通往博彩游戏世界之门

Microgame 携手 Akamai 和 Criticalcase,帮助博彩游戏运营商向玩家提供快速、优质的在线博彩体验,即便在流量激增期间依然保证体验不降级,从而提升收入。

玩家渴望出色的游戏体验,畅享博彩乐趣

网上博彩和体育博彩在意大利日渐兴起,自新冠疫情爆发后更是人气飙升。人们几乎有数之不尽的选择来获得娱乐服务并检验自己的手气 - 从扑克、宾果游戏和老虎机,到赛马和足球比赛博彩,应有尽有。Microgame S.p.A. 为许多意大利优质博彩游戏网站提供技术平台,为游戏运营商提供运行、管理和推广其游戏所需的一切。

对 Microgame 及其客户来说,游戏体验是最为重要的。玩家寻求的是娱乐和激情 - 他们希望获得快速、无缝和安全的游戏体验。如果加载速度缓慢,他们就会转身离开。对于身处竞争高度激烈的市场中的 Microgame 来说,这是不能承受的结果。

Microgame 的首席技术官 Francesco Lauro 说:“在一个安全可靠的网站上为我们的客户提供良好的体验非常重要。这意味着我们需要提供玩家在其他地方找不到的游戏功能,并确保以出色的速度和可用性提供这些功能。”

网站性能遭遇流量增加和平台创新的双重压力

Lauro 和他的团队正在不断努力加强 Microgame 平台,提高其定制能力,比如增加赛前和赛中投注、个人扑克对手预约,以及设置体育赛事投注事件和赔率等功能。这些功能让博彩游戏运营商能够为玩家提供更刺激、更个性化的投注体验。而 Lauro 对创新的承诺也收获了回报 - Microgame 每年为 65 万个用户帐户和 1.6 亿次交易提供支持,而且其流量还在不断增长。

然而,不断发展的平台和不断增长的用户群对基础架构的要求与日俱增,缓慢的页面加载速度开始影响玩家体验。而娱乐场网站和体育博彩网站往往都有着大量的图像类内容素材,比如娱乐场网站的一个网页上就可能有多达 800 台虚拟老虎机,而体育博彩网站需要不断更新比赛资讯,因此这种性能降级会尤其显著。

Microgame 的系统网络管理员 Pablo Alejandro Rostani 表示:“为了处理不断增长的流量,我们已经超额扩展了我们的基础架构,但我们不具备应对意外流量高峰的动态扩展能力。此外,我们需要更快地显示静态内容,为了吸引新玩家,再将他们变为反复访问我们网站的忠实玩家,这一点至关重要。”

赢则双倍,输则全无 - 疫情期间翻倍的流量给网站性能造成了极高的风险

Lauro 和 Rostani 第一时间决定与 Akamai 合作,通过加速 DNS 解析以及在边缘缓存静态内容来提高性能,并且与云服务提供商 Criticalcase 合作来充分利用其技术投资。

Lauro 说:“Akamai 在全球颇具影响力,也有着市场上优秀的技术。”“这是一个向游戏运营商证明我们‘致力提供卓越玩家体验’这一理念的机会,而 Akamai 和 Criticalcase 共同为我们创造了成功的条件。”

意大利疫情的爆发进一步增加了实施工作的紧迫性。面临全国性的封锁,居家防疫的人们纷纷在寻找居家娱乐的方法 - Microgame 观察到,其客户的游戏网站流量增加了一倍。如果这些流量传输到源站基础架构,造成其不堪重负,其网站就会崩溃。但在 Criticalcase 技术专家的协助下,得到了全然不同的结果。

“Criticalcase 帮助我们快速行动,将 50 个客户网站集成到Edge DNSDynamic Site Accelerator中,并配置 Akamai Control Center 以确保充分利用所有可用功能。”Rostani 说道。这样的速度意义非凡。几周内,使用 Microgame 整个在线游戏平台的各游戏运营商就看到了成果。

Rostani 表示:“Akamai 是吸收翻倍的高峰期流量而不造成任何问题的关键。我们将基础架构上 60% 的命中流量分载出去,并将页面加载时间缩短 50% - 这意味着我们可以轻松地持续提供拥有丰富动态内容的游戏网站。”

尽管不同网站的性能提升幅度各不相同,但平均而言,具有丰富静态内容的页面加载速度加快了 55%。这其中包括娱乐场网站,由于可以快速加载数百张图像,它们能为玩家提供更流畅的体验。而且,通过分载静态内容,体育博彩网站可以获得更多带宽来传输动态内容,比如博彩公司的博彩赔率。凭借更高速的玩家体验和更高的可用性,Microgame 可以帮助其客户吸引更多玩家,并让这些玩家变成长期忠实玩家。

Lauro 表示:“我们的 B2C 客户反馈其网站速度得到大幅改善,这给玩家获取和保留带来了直接的积极影响。我们的搜索引擎排名也上升了,这提高了我们的知名度,也吸引了更多的新客户。”“此外,还有许多原本没有合作的游戏运营商得知我们使用 Akamai 产品之后,开始接洽我们,这给 Microgame 带来了新的收入机会。”

对 Microgame 来说,成功是周全准备后的成果 - 而非运气

转向边缘改变了 Lauro 和他的团队对于创新的观点。他们可以构建新功能来打造真正与众不同的玩家体验,而且不必担心基础架构能否跟上需求的增长。事实上,其开发人员已经开始设计应用程序,以最大限度地利用 Akamai 产品,因为他们知道,有了如此有力的后盾,他们可以在不扩大基础架构的情况下实现出色性能。

Lauro 和 Rostani 认为,这只是与 Akamai 合作的起点。他们目前正在通过Web Application ProtectorSite Shield加强安全防御。Rostani 说:“意大利的博彩法规有严格的安全要求,所以 Microgame 原本的基础架构就有比较完善的保护机制。而 Akamai 在外围又为我们增加了一道安全防线,让许多攻击甚至无法到达我们的防火墙”。

卓越的合作伙伴为这样的安全性锦上添花。“Criticalcase 团队能够随时满足我们的需求,这非常重要,因为游戏市场的大部分活动都发生在周末,”Lauro 说道。“每当我们通过 Akamai 门户检测到安全威胁时,我们都可以共同决定如何以最佳方式阻止恶意流量”。

在 Microgame 扩大 Akamai 产品使用范围的过程中,Criticalcase 也积极地为其提供帮助。Criticalcase 的销售副总裁 Alessandro Zoncu 说:“作为供应商和合作伙伴,我们很高兴能有机会与 Microgame 合作。我们的目标就是帮助他们尽可能提高性能和安全性,并支持这个意大利领先的在线游戏平台持续取得增长。我们将投入各种资源,竭尽全力满足 Microgame 的需求,甚至超越他们的需求,保证他们安心无忧。”

在 Akamai 和 Criticalcase 的帮助下,Microgame 的端到端在线游戏平台高歌猛进,并且始终如一地专注于其宗旨 - 为游戏运营商提供竞争优势,为玩家提供良好体验。无论人们想参加扑克锦标赛,还是想参加梦幻体育联赛博彩活动,或者只是想买张彩票试试手气,都能在 Microgame 找到适合自己的游戏。

关于 Microgame

Microgame S.p.A. 是意大利领先的游戏服务提供商。由于 Microgame 具有多渠道服务的灵活性,在线上和线下都提供完整且具竞争力的服务,因而如今已经成为在整个大区内有着出色覆盖率的 B2B 实体,是诸多运营商进入这一受监管全国性市场的快速切入点。其产品和服务均根据所有相关方(监管机构、游戏运营商、分销网络、关联公司和玩家)的需求而设计。Microgame 的成功基石是与客户之间的强大合作关系,对于客户来说,Microgame 不仅仅是一家非凡的服务提供商,更是一个真正的战略合作伙伴。自 1999 年以来,Microgame 的业务模式始终是专注于开发解决方案,特别是开发迎合意大利博彩市场需求的产品。

关于 Criticalcase

Criticalcase 是一家从 1999 年开始经营的高可用性服务提供商,专门为客户提供量身定做的全托管式解决方案。Criticalcase 依托于丰富的经验,掌握了对 IT 市场的全面认知,从而提供能保证 100% 正常运行时间和优越性能的高可用性服务。Criticalcase 提供高度可定制和灵活的托管、云计算、灾难恢复和业务连续性解决方案、管理和咨询服务。Criticalcase 的使命是为每一个客户设计和实施量身定制的 IT 解决方案,以满足其需求并提高其业务生产力。我们秉承咨询服务的愿景,能够确定最适合客户需求并支持公司发展的解决方案。Criticalcase 始终关注客户满意度,凭借一流的基础架构和高素质的员工提供先进的技术解决方案。


About Akamai

Akamai secures and delivers digital experiences for the world’s largest companies. Akamai’s intelligent edge platform surrounds everything, from the enterprise to the cloud, so customers and their businesses can be fast, smart, and secure. Top brands globally rely on Akamai to help them realize competitive advantage through agile solutions that extend the power of their multi-cloud architectures. Akamai keeps decisions, apps and experiences closer to users than anyone — and attacks and threats far away. Akamai’s portfolio of edge security, web and mobile performance, enterprise access and video delivery solutions is supported by unmatched customer service, analytics and 24/7/365 monitoring. To learn why the world’s top brands trust Akamai, visit www.akamai.comblogs.akamai.com, or @Akamai on Twitter. You can find our global contact information at www.akamai.com/locations.

相关客户案例

Security

Intuit

Read More
Security

Suntory Business Systems

Read More
Security

Riachuelo

Read More

The gateway to the game world

Partnering with Akamai and Criticalcase, Microgame drives revenue by helping game operators deliver fast, flawless online gambling experiences to players, even as traffic volumes rise.

Players are eager to roll the dice on a great gaming experience

Online gambling and sports betting are on the rise in Italy, especially since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. People have virtually endless options to stay entertained and test their luck — with everything from poker, bingo, and slot machines to betting on horse races and football matches. Microgame S.p.A. provides the technology platform behind many of Italy’s top gaming sites, giving game operators everything they need to run, manage, and promote their games.

Most important to Microgame and its customers is the gaming experience. Players are looking for entertainment and excitement — and they expect the games to be fast, seamless, and safe. Slow load times can drive them away. And in a highly competitive market, that’s something Microgame wants to avoid.

“It is very important to give our customers a great experience, on a secure and reliable site,” says Francesco Lauro, CTO at Microgame. “That means we need to provide gaming features players can’t find anywhere else, and make sure we can deliver them with speed and availability.”

Site performance sags under the weight of increasing traffic and platform innovation

Lauro and his team are constantly working to enhance the Microgame platform, making it more customizable with features such as pre-match and in-play betting, personal poker appointments, and the ability to set sports betting events and odds. Those capabilities enable operators to provide a more exciting, personalized betting experience for players. And Lauro’s commitment to innovation has paid off — Microgame supports 650,000 user accounts and 160 million transactions every year, and its traffic has continued to grow.

However, the evolving platform and growing user base were putting increasing demands on the infrastructure, and slow page loads were starting to affect the player experience. That was especially true for image-heavy casino sites, which may have as many as 800 virtual slot machines on a single page, and sports betting sites, which are constantly being updated.

“We had oversized our infrastructure to handle increasing traffic, but we couldn’t scale dynamically to handle unexpected spikes,” says Pablo Alejandro Rostani, System Network Administrator at Microgame. “Plus, we needed to display static content faster — that’s crucial for acquiring new players and gaining their loyalty so they keep coming back.”

Double or nothing — 2x pandemic traffic raises the stakes for site performance

At first, Lauro and Rostani decided to work with Akamai to boost performance by accelerating DNS resolution and caching static content at the edge — and engaged cloud service provider Criticalcase to make the most of its technology investment.

“Akamai has a strong global presence and a reputation for being the best technology on the market,” says Lauro. “This was an opportunity to show game operators that we are committed to delivering the best player experience possible, and together Akamai and Criticalcase delivered what we needed to succeed.”

When the pandemic hit Italy, the implementation suddenly took on new urgency. With the country under lockdown, people were at home and looking for ways to stay entertained — and Microgame saw traffic to its customers’ gaming sites double. If that traffic had hit the origin infrastructure, it might have caused sites to crash. But with help from technical experts at Criticalcase, the result was a different story.

“Criticalcase helped us move fast, integrating 50 customer sites into Edge DNS and Dynamic Site Accelerator and configuring the Akamai Control Center to make sure we were taking full advantage of the features available to us,” says Rostani. That speed was critical. Within weeks, game operators using Microgame’s full online gaming platform were seeing the results.

“Akamai was the key to absorbing the 2x spike in traffic without a problem,” says Rostani. “We were able to offload 60% of the hits on our infrastructure and reduce page load times by 50% — which meant we could easily keep serving up rich, dynamic gaming sites.”

Though performance gains varied across sites, pages with lots of rich, static content benefited from 55% faster load times on average. That included casino sites, which can load hundreds of images rapidly and deliver a smoother experience to players. And, by offloading static content, sports betting sites have more bandwidth to stream in dynamic content such as betting odds from bookies. With a faster player experience and greater availability, Microgame can help its customers attract more players and keep them coming back.

“Our B2C customers have reported an impressive improvement in site speed, which makes an immediate impact on player acquisition and retention. Our search engine rankings also went up, which means greater visibility and more new customers streaming in,” says Lauro. “In addition, Microgame is seeing new revenue opportunities from game operators that are approaching us because they know we use Akamai.”

For Microgame, success is about preparation — not luck

Moving to the edge has changed the way Lauro and his team think about innovation. They can build new features for truly differentiated player experiences without worrying about whether the infrastructure can keep up. In fact, developers have already started designing applications to maximize the use of Akamai, knowing they can count on optimal performance without expanding the infrastructure.

Lauro and Rostani see this as just the beginning of its partnership with Akamai. They are currently working to strengthen security with Web Application Protector and Site Shield. “Italian gaming regulations have strict security requirements, so Microgame already had a well-protected infrastructure,” says Rostani. “Akamai adds another layer of security outside the perimeter, keeping many attacks from even reaching our firewall.”

That security is bolstered by a great partnership. “The Criticalcase team is available anytime we need them, which is important because most of the activity in the gaming market happens on the weekend,” says Lauro. “Whenever we detect a security threat through the Akamai portal, we work together to determine how best to block any malicious traffic.”

And Criticalcase is eager to help as Microgame expands its use of Akamai. “It’s our pleasure as a provider and a partner to work with Microgame,” says Alessandro Zoncu, VP of Sales at Criticalcase. “Our goal is to help maximize their performance and security, and support their continuing growth as the leading online gaming platform in Italy. Microgame can rest assured we will dedicate all the resources they need, and then some.”

With Akamai and Criticalcase, Microgame is forging ahead with its end-to-end online gaming platform and staying focused on its goal — a competitive advantage for game operators and a great experience for players. Whether people want to compete in a poker tournament, join a fantasy sports league, or simply play the lottery, Microgame is the platform that makes it possible.

About Microgame

Microgame S.p.A. is the leading gaming service provider in Italy. Thanks to the flexibility of our multi-channel offering — complete and competitive for both the online and land-based sector — today Microgame is the B2B entity with the highest and greatest reach throughout the territory and represents a rapid access point to the regulated national market. Products and services are designed according to the needs of all actors: the regulatory authority, gaming operators, distribution networks, affiliates, and players. Our success is based on strong partnerships with our clients for whom Microgame is not just an extraordinary service provider but a real strategic partner. Since 1999, our business model has been focused on the continuous development of solutions, particularly for the Italian gaming market.

About Criticalcase

Criticalcase has been in operation since 1999 as a high availability (H.A.) service provider specialized in tailormade fully managed solutions. Our long-time experience turns into a complete knowledge of the IT market, which allows us to offer H.A. services in order to guarantee 100% uptime and the best performance. We provide highly customizable and flexible hosting, cloud computing, disaster recovery and business continuity solutions, management, and consulting services. Our mission is to design and realize tailor-made IT solutions for each client, in order to meet their requirements and improve business productivity. Our consulting vision allows us to identify the solution that best fits the clients’ needs and supports the growth of the company. We always focus on customer satisfaction, providing advanced technological solutions thanks to a best-in-class infrastructure and highly qualified staff.


About Akamai

Akamai secures and delivers digital experiences for the world’s largest companies. Akamai’s intelligent edge platform surrounds everything, from the enterprise to the cloud, so customers and their businesses can be fast, smart, and secure. Top brands globally rely on Akamai to help them realize competitive advantage through agile solutions that extend the power of their multi-cloud architectures. Akamai keeps decisions, apps and experiences closer to users than anyone — and attacks and threats far away. Akamai’s portfolio of edge security, web and mobile performance, enterprise access and video delivery solutions is supported by unmatched customer service, analytics and 24/7/365 monitoring. To learn why the world’s top brands trust Akamai, visit www.akamai.comblogs.akamai.com, or @Akamai on Twitter. You can find our global contact information at www.akamai.com/locations.

Related Customer Stories

Security

The Washington Post

Read More
Bot Manager

Yatra offers a top search experience using Akamai

Read More
Kona Site Defender

CashFlows

Read More