新冠疫情:Akamai 的准备工作

截至 2021 年 5 月

Akamai 的措施

世界部分地区的新冠病毒感染病例激增引起了各界的广泛关注,值此之际,Akamai 希望向我们的客户、合作伙伴和供应商保证,我们已经采取了数项措施,以尽可能降低业务中断风险。我们的客户尽可放心,Akamai 将延续二十年来的传统,提供值得信赖的高质量可靠服务。

Akamai 已在全球范围内积极监控 COVID-19 疫情影响数周时间,并与我们的员工紧密沟通。由企业高级领导组成的防疫团队每两周会召开一次会议,评估新信息,制定决策,并根据获取的新信息管理我们的业务连续性规划。一个跨职能工作组为该团队提供信息,该工作组在持续监控和评估最新的健康和经济动态、政府法令和限制以及疫情对员工和业务造成的影响。

我们在每个决策中采用了一个指导原则,即决策需要有利于客户、员工、合作伙伴和供应商以及我们业务所在的社区。

服务和支持连续性

虽然在某些地点,客户可能更愿意选择现场支持,但 Akamai 完全有能力远程操作 Akamai Intelligent Edge Platform,包括为客户提供远程服务,以及远程技术支持与业务支持。设在美国和印度的 Akamai 广播运营控制中心 (BOCC) 以及设在美国、哥斯达黎加、日本和波兰的安全运营控制中心 (SOCC) 将全方位支持远程操作。此外,由于我们的 SOCC 和 BOC 团队在全球各地轮班运作,因此一旦遭遇到负面影响,我们可以通过多个地区分散负面影响,而不必局限于本地。设在美国、印度和波兰的 Akamai 网络运营指挥中心 (NOCC) 只需要最低限度的现场工作。除了这些多地点运营模式带来的全球冗余能力外,我们还制定了应急计划,以实现服务和支持的连续性。

目前,我们为客户提供支持的能力并未受到过影响。为了防止客户支持服务受到影响,我们制定了相应的缓解计划,包括优先处理高优先级案例、优先处理高级支持需求、安排员工加班,以及对原本负责较低严重性支持职能工作的人员进行重新部署。

Akamai Intelligent Edge Platform

Akamai Intelligent Edge Platform 是 Akamai 众多服务产品的核心,这是一个全球分布式覆盖网络,在 135 个国家/地区的 4,000 个地点和 1,435 个网络中部署了 370,000 多台服务器。由于这种独特的设计,Akamai Intelligent Edge Platform 自然能够在任何一个或多个地点抵御故障。

持续监控

相关状况在不断变化,但我们正在努力实时监控事态发展并与所有利益相关者沟通。我们相信,我们正在实施的方案和政策将使我们能够继续有效地管理,并专注于确保履行对客户的承诺以及保障员工和社区的安全。

COVID-19: Akamai's Preparedness

As of May 2021

Akamai's Actions

With continued concerns associated with COVID-19 surges in parts of the world, Akamai wants to assure our customers, suppliers and partners that we have taken several steps to minimize the risk of disruption to our business. Our customers can expect Akamai to provide the same high-quality, reliable services they have come to trust for over twenty years.

Akamai has been actively monitoring the COVID-19 situation around the globe for several weeks, communicating frequently with our employees. A Pandemic Preparedness team of senior leaders across the business meets bi-weekly to assess new information, make decisions, and manage our business continuity planning in response to new information as it becomes available. This team is informed by a cross-functional working group that is continuously monitoring and assessing the latest health and economic updates, government mandates and restrictions, and employee and business impacts.

Our guiding principle in every decision we make is what is best for our customers, employees, contractors and suppliers, and the communities in which we operate.

Service and Support Continuity

While there are certain places where onsite support is preferable, Akamai is fully capable of remotely operating the Akamai Intelligent Edge platform, including providing customer service as well as technical and business support remotely. Akamai Broadcast Operations Control Centers (BOCC) located in the U.S. and India and Security Operations Control Centers (SOCC) located in the U.S., Costa Rica, Japan and Poland are capable of fully operating remotely. In addition, because our SOCC and BOCC teams operate globally across shifts, we are set up for impact to be spread across regions rather than being localized. The Akamai Network Operations Command Centers (NOCC) in the U.S.,India and Poland require minimal onsite efforts. In addition to the global redundancy of these multi-site operations there are contingency plans in place to enable service and support continuity.

Currently, we are not seeing an impact to our ability to support customers. We have mitigation plans in place should we have a situation in which customer support is impacted, including prioritizing high priority cases over lower ones, prioritizing premium support requirements, asking people to work additional hours, and redeploying people from lower-severity support functions.

The Akamai Intelligent Edge Platform

The core of Akamai’s many service offerings is rooted in Akamai’s Intelligent Edge Platform, a globally distributed overlay network with over 370,000 servers deployed in 4,000 locations across 135 countries and 1,435 networks. Due to this truly unique design, the Akamai Intelligent Edge Platform is naturally resilient to failure in any single, or multiple locations.

Continuous Monitoring

This is a dynamic situation, but one we are diligently monitoring in real-time and communicating about to all of our stakeholders. We believe the structures and policies we are putting in place will enable us to continue to manage effectively and stay focused on ensuring we deliver on our commitments to our customers and the safety of our employees and communities.