Network for Learning 需要保障学生在线安全

N4L 依靠 Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector,满足为在家学习的学生安装在线安全过滤服务的紧迫需求

很难找到愿意为用户更改部署策略并提供可行商业策略的供应商。Akamai 的解决方案恰好满足了我们的需求,它使我们能够为父母提供重要的保护层,让他们的孩子能够更安全地上网。

Gavin Costello,Network for Learning 首席信息官

Network for Learning (N4L) 是一家政府所有的公司,成立于 2012 年,旨在帮助弥补数字化领域存在的不足,并确保每个新西兰年轻人无论生活在哪里或在哪里上学,都可以走进数字世界开展学习。它的使命是将新西兰的所有学校和库拉公立学校(教学的基础是毛利人的文化和价值观)连接到快速、可靠和安全的互联网服务。N4L 通过托管网络实现了这一目标,该网络为新西兰的所有学校和库拉公立学校的 850,000 多名学生和教师提供服务。

当孩子们在学校读书时,N4L 每天会屏蔽超过 2500 万个网站。在 2019 年报告期内(2018 年 7 月 1 日至 2019 年 6 月 30 日),该公司阻止了超过 5.82 亿个安全威胁,避免对学校互联网用户造成影响。N4L 被评为新西兰 2018 年度宽带提供商,并与教育、政府和技术合作伙伴合作,帮助学校从数字化连接中充分受益,同时确保学生安全上网。

为了不断改进保障孩子安全学习的方法,N4L 于 2018 年部署了 Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector,以便为新西兰的学校提供增强保护。作为一家以技术为主导的公司,N4L 的目标是为所有学校提供强大且安全的基础架构,它具有得天独厚的优势来应对许多无法预知的情形。当新冠疫情爆发时,学生转为在家学习,与此同时,该公司利用 Enterprise Threat Protector 为学生提供进一步的保护。

扩展在线安全保护范围,覆盖在家学习的学生

N4L 的托管网络围绕行业领先的安全工具设计,使校长、老师和父母有信心使用数字技术开展孩子的学业。尽管该托管网络已经为新西兰的学校和库拉公立学校提供了近十年的服务,但 N4L 需要扩大自身的业务覆盖范围,以满足学生居家学习的需求。关键在于提供一种有效的安全解决方案,而且该解决方案必须容易部署且使用方便,并符合“开启安全保障”计划的要求。由 N4L 主导、由 Netsafe 和教育部提供支持的这项新计划的重点在于,在学生离校时为他们提供更安全的连接,方便他们开展远程学习。

“我们已经在改变策略,并将关注的重点从课堂转移到学生身上。疫情的爆发意味着我们必须加快部署策略的速度,以便为他们提供保护,因为当学生回到家中不受监管的环境时,面临的网络犯罪、勒索软件和网络钓鱼攻击将会增加。”N4L 的首席信息官 Gavin Costello 解释道。

为此,N4L IT 团队需要 DNS 过滤服务,该服务可以限制用户访问不适合学生和教职人员的网站,例如色情、自残和其他不适当的网站。该服务需要在主要搜索引擎(例如 Google)上实施安全搜索,并包含恶意软件/网络钓鱼防护功能。

建立在坚实的基础上

为了满足学校在互联网容量和安全性方面不断变化的需求,N4L 于 2018 年升级了网络,提供了更多功能来确保孩子们安全上网。其中一项新功能包括 Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector,它可以远程主动识别、阻止和抵御定向威胁。

在使用 Enterprise Threat Protector 之前,N4L 依靠本地防火墙和集中式过滤系统来管理所有新西兰学校面临的威胁。该公司部署了基于 Fortinet FortiGate 防火墙(可显著改善 N4L 的安全状况)和 Enterprise Threat Protector 的升级解决方案,以便在快速发展的威胁环境中从容应对威胁。

“我们知道,借助 FortiGate 和 Enterprise Threat Protector,学生和员工在学校网络上是安全的,但在家中,还没有任何方法可以保护他们。虽然大多数 ISP 提供了家庭保护解决方案,但只有大约 3% 的家庭使用了这些解决方案,因为它们太复杂了。”Costello 解释道。

N4L 精明的 IT 团队仅花了两周时间就为在家学生提供了一个解决方案,他们想出了办法来快速调用现有的解决方案。“我们知道 Enterprise Threat Protector 是有效的,但并未在学校网络之外使用它。”N4L 企业架构师 Clayton Hubbard 继续说道。

在一个普通的上学日,N4L 托管网络会从网络上的 825,000 个用户那里接收超过 2.5 亿个 DNS 请求,而 Enterprise Threat Protector 每天会阻止其中大约 180 万个 DNS 请求。

“就我们服务的用户数量而言,N4L 在教育领域是独一无二的。许多安全解决方案无法扩展以支持我们的庞大用户群,但 Akamai 可以,他们每天都在处理令人难以置信的互联网流量。这种能力,再加上 Akamai 通过更低误报率实现的更高效率,使得 Enterprise Threat Protector 解决方案拥有了与众不同的优势。另外,Akamai 为该解决方案规划的路线图让我们感到兴奋。”Hubbard 说道。

保护数千名学生

作为 N4L 独特的“开启安全保障”过滤服务的一部分,Enterprise Threat Protector 经过了测试,并且可以在一天内正式投入使用。N4L 能够轻松地向新西兰的所有学生提供该安全过滤服务,因此可以保护他们免受不当内容和互联网威胁的侵害。

该安全过滤服务可阻止用户访问已知不安全且不适合学习的一系列网站,包括成人网站和已知托管不安全软件(例如恶意软件和网络钓鱼诈骗)的网站。作为 N4L 在学校中提供的一项安全保障服务(此外还提供了其他许多保障)的延伸,该过滤服务可在未来两年免费提供给学生和教师使用。新西兰教育部在新西兰新冠疫情封锁期间为有需求的学生提供了笔记本电脑,在该笔记本电脑上可以使用上述过滤服务。有关如何为父母和其他用户设置此服务的说明,请访问 N4L Switch on Safety 网站。

在发布该安全过滤服务后的六周内,有近 15500 个家庭在一个或多个孩子的设备上使用了该安全过滤服务。此外,在此期间,该过滤服务阻止了超过 130 万个有害网站和 30 万个在线威胁。

位于北地大区鲁卡卡的布雷姆湾学院是首批测试该过滤服务的学校之一,在测试之后,该服务才广泛发布。布雷姆湾学院的校长 Wayne Buckland 表示:“这与您是否信任孩子无关。这是为了阻止外部的威胁环境,这些威胁试图进入您的设备并窃取信息,然后从事不当行为。令人欣慰的是,当我们的学生在学校上网时,N4L 一直在为他们提供保护,并且他们想出了一个绝妙的方法,可帮助学生在家上网学习时远离不良内容。该安全过滤服务有助于减轻父母群体的部分焦虑,这些父母担心孩子在网上的安全。”

奥马鲁的韦斯顿学校校长 Deidre Senior 补充道:“当我们了解到学习设备即将带到家中时,我最大的担心是,如果没有学校那样的过滤服务,孩子们可能会访问哪些网站。N4L 过滤服务可帮助我们为那些可能不了解所有网络危险的父母提供支持;特别是没有上网设备和互联网受限的家庭,他们的孩子将第一次拥有在家使用的设备。”

“Akamai 使我们得以实施策略,以便在学校之外为孩子们提供保护。在我这么多年的经历中,我从未见过用户如此迅速地接受类似的服务。我们回应了潜在的需求,并讲述了一个故事,使用户很容易理解该解决方案的价值,以及对于该解决方案的需求。”Costello 总结道。

Network for Learning 简介

N4L 是一家政府拥有的公司,自 2013 年以来,一直通过托管网络支持政府的教育目标。该网络如今已将所有新西兰学校和库拉公立学校连接到安全、快速、可靠的互联网服务,这些服务面向公立学校和公私结合学校,并获得了全面资助和支持。在 2019 年报告期内(2018 年 7 月 1 日至 2019 年 6 月 30 日),该公司阻止了超过 5.82 亿个安全威胁,避免对学校互联网用户造成影响。N4L 还被评为新西兰 2018 年度宽带提供商,并与教育、政府和技术合作伙伴合作,帮助学校从安全的数字化连接中充分受益。


相关客户案例

Security

Intuit

Read More
Security

Suntory Business Systems

Read More
Security

BurdaForward

Read More

Network for Learning needed safety for students

With the rapid need to put an online safety filter in place for students at home, N4L called upon Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector

It’s hard to find vendors willing to change their deployment strategy for you and deliver a workable commercial strategy. Akamai’s solution was the needed element enabling us to give parents a valuable layer of protection that keeps their children safer online.

Gavin Costello, CIO, Network for Learning

Network for Learning (N4L) is a Crown-owned company set up in 2012 to help bridge the digital divide and make sure every young New Zealander has access to the digital world for learning, regardless of where they live or go to school. Its mission is to connect all schools and kura — state schools where the teaching is based on Māori culture and values — across New Zealand to fast, reliable, and safe internet services. N4L accomplishes this through its Managed Network, serving more than 850,000 students and teachers within all New Zealand schools and kura.

When children are at school, N4L blocks upward of 25 million websites a day. The company blocked more than 582 million security threats from impacting school internet users during its 2019 reporting period (1 July 2018 – 30 June 2019). N4L was named New Zealand's 2018 Broadband Provider of the Year and works alongside education, government, and technology partners to help schools get the most from digital connectivity and keep their students safe online.

Driven to continually evolve ways to keep kids safe while learning, N4L deployed Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector in 2018 to provide enhanced protection for New Zealand schools. As a technology-forward company with a goal to provide robust and secure infrastructure for all schools, N4L is well positioned to navigate unforeseen scenarios. When COVID-19 hit, it took advantage of Enterprise Threat Protector to further protect students as they shifted to learning at home.

Extending Online Safety and Security for At-Home Learners

N4L's Managed Network was already designed around industry-leading safety and security tools, giving principals, teachers, and parents the confidence to use digital technologies for learning. While this has served New Zealand schools and kura for nearly a decade, N4L needed to expand its vision to address at-home learners. Key to this was providing an effective security solution that was easy to apply and simple to use in line with "Switch on Safety." This new initiative, led by N4L with support from Netsafe and the Ministry of Education, is focused on providing safer connectivity for learning while students are away from school.

"We had already been shifting our strategy to move beyond the classroom to focus on learners. COVID-19 simply meant we had to accelerate our strategy to protect them as they moved into an unsupervised environment at home in the midst of a rise in cybercrime, ransomware, and phishing attacks," explains Gavin Costello, CIO of N4L.

To that end, the N4L IT team required a DNS filtering service that restricted access to sites not suitable for schoolchildren and staff, such as pornography, self-harm, and other inappropriate sites. The service needed to enforce SafeSearch across major search engines such as Google and include malware/phishing protection.

Building Upon a Strong Foundation

As part of its commitment to meet schools' changing needs around internet capacity and security, N4L upgraded its network in 2018 with many more capabilities to keep kids safe online. One of the new capabilities included Akamai Enterprise Threat Protector, which makes it possible to remotely and proactively identify, block, and mitigate targeted threats.

Before using Enterprise Threat Protector, N4L relied on an onsite firewall and centralized filtering system to manage threats across all New Zealand schools. The company deployed an upgraded solution based on Fortinet FortiGate firewalls — which significantly improved N4L's security posture — and Enterprise Threat Protector to get ahead of threats in a fast-evolving threat landscape.

"We know students and staff are safe on the school network due to FortiGate and Enterprise Threat Protector, but there was nothing in place to protect them at home. While the majority of ISPs offer solutions for home protection, only around 3% of households use these, because they're too complicated," explains Costello.

With just two weeks to put in place a solution for at-home learners, N4L's savvy IT team figured out how to quickly call on its existing solutions. "We knew Enterprise Threat Protector was effective but hadn't used it beyond the school network," continues Clayton Hubbard, Enterprise Architect for N4L.

On a typical school day, the N4L Managed Network receives more than 250 million DNS requests from the 825,000 users on the network, and Enterprise Threat Protector blocks approximately 1.8 million of those requests per day.

"N4L is unique in the education sector in terms of the number of users we serve. Many security solutions don't scale to support our user base, but Akamai handles a mind-boggling volume of internet traffic daily. That, along with Akamai's efficacy rate with fewer false positives, set the Enterprise Threat Protector solution apart. Plus, we're excited about Akamai's roadmap for this solution," says Hubbard.

Protecting Thousands of Schoolchildren

As part of N4L's unique Switch on Safety filter, Enterprise Threat Protector was tested and ready to go live in a day. N4L was able to easily make available the safety filter to all students in New Zealand, so they could be protected from inappropriate content and threats on the internet.

The safety filter blocks access to a range of websites known to be unsafe and inappropriate for learning, including adult websites and those known to host unsafe software, such as malware and phishing scams. As an extension of one of the multiple safety and security services N4L has in place at schools, the filter is available at no cost to students and teachers for the next two years. It was made available on the laptops provided by the Ministry of Education to students in need during the country's COVID-19 lockdown. Instructions on how to set it up for parents and other users were made available on the N4L Switch on Safety website.

Within six weeks of its release, the safety filter was being used by nearly 15,500 households on one or more of their children's devices. Moreover, the filter had blocked over 1.3 million harmful websites and 300,000 online threats during that time.

Bream Bay College in Ruakaka, Northland, was one of the first schools to test the filter before its wider release. According to Wayne Buckland, Principal at Bream Bay College, "It's not about whether you trust your kids or not. It's about stopping that world out there that is trying to get on your devices and steal information and do things that are inappropriate. We appreciate that N4L has been looking after our students while online at school and that they've come up with a brilliant method to help keep them safe from bad content while learning online from home. The safety filter will help relieve some of the anxiety from our parent community, who are concerned about the safety of their children online."

The principal of Oamaru's Weston School, Deidre Senior, adds, "When we learned devices were going into homes, my biggest concern was what websites the kids might access if there was no filtering in place like we have at school. The N4L filter helps us support parents who may not be aware of all the dangers online; particularly the families without devices and limited internet, whose children are getting a device to use at home for the first time."

"Akamai enables our strategy to protect children beyond the school gate. In all my years, I've never seen such swift uptake of a similar offering. We responded to a latent demand and told a story that made it easy to understand the value and need for this solution," concludes Costello.

About Network for Learning

N4L is a Crown company supporting the government's goals for education since 2013 through its Managed Network, which today connects all New Zealand schools and kura to safe, fast, reliable internet services that are fully funded and supported for state and state-integrated schools. The company blocked more than 582 million security threats from impacting school internet users during its 2019 reporting period (1 July 2018 – 30 June 2019). N4L has also been named New Zealand’s 2018 Broadband Provider of the Year and works alongside education, government, and technology partners to help schools get the most from safe and secure digital connectivity.


Related Customer Stories

Security

The Washington Post

Read More
Publishing

The Associated Press

Read More
Download Delivery

ASUS

Read More