包容性、多元化和参与度

简介

作为创新者,我们一直走在创新前沿,我很高兴向大家介绍我们的“2020 年度包容性、多元化和参与度”报告,这是我们第一份此类型的报告。该报告标志着我们迈出了重要的一步,在未来几年,我们将打造一个更加透明和负责任的工作场所。

那么,为什么要现在推出此报告?当然,我们为许多人在 Akamai 所做出的卓越贡献感到自豪。我们在成为更具包容性和多元化的企业方面取得了重大进步,这无疑是令人欢欣鼓舞的。但至关重要的是,在每个员工都比以往任何时候更应该得到倾听、认可和支持的时代,我们相信透明公开是实现真正变革的关键。我们知道我们还有很长的路要走,也深信我们可以一起再创辉煌。

在 Akamai,我们认为包容性、多元化和参与度对我们的学习和高质量职业生涯极其重要。我加入 Akamai 的时间不长,在这段时间里,已经见证了大家的奉献精神、友爱和才华。价值观是我们一切行动的指导方针。显而易见的是,我们采取了各种真诚而又始终如一的措施,来支持包容性、多元化和参与度。我期待未来提供更多报告,我们也取得更多的成功。

Khalil Smith
副总裁
包容性、多元化和参与度

报告背景信息

除非另有说明,否则所有数据均为截止于 2020 年 12 月 31 日的数据。
只有美国地区采集了种族和民族相关信息。
员工人数:

  • 全球员工总数为 8,368 名,分属 88 个不同国籍

  • 美国地区员工总数为 3,478 名

  • 亚太及日本地区员工总数为 2,635 名 

  • 拉丁美洲地区员工总数为 479 名 

  • 欧洲、中东和非洲地区员工总数为 1,688 名

Akamai 的性别表征

2020 年度的数据表明,公司女性员工人数自 2019 年以来实现小幅增长,占全球员工总数的 26.2%。与 2019 年相比,增加了 1.6%。

2020 年,所有新员工中有 29.1% 是女性。虽然这一数字令人鼓舞,但与 2019 年相比下降了 2.4%。

在与职位相关的数据方面,所有领导职位和技术职位中,女性占 20% 左右。

同工同酬

作为《白宫同工同酬承诺书》(White House Equal Pay Pledge) 的签署方,Akamai 相信我们所有员工的薪酬均公平公正。我们仍然致力于定期监控我们的薪酬制度,并在必要时进行调整,以履行这一承诺。

我们的同工同酬分析是在美国认可的外部顾问协助下进行的,涵盖全球员工性别以及美国地区员工的种族和性别。

该分析再一次证明,我们对员工薪酬没有采取区别对待。为了解决影响男女员工的少数异常差异,我们对 2020 年受影响个人的薪酬进行了调整。我们计划在 2021 年再进行一次分析。

Akamai 的种族和民族多元化

我们在少数种族和少数族裔群体方面也取得了进展,美国地区新员工中有 54.6% 来自传统代表性不足的群体。

[图表说明] 只有美国地区采集了员工的种族和民族相关信息。

• 亚裔员工包括十余个不同的种族群体,占美国地区员工人数的 29.4%,与 2019 年相比增加了 0.2%;其中个人贡献者占 31.7%,经理占 25.0%,副总裁及以上人员占 12.0%

• 西班牙裔和拉丁裔员工占美国地区员工人数的 5.7%,与 2019 年相比增加了 0.4%;其中个人贡献者占 6.4%,经理占 4.0%,副总裁及以上人员占 3.7%

• 黑人或非裔美籍员工占美国地区员工人数的 3.4%,与 2019 年相比增加了 0.1%;其中个人贡献者占 3.7%,经理占 2.9%,副总裁及以上人员占 2.8%

我们致力于解决种族平等问题

Akamai 反对一切形式的种族主义和种族偏见,并致力于为我们的客户和员工提供包容、公平和相互尊重的环境。下面几个示例只是我们已经开展的部分工作,表明了我们对取得重大和持续进展的决心。

为响应在更大范围内实现种族平等的迫切需要,Akamai 董事会于 2020 年批准向 Akamai 基金会额外捐款 2,000 万美元。这些资金将用于支持旨在实现技术行业人才多元化的倡议。

Akamai 加入马萨诸塞州技术领导委员会(Massachusetts Technology Leadership Council,简称“MassTLC”),并签署了 “社会正义技术契约”(Tech Compact for Social Justice) 作为马萨诸塞州 62 家科技公司签署方中的一员,我们的参与加强了整个行业对通过积极变革实现种族平等的决心。在 12 项可衡量倡议中,公司签署了至少 3 项。

我们参与或赞助了众多卓越合作伙伴的职业发展和招聘论坛,例如马萨诸塞州妇女大会、美国黑人工程师协会、西班牙裔工程师协会和 Hack.Diversity。 

我们成立了 Akamai 技术学院,这是一项技术培训计划,主要面向以下人员:来自传统代表性不足的群体(性别、民族、年龄、退伍军人身份),且有兴趣从事技术职业,但可能未受过科学、技术、工程或数学方面的正规教育。该计划包括由 Akamai 提供的课堂培训。当参与者完成培训之后,将被安排在 Akamai 的各种合同工岗位,亦有可能成为我们的全职员工。 

我们培训招聘经理,起草具有包容性的职位描述,以扩大符合条件的申请人范围。通过取消潜在的资格标准限制,我们能够专注于对申请人加入 Akamai 并取得成功至关重要的技能和经验。

我们与其他技术行业领导者一起消除了产品组合中带有偏见、压迫性和种族倾向的术语。

我们意识到,这些优先事项中的任何一项本身都不足以显著改变传统代表性不足的群体的可用性和经验。然而,这些倡议、计划和合作,再加上专注于包容性、多元化和参与度的基本统一战略,是我们朝着前进方向迈出的有力一步。

多元化和包容性学习

Akamai 的使命是提供一种多元包容的工作环境和文化,使得所有员工都感受到自己可以充分运用个人能力,在工作中竭力做出最大贡献、发挥最佳表现。信奉多元化和包容性会让我们成为更好的公司、更有力的全球竞争者,并成为更优秀的企业公民。我们提供各种培训课程来支持员工并帮助他们打造跨文化能力,与 Akamai 的多元化和包容性目标保持一致。课程包括“接受不同”,这是一项基于课堂的互动研讨会,旨在了解差异如何影响工作场所的行为。

此外还包括“成长计划”,这是一项旨在帮助员工转变思维、创新和合作方式的创新计划。目的是培养更具多元化、协作力、创新性和高效性的团队文化,该计划包括四个单元:

  • 成长 — 成长型思维的神经科学:旨在帮助经理和个人贡献者变得更加灵活、积极和投入

  • 包容 — 智慧团队的神经科学:旨在打造更具创造力、凝聚力和协作力的团队

  • 决策 — 打破偏见的神经科学:旨在帮助企业中的每个人做出更明智、更有效和更自信的决策

  • 发言 — 直言不讳的神经科学:旨在减少直言不讳和接收反馈的感知威胁 

主动给予

在 Akamai,我们相信每个人都对稳健的社区和可持续的变革负责,包括公司。我们抓住机会,通过投资慈善组织、在社区提供志愿服务以及做出与影响环境相关的道德决策,尽可能发挥我们作为全球企业公民的积极影响。 

通过 Akamai 基金会和社区活动,我们坚持不懈地投资符合 ID&E 战略、塑造面向未来的员工队伍和创造重大变革的企业。2020 年,我们在 Akamai 回馈社会的核心价值观基础上,传递了公司和员工的友爱、慷慨和包容的社区精神。除了以下重点内容之外,您还可以在 Akamai 基金会的 2020 年度报告中阅读更多相关信息。

  • Akamai 基金会的全球 STEM 教育资助计划向慈善组织捐赠了约 100 万美元,为下一代技术创新者创造机会,支持缺少适当服务的社区的 STEM 教育,重点关注于促进从幼儿园到高中阶段的学生追求卓越的数学成绩
  • Akamai 基金会还投入了 110 万美元应对全球新冠疫情,包括针对 21 个不同社区(覆盖 Akamai 员工生活和工作的 16 个国家/地区)的紧急救济赠款

全球各地的地方性工作

员工和社区合作伙伴有机会在“Danny Lewin 社区关怀日”(以我们联合创始人的名字命名)期间建立联系,以激励全年志愿者项目,这些项目旨在指导缺少适当服务和代表性不足的学生。合作伙伴包括多个战略组织,例如 Girls Who Code、Suit Up 和 Rocket Girls。除了 Akamai 基金会的工作之外,我们还始终支持我们在世界各地合作的社区。

员工资源组

Akamai 员工资源组 (ERG) 是 Akamai 员工建立多元化和包容性工作场所的沟通论坛。ERG 为员工创造了一个交流环境,让他们能够沟通、发展、学习、教育、提供支持并为 Akamai 的文化做出贡献。在过去五年中,凭借强大的计划、活动和倡议,Akamai ERG 已成为我们全球多元化和包容性努力中越来越重要的一部分。他们在多元化意识、成员职业发展以及招聘和外展工作方面为 Akamai 提供领导支持,包括:

  • 通过与 Akamai 基金会合作,20 家全球非营利组织获得了总计 110,000 美元的社会影响赠款

  • 通过种族平等与社会正义配捐活动,Akamai 基金会向 ERG 选择的 12 家非营利组织开展公开配捐;受助人包括黑人心理健康联盟和平等正义倡议,捐赠金额翻倍,慈善捐款总额达 60,000 美元

2020 年,我们有 1,200 多名成员组成了 11 个 ERG,为丰富员工的 Akamai 体验做出了贡献。

 

积极应对新冠疫情

新冠疫情放大了我们的生活经历差异,我们知道,我们不仅需要支持我们的客户,还需要支持我们的员工及其家人。我们实施了兼具稳定性、适应性和灵活性的框架,以帮助在不断变化的时期提供适合的结构。我们在全球范围内提供了强大的健康和保健计划,并切实关注以确保员工的安全。我们创立并提供了全新的培训计划以增进健康和安全,并为管理远程员工队伍提供额外的指导和支持。 

为了支持员工队伍,我们引入了全新的协作工具和技术,并制定了工作效率补偿计划,帮助所有员工购买设备以更好地实现远程办公。我们扩充了我们的保健计划,提供有关疫情期间护理和疫苗信息等课程;为员工提供数字健康平台许可证;并为管理人员提供相关指导,实现灵活工作安排。2020 年,我们还提供了四天的带薪保健日,为员工提供额外的带薪休假时间,确切的说,是为了促进身心健康。除了为全职和兼职员工提供支持之外,我们还保证为我们聘请的承包商支付病假工资。 

我们拥有一套严格的流程,根据当地政府法规、当地健康趋势和业务需求来评估任何办公室是否可以重新开放(并保持开放)。随着情况一天天好转,我们正在慢慢安排员工回归办公室(经允许并且我们确信安全的办公室)。 

无论 Akamai 员工在何处工作,我们始终将员工的健康和安全放在首位,同时积极创造富有成效、丰富且愉悦的员工体验。

Inclusion, Diversity, and Engagement

Introduction

As innovators, we’re always seeking out firsts, and I’m excited to introduce our 2020 Inclusion, Diversity, and Engagement report — the first of its kind for us. It marks an important step in creating a more transparent and accountable workplace for the years to come.

So why now? Well, of course, we’re proud of the amazing work that so many have done at Akamai. And we want to celebrate the meaningful strides we’ve taken toward becoming a more inclusive and diverse organization. But crucially, in a time where each employee deserves to be heard, recognized, and supported more than ever, we believe transparency is key in bringing about real-world change. We know that we have further to go, and we believe that we can continue to do better, together.

At Akamai, we see inclusion, diversity, and engagement as essential to our learning and our quality of professional life. In my short time here, I’ve already witnessed the commitment, compassion, and brilliance of our people. Our values guide everything we do, and nowhere is that more evident than in the sincere and consistent measures we take to support inclusion, diversity, and engagement. I look forward to many more reports, with many more successes.

Khalil Smith
Vice President
Inclusion, Diversity, and Engagement

Context for the report

All data as of December 31, 2020, unless otherwise indicated.
Only our U.S. regions capture race and ethnicity.
Number of employees:

  • Global workforce totals 8,368, representing 88 different nationalities

  • U.S. workforce totals 3,478 employees

  • APJ workforce totals 2,635 employees 

  • LATAM workforce totals 479 employees 

  • EMEA workforce totals 1,688 employees

Gender Representation at Akamai

Our 2020 data shows modest gains since 2019, with women representing 26.2% of our global workforce. This represents a 1.6% increase over 2019.

In 2020, 29.1% of all new hires were women. While this is encouraging to see, it is a noted 2.4% decrease from 2019.

When it comes to role-specific data, women hold about 20% of all leadership positions and technical roles.

Pay Equity

As a signatory to the White House Equal Pay Pledge, Akamai believes in fair and equitable pay for all of our employees. We remain committed to monitoring our pay practices regularly and making adjustments, as necessary, to deliver on this pledge.

Our pay equity analyses are conducted with the assistance of a nationally recognized outside consultant and cover gender globally and race and gender in the United States.

Once again, the analysis found no patterns of disparity. To address a small number of anomalous discrepancies, which impacted both male and female employees, we made adjustments to the compensation of the affected individuals in 2020. We are scheduled to conduct another analysis in 2021.

Racial and Ethnic Diversity within Akamai

Racial and ethnic minority communities have also seen progress, with 54.6% of U.S. new hires from traditionally underrepresented communities.

[Note for graph] Only U.S. regions capture race and ethnicity in their workforce.

• Asian employees, which include more than a dozen different ethnic groups, represent 29.4% of our U.S. workforce, an increase of 0.2% compared to 2019; they are 31.7% of individual contributors, 25.0% of managers, and 12.0% VP+

• Hispanic and Latino employees represent 5.7% of our U.S. workforce, up 0.4% since 2019; they are 6.4% of individual contributors, 4.0% of managers, and 3.7% VP+

• Black or African American employees represent 3.4% of our U.S. workforce, up 0.1% since 2019; they represent 3.7% of individual contributors, 2.9% of managers, and 2.8% of VP+

Our commitments to addressing racial equality

Akamai opposes racism and racial bias in all its forms and is committed to providing an inclusive, fair, and respectful environment for both our customers and our employees. Below are just a few examples of the work we’ve undertaken to demonstrate our commitment to significant and sustained progress.

In response to the urgent need to achieve greater racial justice, in 2020 Akamai’s Board of Directors approved an additional US$20 million contribution to the Akamai Foundation. These funds will be used to support initiatives designed and focused on diversifying talent in the technology industry.

Akamai joined and underwrote The Massachusetts Technology Leadership Council ("MassTLC") Tech Compact for Social Justice. As one of the 62 Massachusetts technology company signatories, our participation reinforces a commitment to make change toward racial equality. Companies sign on to honor at least 3 of 12 measurable initiatives.

We participate in or sponsor professional development and recruiting forums across a variety of incredible partners, such as the Massachusetts Conference for Women, National Society of Black Engineers, Society of Hispanic Engineers, and Hack.Diversity. 

We offer the Akamai Technical Academy, a technical training program primarily for individuals from traditionally underrepresented backgrounds (gender, ethnicity, age, veteran status) who are interested in pursuing a technical career path, but may not be formally educated in science, technology, engineering, or mathematics. The program consists of Akamai-specific classroom training, after which participants are placed in a variety of contract roles across our organization with the potential to become full-time employees. 

We train hiring managers to draft inclusive job descriptions intended to broaden the pool of eligible applicants. By removing potentially limiting eligibility criteria, we are able to focus on the critical skills and experiences key to joining and being successful at Akamai.

We have joined other technology industry leaders in removing biased, oppressive, and racially insensitive terminology across our portfolio.

We recognize that any one of these priorities by itself is not enough to significantly change the availability of, and experience for, traditionally underrepresented groups. However, together, and with a focus on our underlying and unifying strategy of inclusion, diversity, and engagement, these initiatives, programs, and partnerships are a strong step in the direction of progress.

Diversity and Inclusion Learning

Akamai’s mission is to provide a work environment and culture where all employees feel that they can contribute and perform to the best of their abilities. Commitment to diversity and inclusion makes us a better company, a better global competitor, and a better corporate citizen. We offer various training curriculums to support our employees and help them build cross-cultural competence and align to Akamai’s Diversity and Inclusion Goals. This includes Appreciating Differences — an interactive, classroom-based workshop to understand how differences can impact behaviors in the workplace.

This also includes the Grow Program, an innovative program designed to help employees transform the way they think, innovate, and work together. Aimed at fostering an even more diverse, collaborative, innovative, and high-performing team culture, the program consists of four modules:

  • GROW — The Neuroscience of Growth Mindset: designed to help managers and individual contributors be more flexible, positive, and engaged

  • INCLUDE — The Neuroscience of Smarter Teams: designed to promote more creative, connected, and collaborative teams

  • DECIDE — The Neuroscience of Breaking Bias: designed to help everyone in the organization to make more informed, effective, and confident decisions

  • VOICE — The Neuroscience of Speaking Up: designed to decrease the perceived threat of speaking up and receiving feedback 

Giving Intentionally

At Akamai, we believe everyone is responsible for strong communities and sustainable change — including corporations. We embrace the opportunity to maximize our positive impact as a global corporate citizen by investing in charitable organizations, volunteering in our communities, and making ethical decisions related to our impact on the environment. 

Through the Akamai Foundation and community events, we continue to invest in organizations that align with our ID&E strategy, shape our future workforce, and create meaningful change. In 2020, we channeled the compassion, generosity, and inclusive community spirit of our company and employees, building on Akamai’s core value of Giving Back. In addition to the highlights below, you can read more about the Akamai Foundation in its 2020 Annual Report.

  • The Akamai Foundation’s Global STEM Education Grant Program gifted approximately US$1 million to charitable organizations to create opportunities for the next generation of technology innovators, supporting STEM education in underserved communities, with a focus on the pursuit of excellence in mathematics in grades K-12
  • The Akamai Foundation also committed US$1.1 million to global COVID-19 response efforts, including emergency relief grants in 21 diverse communities, spanning 16 countries where Akamai employees live and work

Local Efforts Across the Globe

Employees and community partners have the opportunity to connect during Danny Lewin Community Care Days (named in honor of our co-founder), to inspire year-round volunteer projects mentoring underserved and underrepresented students. Partners include strategic organizations such as Girls Who Code, Suit Up, and Rocket Girls. In addition to the work of the Akamai Foundation, we are constantly looking to support the communities we work in around the world.

Employee Resource Groups

Akamai’s employee resource groups (ERGs) are forums of connection for Akamai employees to foster a diverse and inclusive workplace. ERGs create an environment for employees to connect, develop, learn, educate, provide support, and contribute to Akamai’s culture. With robust programs, events, and initiatives, Akamai ERGs have become an increasingly important part of our global diversity and inclusion efforts over the past five years. They provide leadership support to Akamai in the areas of diversity awareness, professional development of members, and recruitment and outreach efforts, including:

  • In collaboration with the Akamai Foundation, 20 global nonprofits were awarded a total of US$110,000 in social impact grants

  • Through the Racial Equality and Social Justice matching gift campaign, the Akamai Foundation offered public matching to 12 nonprofits selected by our ERGs; recipients included Black Mental Health Alliance and Equal Justice Initiative, and gifts were doubled for a total of US$60,000 in charitable donations

In 2020, we had over 1,200 members representing our 11 ERGs, contributing to the enrichment of the Akamai experience for employees.

 

Our COVID-19 response

The COVID-19 pandemic amplified differences in our lived experiences, and we knew we needed to support not just our customers, but our employees and their families. We implemented a framework of Stabilize, Adapt, and Emerge to help provide structure in a time of constant change. We provided robust access to health and wellness programs globally, with a clear focus on keeping our employees safe. We built and delivered new training programs to promote health and safety and provided additional guidance and support for managing remote workforces. 

To support our workforce, we introduced new collaboration tools and techniques and instituted a productivity reimbursement program to assist all employees with purchasing equipment to better enable remote work. We expanded our wellness programs to offer courses on, among other things, caregiving during the pandemic and vaccine information; provided employees with licenses to a digital health platform; and developed manager guidance on enabling flexible work arrangements. We also provided four paid wellness days in 2020 to allow additional paid time off for employees, specifically to encourage mental and physical health. In addition to support for full- and part-time employees, we guaranteed sick pay for contractors we retain. 

We have a rigorous process for assessing whether any office can reopen (and remain open) based on local government regulations, local health trends, and business needs. With progress being made every day, we are slowly allowing employees back into offices, where it is allowed and we believe it to be safe. 

Our employee health and safety is always top of mind, as is creating a productive, enriching, and engaging employee experience, no matter where an Akamai employee works.