Akamai 助力骊住加速采用 Zero Trust 模式

 

骊住借助 Akamai Enterprise Application Access 加速采用 Zero Trust 模式。

我们当时面临着许多挑战,包括相同用户在每个系统中都有不同的用户身份,身份验证方法过于陈旧,以及远程用户通过 VPN 接入企业网络,因此无法获得无缝体验。如果不解决这些难题,数字化转型就无从实现。为了设法解决这些问题,我们将 Zero Trust 安全模式作为数字化转型方法的核心支柱。

Taku Yasui,骊住公司企业董事兼信息安全总监

IT 基础架构存在重重问题的全球化公司

骊住的业务覆盖全球 150 多个国家/地区,是一家建筑材料和房屋设备制造商,旗下拥有 GROHE 和 American Standard 等知名品牌。骊住的供应链非常复杂,因为他们的建筑材料和房屋设备等许多产品通常都需要专业安装。骊住的订单形式也相当复杂,因为每栋建筑物的需要有所不同,每位客户的偏好有所不同,定制产品的情况非常普及。

为了实现流程的精简化和现代化,骊住采用了多个新系统。这一举措大大促进了公司发展,然而,这些技术虽然为公司的核心业务提供了支撑,也提升了复杂性。许多系统都是单独构建的,导致内外 UI/UX 不一致,还有对手机和平板电脑的支持迟迟无法落实。

此外,骊住正在实行工作方式变革。他们支持员工随时随地办公 - 不论是在家中,还是在咖啡馆中。董事、系统基础架构部门负责人和核心系统执行经理 Osamu Iwasaki 这样解释说:“我们需要为员工提供统一的新 UI/UX,并且支持更开放的工作方式。这意味着要重新审视我们在架构和基础架构方面的做法。我们希望从公司的数字化战略出发,精简 IT 系统,而这就要求我们专注于降低成本、减少系统数量,以及提高安全性”。

Zero Trust 模式成为关键

在实现现代、统一的数字化体验的过程中,骊住遇到了一些难题。尤其值得一提的是,并购造成他们的传统 IT 基础架构进一步复杂化。这些设备的维护工作造成成本攀升并且工作量加大。此外,由于骊住的业务覆盖全球,其安全策略多种多样,这也带来了治理方面的问题。

“我们当时面临着许多挑战,包括相同用户在每个系统中都有不同的用户身份,身份验证方法过于陈旧,以及远程用户通过 VPN 接入企业网络,因此无法获得无缝体验。如果不解决这些难题,数字化转型就无从实现。为了设法解决这些问题,我们将 Zero Trust 安全模式作为数字化转型方法的核心支柱。”骊住公司企业董事兼信息安全总监 Taku Yasui 解释说。

Zero Trust 模式解决了由不同系统造成的安全、复杂性和成本问题。它不再依靠传统防御层安全,而是改为采用身份感知防御机制,从而为数字化转型提供了有力支持。

“我们使用的许多 SaaS 应用程序都能从公司外部访问,这大大增加了我们需要管理和保护的连接位置的数量。由于监督不足,有些位置的安全性较为薄弱。在所有位置都连接到单一的可信网络时,要提高安全水平相当困难。而随着我们工作方式的变革,用户用来访问这些资源的设备的种类也在增加。将所有资源统一放在一处是不切实际的。因此,我们相信 Zero Trust 模式,它不会假设网络本身是可信的,可以更好地保护服务器端和客户端的终端,”Iwasaki 透露道。

Akamai Enterprise Application Access 推动骊住实施 Zero Trust 战略

如果要在现有系统的基础上做出改动来实施 Zero Trust 架构,可能会非常昂贵和耗时。Akamai 为骊住介绍了 Enterprise Application Access (EAA) 这种可行的解决方案供其考虑。

“Enterprise Application Access 是一款基于云的 Zero Trust 网络访问解决方案,它在企业内部或 IaaS 上部署连接器,以实现对企业系统的无缝、安全的访问。系统可以轻松对用户和设备进行身份验证和授权,然后再授予访问权限。人们常常说,安全性与便利性不能两全,但 Enterprise Application Access 打破了这种说法,”Yasui 说。

Iwasaki 补充说:“Enterprise Application Access 在 Akamai 的全球边缘平台上运行,这带来了重要的价值。作为规模庞大的全球网络服务提供商,Akamai 的分布式基础架构为我们提供了企业级访问安全和互联网服务级别的性能和保护。”

另外值得一提的是,骊住拥有诸多合作伙伴(包括各类供应商和其他第三方实体),这些合作伙伴都需要访问骊住的内部资源。借助 Akamai Enterprise Application Access,骊住就能以安全的方式提供不同的访问权限,而不必向外部各方公开其整个网络。

“我们的 Zero Trust 之旅刚刚开启。综合考虑到我们自身的员工以及我们的合作伙伴,我们需要为 18 万名用户部署 Enterprise Application Access,涉及到 600 多种应用程序。当然,如果没有 Akamai 的支持,我们的转型就无从实现。我们要走的路还很长,我们将继续与 Akamai 合作,解决这一历程中出现的任何问题,”Yasui 解释说。

使用 Enterprise Application Access 客户端软件

骊住目前还在使用 Enterprise Application Access 客户端,支持用户在通过身份验证后以安全的方式访问非 Web 应用程序(比如 Microsoft Outlook)。Yasui 说:“这让用户可以无缝访问公司内部系统,而公司不需要更改应用程序,也不需要使用 VPN。”

骊住公司的最终目标是实施安全措施,让所有应用程序都能通过互联网使用,并且通过灵活的微服务形式加以交付。采用 Enterprise Application Access 是该公司从当前的传统环境迈向理想形式的重要一步,他们对 Akamai 所能提供的解决方案和支持寄予厚望。

骊住简介

骊住是一家业界卓越的建筑材料和房屋设备公司。2011 年,Tostem、INAX、Shin Nikkei、Sunwave 和 Toyo Exterior 合并成了骊住公司。骊住通过开发和提供解决日常难题的先进管道产品以及门、室内材料和室外材料等建筑材料,帮助世界各地的人们打造更美好的生活。骊住始终立足最终用户角度看待问题,专注于有意义的产品设计,开辟更大的可能性,推动负责任的业务增长,为世界各地的人们全球人民创造更丰富、更舒适的家居与生活。


相关客户案例

Security

Intuit

Intuit keeps TurboTax, QuickBooks, and Mint available and secure year-round with Akamai.
Read More
Security

Suntory Business Systems

Akamai Technical Advisory Service (TAS) supports and resolves massive Website Analysis and Improvement
Read More
Security

BurdaForward

BurdaForward keeps millions of people reading online with fast, responsive websites fueled by Akamai.
Read More

Akamai accelerates LIXIL’s Zero Trust adoption

 

LIXIL Accelerates Zero Trust Adoption with Akamai Enterprise Application Access.

There were many challenges, including having different user identities for each system, legacy authentication methods, and non-seamless remote user experience via a VPN. If you don’t solve these challenges, digital transformation cannot come to fruition. To try to solve them, we made the Zero Trust security model the central pillar of our approach.

Taku Yasui, Corporate Director and Director of Information Security, LIXIL Corporation

A Global Company with Challenging IT Infrastructure

Operating in over 150 countries worldwide, LIXIL is a manufacturer of building materials and housing equipment with well-known brands including GROHE and American Standard. LIXIL’s supply chain is complex because many of its products, like construction materials and residential equipment, typically require professional installation. LIXIL’s order format is also quite complex, as it is common for products to be customized to suit individual buildings and customer preferences.

To streamline and modernize processes, LIXIL has adopted several new systems. This effort has greatly contributed to the growth of the company, but while these technologies support the company’s core business, they have also created complexity. Many of the systems were built separately, resulting in inconsistent internal and external UI/UX, as well as delayed support of mobile phones and tablets.

Furthermore, LIXIL is embracing work style reform. The company is empowering employees to work from anywhere — at home or in a café. Osamu Iwasaki, Director, Head of System Infrastructure Department and Executive Manager of Core Systems, explains: “We need to provide our employees a new, unified UI/UX and support a more open work style. This means rethinking our approach to architecture and infrastructure. We want to streamline and simplify our IT systems based on our digital strategy, which will require us to focus on reducing cost and the number of systems, as well as increasing security.”

A Zero Trust Model Is the Key

In moving toward a modern and unified digital experience, LIXIL ran into a few issues. Notably, their legacy IT infrastructure had become even more complex due to acquisitions. Maintaining this equipment resulted in increased costs and workloads. Furthermore, LIXIL’s global presence created a diversity of security policies and therefore governance concerns.

“There were many challenges, including having different user identities for each system, legacy authentication methods, and non-seamless remote user experience via a VPN. If you don’t solve these challenges, digital transformation cannot come to fruition. To try to solve them, we made the Zero Trust security model the central pillar of our approach,” explains Taku Yasui, Corporate Director and Director of Information Security.

A Zero Trust model solves for the security problems, complexity, and cost created by disparate systems. It enables digital transformation by shifting to identity-aware defenses instead of relying on legacy systems to secure the network perimeter.

“Many of the SaaS applications we use are accessible from outside the company, which significantly increases the number of connecting locations we need to manage and secure. Some locations will have weaker security due to less oversight. It’s quite difficult to increase security levels when all locations are connected to a single trusted network. And with our work style reform, the number of different devices being used to access these resources is increasing. Unifying everything in one location is impossible. That’s why we believe the Zero Trust model, which doesn’t assume the network itself is trustworthy, would better protect endpoints on both the server side and the client side,” reveals Iwasaki.

Akamai Enterprise Application Access Drives LIXIL’s Zero Trust Strategy

Implementing a Zero Trust architecture by modifying existing systems can be extremely costly and time consuming. As a potential solution, Akamai introduced LIXIL to Enterprise Application Access (EAA).

“Enterprise Application Access is a cloud-based Zero Trust Network Access solution that provides seamless, secure access to corporate systems via a connector deployed on-premises or on IaaS. Users and devices are easily authenticated and authorized before access is granted. People often say that increasing security will result in less convenience, but Enterprise Application Access is really the best of both worlds,” states Yasui.

Iwasaki adds, “The fact that Enterprise Application Access runs on Akamai’s global edge platform is invaluable. As the world’s largest network provider, Akamai’s distributed infrastructure affords us enterprise-grade access security with internet–service level performance and protection.”

It’s notable, too, that LIXIL has numerous partners — including suppliers, vendors, and other third-party entities — that need access to their internal resources. With Akamai Enterprise Application Access, the manufacturer can provide this varied access in a secure manner, without opening up their full network to these outside parties.

“Our journey toward Zero Trust security has only just begun. Between our employees and our partners, Enterprise Application Access will need to be deployed to a total of 180,000 users across more than 600 applications. Of course, without Akamai’s support, we wouldn’t be able to transition. We still have a long way to go, but we will continue to work with Akamai to solve any issues that arise,” explains Yasui.

Using Enterprise Application Access Client Software

In addition, LIXIL is using the Enterprise Application Access client to provide secure and authenticated access to non-web-based applications such as Microsoft Outlook. “This provides seamless access to internal systems without changing applications or using a VPN,” says Yasui.

The company is eventually aiming to implement security measures that will allow everything to be available on the internet and delivered as flexible microservices. Enterprise Application Access is a significant step forward from the company’s current legacy environment toward its ideal form, and they have high hopes for the solutions and support that Akamai will be able to provide.

About LIXIL

LIXIL is an industry-leading construction materials and residential equipment company. It was formed in 2011 by the merger of Tostem, INAX, Shin Nikkei, Sunwave, and Toyo Exterior. LIXIL improves the lives of people all over the world by developing and offering advanced plumbing products that solve everyday challenges, as well as building materials such as doors, interiors, and exteriors. LIXIL aims to view things from the end user’s perspective and focuses on meaningful product design, pursuing greater possibilities and driving responsible business growth in order to create a richer, more comfortable home and life for people around the globe.


Related Customer Stories

Security

The Washington Post

For Arc Publishing, owned by The Washington Post, security is critical. With Akamai, Arc secures at the Edge, ensuring that their - and their customers' - brands are protected.
Read More
Publishing

The Associated Press

The Associated Press chose Akamai's Managed Kona Service and Live Event support to ensure uninterrupted news delivery during the coverage of the 2016 U.S. presidential election.
Read More
Download Delivery

ASUS

Global high tech giant ASUS relied on Akamai’s platform to deliver and secure online experiences.
Read More