 AkamaiGlobal Traffic Management来实现其数据中心之间的负载平衡,以防止单点故障,保证网站正常运行。此外,该公司还选择了 AkamaiEdge DNS及其区域顶点映射功能,以确保访客可以安全访问公司旗下各品牌的数千个子域名,包括 Focus Online、Chip.de、Netmoms、Finanzen100、The Weather Channel、BestCheck、CardScout 和 Efahrer.com。由于每天访客数量达到数百万,这些举措对于 BurdaForward 的品牌产生了巨大影响。

由多种产品构成的综合平台支持顺畅发展演进

在 BurdaForward 选择 Akamai 时,Binder 还没有加入公司,但他完全理解这个决定。他说:“如果您正在寻找内容交付网络 (CDN),那么您会立即意识到 Akamai 有着目前非常优秀的先进解决方案。对 BurdaForward 来说,声誉就是一切,所以寻找可以信赖的合作伙伴至关重要。”

该公司不仅能为客户提供更快、更可靠的体验,还可以更快地将新功能推向市场。其运营和开发团队正在转向基础架构即代码的方法,实现软件部署、调配和配置的自动化。借助单一平台,Binder 及其团队让开发人员可以更轻松地调用 Web 性能 API 及发布代码,并且可以使用标准化的工作流程和帐户。

这样的势头让 BurdaForward 不断发展壮大。BurdaForward Ad Manager 广告管理器的推出让各类企业可以预订广告位,撰写自己的原生广告内容并在 BurdaForward 网络上投放。这种工具让规模较小的公司可以利用 BurdaForward 广阔的资讯发行商网络并有效提高知名度 - 这也是这家传媒公司加强“优质好广告”模式的另一种方式。而从某种程度上来说,所有这一切都或多或少地依赖于 Akamai。

“我们团队有一条规则,”Binder 说。“向公众投放的内容必须通过 Akamai 处理。”

关于 BurdaForward

BurdaForward 是德国最大的传媒公司之一,隶属于拥有百余年传媒龙头地位的 Hubert Burda Media。该实体秉持数字优先、技术驱动的理念,旨在通过其众多数字渠道提供可靠的信息、智能化的服务和建设性的资讯报道,整体目标是让德国民众的生活更美好。BurdaForward 旗下拥有德国一些知名度高、访问量大的网站,例如 FOCUS Online (focus.de),该网站拥有超过 2767 万个独立用户,年访问量达 2.1969 亿次。公司的网站服务器/后端基础架构由一支 13 人的团队管理,该团队专注于提升稳定性和性能,同时他们还与大型开发团队携手合作,创建适用于 BurdaForward 的媒体资产的网站、应用程序和 API。


Akamai 简介

Akamai 支持并保护网络生活全球各大优秀公司纷纷选择 Akamai 来打造并提供安全的数字化体验,为数十亿人每天的生活、工作和娱乐提供助力。我们横跨云端和边缘的计算平台在全球广泛分布,不仅能让客户轻松开发和运行应用程序,而且还能让体验更贴近用户,帮助用户远离威胁。如需详细了解 Akamai 的安全、计算及交付解决方案,请访问 akamai.com/zh 和 akamai.com/zh/blog,或者扫描下方二维码, 关注 我们的 微信公众号


相关客户案例

Security

Smilegate West

Smilegate West 为数以千计的玩家提供高质量的游戏体验,并携手 Akamai 共同抵御 DDoS 攻击
阅读更多
Download Delivery

华硕

全球高科技巨头华硕依靠 Akamai 的平台交付并保护他们的在线体验。
阅读更多
Edge DNS

Microgame

Microgame 携手 Akamai 和 Criticalcase 提供快速、安全的在线博彩和投注网站
阅读更多

BurdaForward

BurdaForward keeps millions of people reading online with fast, responsive websites fueled by Akamai.

If you're looking for a content delivery network (CDN), you realize immediately that Akamai is the best, most advanced solution available. At BurdaForward, our reputation is everything, so it’s crucial to work with partners we can trust."

Sebastian Binder , Head of Operations , BurdaForward

Online readers flock to BurdaForward for content speed and quality

BurdaForward has driven rapid growth with its compelling, up-to-the-minute content and a uniquely transparent advertising model. The media company chose Akamai to keep its websites fast, available, and responsive, so readers keep coming back for more.

Compelling content and "goodvertising" attract readers

Covering breaking news — without breaking the infrastructureBurdaForward aims to improve the lives of people across Germany by delivering timely, compelling content that can make a real difference in society, focusing on solutions as well as problems. Its websites attract 40 million unique visitors every month, and on a big news day, there may be as many as 6,000 people visiting every second. The company’s flagship brand is FOCUS Online, Germany’s top news portal and a trusted source of information covering today’s issues — the sort of website people read with a cup of coffee as they start each day. Millions of people also rely on CHIP.de for technology reviews, NetMoms for parenting advice, Finanzen100 for financial insights, The Weather Channel, and more. BurdaForward’s success is built on an advertising model, which keeps content open to everyone. “At BurdaForward, our purpose is to deliver news and information to everybody, so it doesn’t make sense to put our content behind paywalls,” says Sebastian Binder, head of operations at BurdaForward. “That meant finding a creative approach to advertising, which is our main source of revenue. We wanted to turn ads into a positive, helpful experience for readers.”

Rather than serving up traditional pop-up ads that can interrupt a website experience, the company showcases its advertisers in a less intrusive way. BurdaForward partners with its advertisers to write sponsored articles about products and services — letting readers click on what they find useful. They call it “goodvertising,” and it’s driving powerful growth. But keeping up with that growth requires constant evolution behind the scenes.

Covering breaking news — without breaking the infrastructure

BurdaForward’s success depends on the speed, availability, and responsiveness of FOCUS Online and its other websites — as well as its ability to refresh the content with up-to-the- minute information. Anything less can drive readers away and undermine the company’s “goodvertising” model, eroding customer trust and revenue. The stakes are never higher than during periods of high demand, when people across Germany are seeking credible sources of information, all at the same time.

“National news stories can make traffic on FOCUS Online shoot up to five or six times the normal volume,” says Binder. “When we send out push notifications to mobile devices, we might see hundreds of thousands of people clicking into the site all at once.”

In the time before Akamai, dealing with traffic spikes meant scaling up the infrastructure — keeping extra hardware in hot standby mode in case systems couldn’t handle the volume. That approach got expensive, and it kept the operations team in a constant state of worry that something could go wrong. Not anymore.

Ensuring predictable performance in an unpredictable news cycle

BurdaForward chose Akamai to make sure its infrastructure can handle the volume with unfailing speed and stability. Akamai products have helped the company grow smoothly over the past several years, even under unpredictable circumstances.

“During COVID-19, more people were at home surfing the internet, and our traffic massively increased,” says Binder. “With Akamai, we easily scaled to accommodate the extra traffic without an impact on our systems, and without having to make any adjustments. In fact, we almost didn’t notice the increase at first.”

For readers flocking to FOCUS Online, CHIP.de, and other sites, reliably fast response times and positive experiences keep them coming back for more. Using Akamai Dynamic Site Delivery, BurdaForward can cache much of its content on the Akamai content delivery network (CDN) — with a 94% cache hit ratio on FOCUS Online’s main page. That offloads traffic from the origin servers, allowing Binder to keep the infrastructure small and rein in costs. No longer scrambling to accommodate traffic spikes, his team can focus on optimizing the performance of uncached content and streamlining software releases as the operations and development teams move toward infrastructure as code.

In addition, Akamai Adaptive Media Player has helped BurdaForward keep up with rising demand for video, including a growing amount of paid video ads. Seeing the trend as an opportunity to further engage readers, the company has adopted Akamai Image & Video Manager for even greater delivery speed and quality.

“Video is one of the rising content stars on our websites. During the pandemic, video consumption increased significantly as people viewed our explainer videos on the science of COVID-19,” says Binder. “With Akamai Image & Video Manager, we’ve been able to deliver more videos at greater speed and optimize the content for every device and format.”

BurdaForward also selected Akamai Global Traffic Management for load balancing among its data centers, preventing a single point of failure to keep websites up and running. Plus, the company chose Akamai Edge DNS and its Zone Apex Mapping feature to ensure secure access to thousands of subdomains across its brands — FOCUS Online, CHIP.de, NetMoms, Finanzen100, The Weather Channel, BestCheck, cardscout, and EFahrer.com. With millions of visitors every day, the impact on BurdaForward brands is immense.

A platform of products makes it easy to evolve

Binder hadn’t yet joined BurdaForward when the company chose Akamai, but he understands the decision perfectly. “If you’re looking for a content delivery network (CDN), you realize immediately that Akamai is the best, most advanced solution available,” he says. “At BurdaForward, our reputation is everything, so it’s crucial to work with partners we can trust.”

Not only can the company deliver a faster, more reliable experience to customers, it can go to market faster with new features. Operations and development teams are moving toward an infrastructure-as-code approach, automating software deployment, provisioning, and configuration. With a single platform, Binder and his team are making it simple for developers to call on web performance APIs and release code, with standardized workflows and accounts.

That momentum has kept BurdaForward evolving and growing. The launch of BurdaForward Ad Manager allows companies to book ad space and write their own native ad content for publication on the BurdaForward network. The tool allows smaller companies to take advantage of BurdaForward’s broad network of publishers and raise awareness — yet another way the media organization is strengthening its “goodvertising” model. All of it depends on Akamai in some way.

“We have a rule on our team,” says Binder. “When you deliver content to the public, it has to go through Akamai.”

About BurdaForward

BurdaForward is one of Germany’s largest media companies as part of Hubert Burda Media, which has been a media leader for over 100 years. It is a digital-first, technology-driven entity that aims to provide reliable information, intelligent services, and constructive reporting through its many digital channels with an overall goal of helping people in Germany live better lives. BurdaForward is behind some of Germany’s best-known and most-visited websites, such as FOCUS Online (focus.de), which boasts more than 27.67 million unique users and 219.69 million visits per year. The company’s website server/back-end infrastructure is managed by a team of 13 that focuses on stability and performance improvements while working hand in hand with large development teams that create sites, applications, and APIs for BurdaForward’s media properties.


About Akamai

Akamai secures and delivers digital experiences for the world’s largest companies. Akamai’s intelligent edge platform surrounds everything, from the enterprise to the cloud, so customers and their businesses can be fast, smart, and secure. Top brands globally rely on Akamai to help them realize competitive advantage through agile solutions that extend the power of their multi-cloud architectures. Akamai keeps decisions, apps and experiences closer to users than anyone — and attacks and threats far away. Akamai’s portfolio of edge security, web and mobile performance, enterprise access and video delivery solutions is supported by unmatched customer service, analytics and 24/7/365 monitoring. To learn why the world’s top brands trust Akamai, visit www.akamai.comblogs.akamai.com, or @Akamai on Twitter. You can find our global contact information at www.akamai.com/locations.


Related Customer Stories

Security

The Washington Post

Read More
Bot Manager

Yatra offers a top search experience using Akamai

Read More
Kona Site Defender

CashFlows

Read More