Luisa Via Roma

Luisa Via Roma 使用 Akamai Bot Manager 缓解爬虫程序流量,从容应对在线购物者数量增加。

在区分真实流量和爬虫程序流量方面,没有其他爬虫程序管理产品可以做到这么全面。

Fabio Testa,Luisa Via Roma 软件架构师

现状

要成为成功的服装零售商,需要在承袭经典款式与把握新鲜潮流之间小心谨慎地取得平衡。自 20 世纪 30 年代初在意大利佛罗伦萨成立以来,Luisa Via Roma 一直秉承了这一理念。这家自那时起就开始经营女装、男装、童装、鞋靴和配饰业务的奢侈品零售商将业务拓展到了网上。其网站 (luisaviaroma.com) 使用八种语言向 200 多个国家/地区的购物者提供服务。一路走来,该网站获得了源源不断的网站访问者,截至 2017 年初,该网站的平均每月唯一访问者数量已经达到 200 万,目前该公司有 95% 以上的收入都来自这个网站。

挑战:防止爬虫程序对购物者造成不良影响

随着该零售商将其在线业务扩展到世界各地,它越来越难以区分合法的网站流量和不需要的爬虫程序流量。2016 年,当网站流量大幅增长时,爬虫程序的流量也出现激增。该公司担心,如果没有办法将爬虫程序的流量和购物者的流量分离,并减少不需要的爬虫程序流量,就会对购物者产生不良影响。Luisa Via Roma 的软件架构师 Fabio Testa 表示:“我们明白,爬虫程序对我们的网站造成了影响,但却无能为力。”

目标

Luisa Via Roma 的目标是维持其顶尖在线购物平台的地位,为了实现这一目标,该企业需要满足两个关键要求:

  • 让真正的购物者能够访问网站.该零售商不希望爬虫程序缓解措施妨碍合法流量访问他们的网站。
  • 激发对于在线业务的信心.Luisa Via Roma 希望保持和加强其作为领先在线零售商的声誉。

为什么选择 Akamai
选择实施全面的解决方案

作为 Akamai 服务(旨在提高 Web 性能)的现有客户,Luisa Via Roma 很自然地选择使用 Akamai Bot Manager。正如 Testa 所述,该零售商自行构建爬虫程序检测和缓解服务是不现实的。“Akamai Bot Manager 的基础是一个可靠的、经过认证的爬虫程序类别数据库,Akamai 会不断对其进行更新。另外,该产品还提供了许多动态分类爬虫程序的手段,并可根据众多因素进行权衡。在区分真实流量和爬虫程序流量方面,没有其他爬虫程序管理产品可以做到这么全面。”Testa 说道。

充分利用先进的功能

Bot Manager 部署到位后,Testa 和他的团队发现,他们可以轻松分析数据和配置产品,以满足 Luisa Via Roma 的需求。通过使用 Bot Manager,该团队可对每个自定义或预定义的爬虫程序类别应用一个独特的管理策略。“爬虫程序行为每天都在变化,让人难以招架。但 Bot Manager 不仅提供了有效的默认分类和缓解策略配置,还允许我们根据自己的情况定义新的条件和独特的类别。”Testa 解释道。

在寻找爬虫程序带宽使用变化时,Bot Manager 中的爬虫程序活动报告是 Testa 团队首先查看的信息来源。如果他们注意到趋势变化,该团队就会转至爬虫程序分析仪表板,以确定导致此变化的爬虫程序,并深入了解 HTTP 请求特征,以配置新的缓解规则。

Google 上的缓存

正如 Testa 所述,并非所有爬虫程序都是恶意爬虫程序,因此,不能不加区分地全面拦截。从商业角度来看,Google 爬虫程序是最有价值的爬虫程序。在线零售商必须满足 Google Shopping 的要求,并能够承受该爬虫程序频繁执行的网站验证,以避免被该服务禁止。借助 Bot Manager,Luisa Via Roma 能够微调其缓存策略以满足这一要求。同时,这也有助于减少对其源站基础架构的影响。

控制价格抓取程序

Luisa Via Roma 面临的另一个挑战是价格抓取程序,由于它们具有智能行为和再现用户浏览器足迹的能力,因此极难进行缓解。事实上,试图缓解这些抓取程序时,通常会导致大量误报,从而影响正当购物者的体验。

为了解决这个问题,Testa 的团队将 Bot Manager 与 Akamai Luna Property Manager 和 Google Invisible reCAPTCHA 集成在一起,以对流量进行认证。一旦浏览会话被认证为正当,网站访问者在既定时间段内就无需再通过新的验证码进行认证。

“我们的验证码解决方案的优势在于,它减少了需要执行的迭代工作,即每天定义新的自定义类别。简而言之,Bot Manager 使我们更容易消除自动购物行为。”Testa 说道。

更好地应对爬虫程序环境

就 Testa 而言,有效爬虫程序管理的关键在于避免减少合法的网站流量,因为这对业务和公司的在线声誉是不利的。“Bot Manager 为我们提供了接近 100% 避免误报的爬虫程序检测。”他说道。事实上,通过使用 Bot Manager,Luisa Via Roma 将未知爬虫程序在整体爬虫程序流量中的占比从 75% 以上降低到 25% 以下。

同时,Bot Manager 在短短 6 个月内就帮助将爬虫程序总流量从 45% 降低到 25%。“Bot Manager 让我们实现了重新设计的网站架构的全部价值,我们实施此架构的目的是为我们不断增长的业务提供支持。“爬虫程序缓解措施让我们有信心为我们的网站带来更多的流量,并进一步发展我们的业务。”他总结道。

Luisa Via Roma 简介

Luisa Via Roma 于 20 世纪 30 年代初在佛罗伦萨成立,并于 1999 年开设公司同名概念店和推出网上业务。LUISAVIAROMA.COM 是一家 100% 私营顶级在线奢侈品时装网站,为男士、女士和儿童提供精选的服装、鞋子和配饰,以及家居和设计产品 - 产品来自成熟的设计师以及优秀的新兴人才。请访问 https://www.luisaviaroma.com.


相关客户案例

Security

KKLab

Read More
Security

Intuit

Read More
Security

Suntory Business Systems

Read More

Luisa Via Roma

Luisa Via Roma Paves the Way for More Online Shoppers by Mitigating Bot Traffic with Akamai Bot Manager.

No other bot management product is as comprehensive when it comes to distinguishing real traffic from bot traffic.

Fabio Testa, Software Architect, Luisa Via Roma

The Situation

Being successful as a fashion retailer requires a careful balance of observing the classic styles and responding to the latest trends. Luisa Via Roma has done just that since its founding in the early 1930s in Florence, Italy. Since that time, this luxury retailer of women's, men's, and children's clothing, shoes and accessories expanded its business online. Its website – luisaviaroma.com – is available in eight languages to shoppers in more than 200 countries. Along the way, it has garnered a steady stream of site visitors – an average of 2 million unique visitors per month as of early 2017 – and generates now more than 95% of the company's revenues.

The Challenge: Preventing Bots from Impacting Shoppers

As the retailer extended its online presence around the world, it became increasingly difficult to distinguish legitimate site traffic from unwanted bots. In 2016, when site traffic grew exponentially, so did bot traffic. Without a way of separating bot traffic from shopper traffic and mitigating unwanted bots, the company was worried about the impact on shoppers. According to Fabio Testa, software architect for Luisa Via Roma, “We understood that bots were impacting our website but could not do much about it.”

The Goals

Luisa Via Roma needed to meet two key requirements to support its goal of remaining a top online shopping destination:

  • Enable real shoppers to access the site. The retailer did not want bot mitigation measures to prevent legitimate traffic from accessing the site.
  • Inspire confidence in online business. Luisa Via Roma wanted to maintain and strengthen its reputation as a leading online retailer.

Why Akamai
Opting for a Comprehensive Solution

As an existing customer of Akamai services designed to improve web performance, it was natural for Luisa Via Roma to take advantage of Akamai Bot Manager. As Testa explains, it was not practical for the retailer to build a bot detection and mitigation service of its own. “Akamai Bot Manager is based on a solid and certified database of bot categories that Akamai continually updates. Plus, the product provides many means to dynamically categorize bots and weigh them against numerous factors. No other bot management product is as comprehensive when it comes to distinguishing real traffic from bot traffic,” says Testa.

Taking Advantage of Sophisticated Capabilities

Once Bot Manager was in place, Testa and his team found it to easy analyze the data and configure the product to serve the needs of Luisa Via Roma. Using Bot Manager, the team applies a unique management policy to each custom or predefined bot category. “Dealing with daily bot behavior changes is hard. But Bot Manager not only provides effective default categorization and mitigation policy configurations, it allows us to define new criteria and unique categories specific to our situation,” explains Testa.

The Bot Activity report within Bot Manager is the first place Testa’s team looks for bot bandwidth usage variations. If they notice trend changes, the team moves to the Bot Analysis dashboard to pinpoint the bot responsible for the change and drills down to the HTTP request characteristics to configure new rules for mitigation.

Caching in On Google

As Testa explains, not all bots are bad bots so you can’t blanket block them all. Google is the most valuable bot from a business perspective. It’s imperative for an online retailer to satisfy Google Shopping requirements and stand up to the crawler’s frequent site verifications in order to avoid being banned by the service. With Bot Manager, Luisa Via Roma was able to fine-tune its caching policies to satisfy this requirement. At the same time, this helped reduce the impact on its origin infrastructure.

Controlling Price Scrapers

Another challenge for Luisa Via Roma is price scrapers, which are extremely difficult to mitigate because of their smart behavior and ability to reproduce a user browser footprint. In fact, attempts to mitigate them usually lead to a high number of false positives, which affects the experience of legitimate shoppers.

To address this, Testa’s team integrates Bot Manager with Akamai Luna Property Manager and Google Invisible reCAPTCHA to certify traffic. Once a browsing session is certified as being legitimate, the site visitor will not be challenged against a new captcha for a predetermined amount of time.

“The advantage of our captcha solution is that it reduced the iterative work to define new custom categories on a daily basis. Simply put, Bot Manager made it much easier for us to eliminate automated shopping,” says Testa.

Better Responding to the Bot Landscape

As far as Testa is concerned, the key to effective bot management is not mitigating legitimate site traffic, as that can be bad for business and a company’s online reputation. “Bot Manager has provided us with nearly 100% non-false-positive bot detection,” he says. In fact, with Bot Manager, Luisa Via Roma decreased unknown bots from more than 75% to less than 25% of overall bot traffic.

At the same time, Bot Manager helped reduce total bot traffic from 45% to 25% within just six months. “Bot Manager has allowed us to realize the full value of the redesigned site architecture we put in place to support our growing business. The bot mitigations have freed us to confidently drive more traffic to our site and further grow our business,” he concludes.

About Luisa Via Roma

Luisa Via Roma was founded in Florence in the early 1930s, with the opening of the company’s eponymous concept store and launched online in 1999. LUISAVIAROMA.COM is a 100% privately owned top online luxury fashion destination featuring a curated selection of clothes, shoes and accessories for men, women and kids – as well as as well as home and design products – from established designers side by side with the best emerging talent. Visit https://www.luisaviaroma.com.


Related Customer Stories

Enterprise Application Access

Skylark Group

Read More
Security

Riachuelo

Read More
Enterprise Application Access

Doshisha University

Read More