Rick McConnell

Rick McConnell

President und General Manager, Security Technology Group

Rick McConnell ist President von Akamai und General Manager der Security Technology Group. Als General Manager leitet er in der Security Technology Group die Kernbereiche Technik, Produktentwicklung und Produktmanagement. Als President von Akamai ist McConnell verantwortlich für viele zusätzliche Bereiche, darunter die Entwicklung und der Produktlebenszyklusprozess des Unternehmens.

Mit über 25 Jahren Erfahrung in der Produkt- und Geschäftsentwicklung hat sich McConnell in seiner beruflichen Laufbahn auf die Bereiche Kommunikations- und Kollaborationstechnologien im Internet spezialisiert. Seit seinen Anfängen bei Akamai im Jahr 2011 hat McConnell maßgeblich zur Verwaltung und zum Ausbau der Entwicklung, Innovation und Produktivität der Produktabteilungen von Akamai beigetragen. Unter seiner Führung konnte Akamai marktführende Lösungen in den Bereichen Website- und Anwendungsbeschleunigung, Unternehmens-Clouds, Sicherheit, mobile Performance und Medien herausbringen. McConnell arbeitet in der Akamai-Niederlassung in Santa Clara, Kalifornien.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei Akamai war er in einer Reihe von leitenden Führungspositionen bei Cisco Systems beschäftigt. McConnell war Vice President und General Manager des Geschäftsbereichs Unified Communications in der Voice Technology Group von Cisco. Während seiner Tätigkeit bei Cisco war er außerdem für die Strategie und das operative Geschäft des mit 5 Mrd. USD dotierten Bereichs Kommunikation und Kollaboration verantwortlich. Darüber hinaus war er Vice President der Collaboration Software Sales und verantwortlich für den weltweiten WebEx-Vertrieb. McConnell kam 2004 zu Cisco, als das Unternehmen Latitude Communications übernahm, einen Anbieter vollständig integrierter Sprach- und Webkonferenzlösungen. Bei Latitude hatte er seit 2002 als President und Chief Executive Officer gearbeitet. Zuvor war er President und Chief Operating Officer des Unternehmens gewesen.

McConnell besitzt einen Bachelor of Arts in quantitativer Ökonomie und einen Master of Business Administration, die er beide an der Stanford University absolvierte.

Rick McConnell

Rick McConnell

President and General Manager, Security Technology Group

Rick McConnell is President of Akamai and General Manager of the Security Technology Group. As General Manager, he is responsible for leading the Security Technology Group’s core functions of engineering, product development, and product management. As President of Akamai, McConnell oversees several additional functions including corporate development and the company’s product lifecycle process.

With over 25 years of product and business development expertise, McConnell has focused his career on the areas of Internet communications and collaboration technologies. Since joining Akamai in 2011, he has been instrumental in managing and scaling the development, innovation, and productivity of Akamai's product divisions. Under his leadership, Akamai has released market-leading solutions in the areas of Web site and application acceleration, enterprise cloud, security, mobile performance, and media. He is based in Akamai's Santa Clara, California office.

Prior to Akamai, McConnell served in a number of senior executive positions at Cisco Systems. He was Vice President and General Manager of the Unified Communications Business Unit in Cisco's Voice Technology Group. His time at Cisco also included having led strategy and operations for the company's $5 billion Communications and Collaboration business, and he served as Vice President, Collaboration Software Sales, responsible for global WebEx sales. He joined Cisco in 2004 when Cisco acquired Latitude Communications, a provider of fully integrated voice and Web conferencing solutions. He served as Latitude's President and Chief Executive Officer beginning in 2002, and prior to that was the company's President and Chief Operating Officer.

McConnell holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Quantitative Economics and a Master of Business Administration degree, both from Stanford University.