Blue Code Hero Background

打造不断发展壮大的新闻与娱乐世界,高速安全地交付内容

DPG Media 提供的数字内容可使人们获得资讯、受到启发以及愉悦心情

随时随地提供新闻资讯和娱乐内容的大本营

DPG Media 依靠 Akamai 产品,为其所有在线媒体品牌提供出色的性能、稳定性和安全性,进而每天为数百万人提供新闻资讯和娱乐内容。

在内容交付网络的支持下,自信、安心欣赏演出

新冠疫情一年之后,DPG Media 在其热门新闻和娱乐门户网站 HLN.be 上举办了一场音乐直播活动。整整 24 小时的直播演出通过流媒体形式在线播送,让地区演艺从业者在无法安排现场演出的大环境下,有机会展示自我。这次活动大获成功,总计吸引了 54 万名比利时各地的观众,给网站增加了 8.2 万名新订阅者。

而对于 DPG Media 云治理团队的内容交付网络和 Web 应用程序防火墙产品负责人 Jo De Coninck 个人来说,这也是一次非凡的胜利。De Coninck 表示:“我们通过流媒体形式向数十万人传输了 270 Gbps 的直播视频。这样的流量对我们来说非常庞大,但我们当时并没有产生扩充基础架构或托管容量的需求。我们完全可以安心欣赏精彩的演出。”

De Coninck 在该公司工作了 20 年,在过去 10 年间,他一直帮助这家媒体集团推动数字化转型。DPG Media 经营着 90 个地区知名品牌,涵盖了印刷的报刊和杂志、电视和广播、数字出版物和点播式视频流媒体。如今,该集团正在将更多新闻和娱乐内容放到线上,为比利时、荷兰和丹麦的数百万人提供服务。

在向线上转变的过程中,De Coninck 功不可没。他确保了基础架构具备适当的性能、稳定性和安全性,从而能够应对不断发展壮大的受众群体、高量级流媒体视频活动和突发新闻造成的经常无法预测的流量高峰。这一切都是他依靠 Akamai 实现的。如今,他正在全公司范围内负责一项计划,致力于通过 Akamai 产品保护公司所有面向公众的应用程序。


Akamai 为我们提供了敏捷性和速度,让我们能够在无需承担高昂基础架构成本的情况下扩大规模。

Jo De Coninck,内容交付网络和 Web 应用程序防火墙产品负责人

让较小的媒体品牌得益于大企业的规模和量级

标准化工作是该媒体集团更大业务战略的一个重要环节:利用公司的规模和影响力来推动收购公司和新成立公司的快速增长。通过将小型品牌纳入 Akamai 产品的覆盖范围,De Coninck 即可立即为这些品牌提供必要的基础架构资源,从而让小品牌获得广阔的发展空间 - 提供更丰富的内容,覆盖比以前更多的受众,而且完全不需要扩展基础架构。这让 DPG Media 能够强化其地区优势,并与 Facebook、Google 和 Netflix 等颠覆性的全球企业展开竞争。

“集中式 CDN 战略给我们带来了优化数字产品性能、加强安全的机会,而且由于可以享受批量优惠,相对于采用多种独立方法而言,我们还能降低成本。真是一举三得!”DPG Media 首席技术官 Frank Mathys 说道。

整个旅程从一份在线出版物开始

近 10 年前,De Coninck 首次将 Akamai 技术引入 DPG Media,当时该公司正准备推出其第一份数字出版物 iPaper。他需要保证读者在台式机、平板电脑和手机上访问新闻时都能获得快速优质的体验。通过使用 Akamai 的 Download Delivery 产品在边缘位置缓存内容,他能够加快网页加载速度,给读者提供更好的阅读体验 - 甚至比早餐时打开折叠的报纸还容易。与此同时,缓存的内容将给基础架构创建一个缓冲区,使其能够承受突发新闻所带来的不可避免的流量高峰。

De Coninck 回忆说:“如果没有 Akamai,我们的第一款数字产品根本不可能顺利交付。”自那时起,他将内容交付网络 (CDN) 扩展到数十个面向公众的应用程序,添加了 Dynamic Site Accelerator 以进一步优化网站性能,并添加了 Adaptive Media Delivery 以支持 DPG Media 后续推出的视频点播频道。DPG Media 还使用 Edge DNSCloud Wrapper,为新闻和娱乐网站提供出色的性能、可用性和稳定性。

De Coninck 表示:“就算应用程序和托管基础架构发生故障,我们也能依靠缓存版本,来保证新闻网站正常运行,在那些时候,Akamai 让我们的业务能够保持运行。”


集中式 CDN 战略给我们带来了优化数字产品性能、加强安全的机会,而且由于可以享受批量优惠,相对于采用多种独立方法而言,我们还能降低成本。一举三得!

Frank Mathys,首席技术官

面向移动性的未来,扩展成本低廉

将内容推送到边缘位置也为该公司迈向更具移动性的未来铺平了道路。De Coninck 表示:“去年,我们的移动流量超过了普通流量,这样的趋势还会延续下去,我坚信,由于 Akamai 面向边缘的方法让我们更靠近用户,因此它必将成为移动访问的一大优势。”

更重要的是,基于单一 CDN 的标准化已助 DPG Media 降低了成本,因为这种方式通过 Akamai 产品将所有流量捆绑在一起,不论应用程序位于本地还是任何云平台上都是如此。在近期收购 Sanoma NL 的工作中,DPG Media 发现,在通过 Akamai 产品处理该品牌的流量之后,不仅每月基础架构成本立即节省了 10,000 欧元,而且受众数量也得到了增加。

De Coninck 表示:“Akamai 为我们提供了敏捷性和速度,让我们能够在无需承担高昂基础架构成本的情况下扩大规模,这让 Sanoma 这样的新品牌可以从 10 倍的访客数量中获益,但不会产生 10 倍的成本。而由此省下的资金可以重新投入到一个日渐重要的领域:安全性。”

保护新闻网站免受安全威胁

De Coninck 一直在借助 Akamai 添加网络防御层,从而保护 DPG Media 的基础架构。这家媒体和娱乐公司选择 Kona Site Defender 来防范分布式拒绝服务攻击,让威胁远离基础架构,在边缘位置加以阻止;此外还使用 Client Reputation 在网络防御层增添额外保护。 Page Integrity Manager 能够抵御脚本攻击,而 Bot Manager Premier 则能够阻止抓取内容或窃取用户凭据的企图。

De Coninck 表示:“我们需要保护应用程序和用户数据免受撞库和内容抓取等定向威胁,用一个 Web 应用程序防火墙集中保护应用程序大大减少了我们的公共攻击面,有助于确保用户数据的安全。”

强有力的业务案例和长期的发展战略

自为 iPaper 应用程序首次采用 Akamai 以来,DPG Media 已取得了长足的发展。从每月只有几百 TB 的内容,发展到了每月 20 PB 的内容,从每日新闻出版物和杂志发展到了流媒体视频。在很大程度上,这是 De Coninck 不懈努力推动标准化计划的结果。通过专注于该公司对带宽需求量最大的前 30 大品牌,如今他已帮助该公司 70% 面向公众的应用程序采用了 Akamai 产品。但他并没有就此止步。

他的部分工作是帮助开发人员在构建和部署新的应用程序时过渡到 Akamai。他进行了强有力的商业论证,足以说明单个企业 CDN 有助于优化性能、稳定性、可扩展性和安全性,同时能够降低成本。他能够依靠 Akamai Premium Service and Support 3.0Security Optimization Assistance 保持一切顺畅运转。他深知保持 CDN 与应用层分离有多重要,这可为开发团队扩展应用程序以及移动应用程序带来灵活性。

De Coninck 表示:“作为独立 CDN,Akamai 为我们提供了一种将性能优化和安全功能与我们的应用基础架构分离的方法。这一点非常重要,因为我们会不断收购和吞并较小的公司,让他们受益于我们的企业规模和影响力。”

以相同的品质,将一直以来提供的新闻和娱乐内容扩展覆盖数百万线上观众,对于一家不断发展壮大并适应日益数字化行业的公司来说,这是一种强有力的战略。

关于 DPG Media

我们的媒体通过使人们获得资讯、受到启发以及愉悦心情来充实大众生活。我们相信,明智的消费者和强大的社区有助于创造更美好的世界。我们提供非常有效、可靠的媒体内容。我们致力于打造有正能量、有创意、有竞争力并且经受得住时间考验的成功媒体企业。


相关客户案例

Edge DNS

Microgame

Microgame 携手 Akamai 和 Criticalcase 提供快速、安全的在线博彩和投注网站
阅读更多
Security

Riachuelo

Akamai 帮助巴西时装零售商 Riachuelo 实现了增强消费者安全体验这一优先目标,同时将其电子商务网站性能提高了 40%
阅读更多
Security

Intuit

Intuit 借助 Akamai 解决方案为 TurboTax、QuickBooks 和 Mint 保持全年可用性和安全性。
阅读更多

Akamai has acquired Guardicore to extend its Zero Trust solutions and help stop ransomware. Read more

A growing world of news and entertainment, served up with speed and security

DPG Media serves up digital content to keep people informed, inspired, and entertained

A foundation for news and entertainment — anytime, anywhere

DPG Media relies on Akamai to provide performance, stability, and security to all its online media brands — delivering news and entertainment that millions of people rely on every day.

The confidence to sit back and enjoy the show, with a content delivery network to back it up

Exactly one year into the COVID-19 pandemic, DPG Media hosted a live musical event on its popular news and entertainment portal, HLN.be. With 24 hours of live performances streaming online, it was an opportunity to showcase regional performers in a time when in-person concerts weren’t possible. And it succeeded — attracting more than 540,000 viewers across Belgium and bringing 82,000 new subscribers to the site.

It was a big personal win for Jo De Coninck, Content Delivery Network and Web Application Firewall Product Owner on the Cloud Governance team at DPG Media. “We streamed 270 Gbps of live video to hundreds of thousands of people,” says De Coninck. “That’s an enormous amount of traffic for us, but we didn’t have to scale up infrastructure or hosted capacity. We just sat back and enjoyed the show.”

With the company for 20 years, De Coninck has spent the last decade helping the media conglomerate drive digital transformation. DPG Media operates 90 well-known regional brands spanning print news and magazines, TV and radio broadcasting, digital publications, and video streaming on demand. And it is taking more of its news and entertainment online — reaching millions of people across Belgium, The Netherlands, and Denmark.

De Coninck has been instrumental in the shift online, making sure the infrastructure has the performance, stability, and security to handle an expanding readership, large-scale video streaming events, and the often-unpredictable spikes in traffic caused by breaking news. He relies on Akamai to get it done — and is leading an initiative across the company to put all public-facing applications behind Akamai.


Akamai gives us the agility and speed to scale up without high infrastructure costs.

Jo De Coninck, Content Delivery Network and Web Application Firewall Product Owner

Lending enterprise scale and volume to smaller media brands

The standardization effort is an important piece of the media conglomerate’s larger business strategy: using the company’s scale and reach to drive rapid growth for acquisitions and new business ventures. By bringing smaller brands into the Akamai fold, De Coninck can immediately give them the infrastructure resources they need to think big — delivering richer content and reaching larger audiences than they could before. All without expanding the infrastructure. That enables DPG Media to strengthen its regional advantages and compete against disruptive global players such as Facebook, Google, and Netflix.

“Our centralized CDN strategy is an opportunity to optimize the performance of our digital products, improve security, and — since it is a volume game — we can reduce costs versus a stand-alone approach. A triple win!” says Frank Mathys, CTO at DPG Media.

The journey started with a single online publication

De Coninck first introduced Akamai technology to DPG Media almost 10 years ago, as the company prepared to launch iPaper, its first digital publication. He needed to make sure readers had a fast, flawless experience as they accessed the news on their desktops, tablets, and phones. By caching content at the edge with Akamai’s Download Delivery product, he could make pages load quickly and create a better reading experience for people — even easier than opening a folded newspaper over breakfast. At the same time, cached content would create a buffer zone for the infrastructure, enabling it to withstand the inevitable waves of traffic that come with breaking news.

“Without Akamai, we simply would not have been able to deliver that first digital product,” De Coninck recalls. Since then, he’s extended the content delivery network (CDN) to dozens of public-facing applications, adding Dynamic Site Accelerator to further optimize site performance and Adaptive Media Delivery to support DPG Media’s newer video on demand channels. DPG Media also uses Edge DNS and Cloud Wrapper, keeping performance, availability, and stability high for the news and entertainment sites.

“Even when our applications and hosting infrastructure went down, we were able to keep our news sites running on the cached versions,” De Coninck says. “Akamai kept us alive during those times.”


Our centralized CDN strategy is an opportunity to optimize the performance of our digital products, improve security, and — since it is a volume game — we can reduce costs versus a stand-alone approach. A triple win!

Frank Mathys, CTO

Pointed toward a mobile future, with low-cost scalability

Pushing content to the edge also gives the company a clear path to a more mobile future. “Last year, our mobile traffic surpassed regular traffic, and that trend is only going to continue,” says De Coninck. “I strongly believe Akamai’s edge-oriented approach will become a big advantage for mobile access, as it gets us much closer to users.”

What’s more, standardizing on a single CDN has helped DPG Media reduce costs by bundling all traffic through Akamai, wherever the applications reside — whether on-premises or on any cloud platform. In its recent acquisition of Sanoma NL, DPG Media found that moving the brand behind Akamai immediately saved €10,000 per month on infrastructure costs while enabling it to reach larger audiences than ever.

“Akamai gives us the agility and speed to scale up without high infrastructure costs — so a new brand such as Sanoma can benefit from 10x more visitors without incurring 10x the cost,” says De Coninck. “That means we can reinvest the savings in an area that is becoming increasingly important: security.”

Protecting news sites from security threats

De Coninck has been working to protect DPG Media’s infrastructure by adding perimeter protection with Akamai. The media and entertainment company chose Kona Site Defender to guard against distributed denial-of-service attacks — moving the threats farther away from the infrastructure and stopping them at the edge — with Client Reputation adding an additional layer of protection to the perimeter. Page Integrity Manager protects against script attacks, while Bot Manager Premier blocks attempts to scrape content or steal user credentials.

“We need to protect our applications and user data from targeted threats such as credential stuffing and content scraping,” De Coninck says. “Centralizing our applications behind one web application firewall drastically reduces our public attack surface and helps keep our user data safe.”

Strong business case, long-term strategy for growth

DPG Media has come a long way since first launching Akamai with its iPaper application. From just a few hundred terabytes a month, the deployment has grown to include 20 petabytes of monthly content, from daily news publications and magazines to streaming video. In large part, that’s a result of De Coninck’s tireless efforts to drive the standardization initiative. Focusing on the company’s top 30 brands with the highest bandwidth requirements, he has already helped move 70% of the public-facing applications behind Akamai. And he isn’t finished yet.

Part of his job is to help developers transition to Akamai as they build and deploy new applications. He has a strong business case, showing that a single enterprise CDN helps optimize performance, stability, scalability, and security while lowering costs. And he can count on Akamai Premium Service and Support 3.0 with Security Optimization Assistance to keep everything running smoothly. He knows how important it is to keep the CDN separate from the application layer, giving development teams the flexibility to scale applications and move them around.

“As an independent CDN, Akamai provides a way for us to decouple the performance optimization and security features from our application infrastructure,” says De Coninck. “That’s important as we continue to acquire and absorb smaller companies, giving them the benefit of our enterprise scale and reach.”

It’s a strong strategy for a company that is constantly evolving and adapting to an increasingly digital industry — extending the same quality journalism and entertainment it has always delivered to millions of people online.

About DPG Media

Our media enriches people's lives by informing, inspiring and entertaining them. We believe that informed consumers and strong communities contribute to a better world. We offer the most effective and reliable media. We are committed to building an enduring, successful media business that is positive, creative and competitive.


Related Customer Stories

Bot Manager

Yatra offers a top search experience using Akamai

Yatra provides its B2B and B2C customers with an unparalleled travel search experience. To do so, Yatra has invested in Akamai's best-of-breed web performance and application security solutions.
Read More
Healthcare and Life Sciences

NHS Forth Valley

Learn how NHS Forth Valley teleworkers use Akamai to securely access applications without the hassle and security risks of VPNs and hardware tokens.
Read More
Enterprise Application Access

Skylark Group

Skylark Group helps restaurant employees focus on great customer service by simplifying application access with Akamai.
Read More