Akamai 收购 Guardicore 以拓展 Zero Trust 解决方案,从而更好地帮助客户抵御勒索软件攻击。 阅读全文

Blue Code Hero Background

Editoriale Domus 的数字杂志在流量翻倍的情况下顺利交付

出版商在云方面提升了性能并降低了成本

面向新一代读者的高性能数字杂志


面对在线出版物流量的大幅飙升,Editoriale Domus 需要提高速度和响应能力,以提高数字内容的收入,削减成本,并继续发展自己的数字杂志。作为 12 种纸质杂志的出版商,Editoriale Domus 逐渐走向数字化,以满足读者对在线内容日益增长的需求。该公司深知网站性能对于吸引订阅者和推动广告收入增长至关重要,因此他们寻求与 Akamai 合作,以便读者在访问丰富的动态内容时能够获得快速、无缝的数字化体验,即使是在流量攀升的情况下也是如此。

无论纸媒还是数媒,体验都至关重要

Editoriale Domus 在 1929 年出版了第一期纸质杂志 - 这也是践行其使命(以优质的内容和体验来启迪未来)的第一步。多年来,该公司一直致力于创意和创新,始终贴近读者不断变化的口味,杂志内容也从单一的建筑和设计内容,扩展到了汽车、旅游和美食等方面。如今,该公司出版了 12 种期刊,包括汽车方面的旗舰出版物《Quattroruote》、登山运动方面的《Meridiani Montagne》、设计方面的杂志《Domus》(该公司的名称就来源于此);以及流行的经典食谱系列《Il Cucchiaio D’argento》。这些纸质杂志有数以万计的忠实读者,许多读者仍然会在报摊上进行购买 - 就像近一个世纪以前那样。

但时代已经变了。越来越多的人选择在网上阅读内容 - 而读者到了哪里,广告资金就会跟到哪里。为了吸引新一代的汽车爱好者、户外运动爱好者和家庭厨师并将其圈粉,Editoriale Domus 在过去十年中一直致力于打造杂志的数字版本,提供在线订阅并增加丰富的动态内容。《Quattroruote》是该出版商最畅销的杂志,其数字版本拥有大量深度文章、高分辨率照片、互动内容和极具吸引力的最新汽车视频评测。这些内容大幅提升了互动率,因为读者会对文章进行评论和分享。这是一个深受以下读者喜爱的网站:打算去车市购买新车的消费者,以及各种汽车爱好者,他们可以尽情浏览网站中感兴趣的内容,并想象时尚新座驾带来的兴奋体验。

要想留住读者,确保这些丰富的内容能够在无延迟或超时的情况下顺利加载至关重要。人们不会为加载页面而等太长的时间 - 无论他们是要研究跑车,还是在家中计划餐点。加载食谱页面或下载汽车评测视频时,任何迟滞都可能导致他们离开网站。对于 Editoriale Domus 来说,速度和响应能力最为重要。

流量翻倍时,有了 Akamai 的加持,性能依旧大幅提升

当新冠疫情蔓延到意大利时,该国实施了管控措施,而这突然加快了原有的数字化转型速度。与其他出版商一样,Editoriale Domus 看到网站流量激增,特别是其热门食谱网站 cucchiaio.it 尤为明显。

随着餐馆关闭,人们更频繁地在家里做饭,许多人把做饭变成了一种消遣,对自己做的饭菜充满了新奇感。在整个意大利和世界各地,厨房里充满了烤面包、新鲜意大利面和自制甜点的香味。渴望尝试新食谱的家庭厨师们涌向 Il Cucchiaio D’argento 网站 - 其流量几乎在一夜之间翻了一倍。

对于 Editoriale Domus 来说,这是一个关键的时刻。但是,作为 Akamai 的长期客户,该出版商知道,其网站能够承受不断增加的数字活动流量,并且无需担心网络用户流量过高会造成不利影响。

Editoriale Domus 平台和服务经理 Gianfranco Ferracci 表示:“Akamai 使我们能够在不改变基础架构的情况下轻松应对流量增长。通过加快内容交付速度,Akamai 使我们能够通过为客户提供快速、愉悦的体验来留住客户,同时能够刊登更多的广告并增加企业收入。”


通过加快内容交付速度,Akamai 使我们能够通过为客户提供快速、愉悦的体验来留住客户,同时能够刊登更多的广告并提高企业收入。

平台和服务经理 Gianfranco Ferracci

Ferracci 负责管理网站的基础架构,确保该网站能够满足公司的数字化计划的要求。他在五年前加入 Editoriale Domus,该公司对 Akamai 解决方案的投资比这个时间更早,在他的印象中,Akamai 产品或团队总是能够满足他们的期望。

Ferracci表示:“借助 Akamai Dynamic Site Accelerator (DSA) 和 Image & Video Manager,响应速度一直都很出色。我们通过 Akamai 获得的性能提升和易管理性是我们这些年来一直依赖于 Akamai 的主要原因。”

Ferracci 再次寻求与 Akamai 合作,以尝试优化成本。Akamai 团队与 Editoriale Domus 紧密合作,很快就找到了解决方案。较高的源站出站流量导致该公司的出站流量成本上升,而 Akamai 发现了一个明显的机会,即利用 Google Cloud Platform (GCP) Interconnect(DSA 的一个云优先功能)来为 Editoriale Domus 降低这些成本。

Ferracci 表示:“通过 Akamai 内容交付网络来重新路由我们的源站出站流量,Akamai 团队帮助我们的大部分网站流量享受了折扣价格。这使我们的出站流量成本减低了 35%,每年节省了数千欧元。”GCP Interconnect 是 Akamai 最新的功能之一,旨在帮助客户管理他们的云部署 - 因为越来越多的公司转向云端。通过与 Google Cloud 建立直接连接,Editoriale Domus 可以更好地控制源站流量交换,从而通过 Akamai 进行路由以降低成本并提高性能。

Editoriale Domus 在 Akamai 帮助下继续进行数字化转型

对于 Editoriale Domus 杂志的用户来说,在 Akamai 的加持下,无论他们在任何设备上阅读沉浸式互动内容,都能获得快速、无缝的体验,即使在流量增加的情况下也是如此。也就是说,人们可以在日益复杂的数字化体验中为他们的家庭晚餐找到新的食谱,并探索他们的理想座驾。


我们确信,Akamai 使我们在任何情况下都能为读者提供优质的数字化体验,进而帮助我们取得成功。

平台和服务经理 Gianfranco Ferracci

对于 Editoriale Domus 来说,Akamai 使其能够轻松实现全方位的提升,不仅交付速度更快,而且拥有了多种节省成本的新机会。更快的内容交付意味着更多的广告展示和更高的千人成本 (CPM) - 从而为该出版商带来了更多广告收入。内容出版商可以通过内容交付网络更快地推送更新,这有助于网站上的杂志拥有及时、准确的信息。系统工程师可轻松添加新网站或改变网站配置,并通过 Akamai 设置暂存环境以测试性能。

这种管理便利性使 Editoriale Domus 可以专注于创新和投资于具有巨大商机的领域,进而为客户带来卓越的数字化体验。

Ferracci 表示:“即使在困难时期,我们也在继续推进我们的数字化转型,因为这是在此市场中蓬勃发展并赢得胜利的最佳途径。我们与 Akamai 合作,为 Quattroruote 推出了付费订阅,客户付费后即可获得独家的深度内容,同时我们也能以可靠的方式提供更为出色的性能。”

这种卓越的在线体验使 Editoriale Domus 能够延续其长达 90 年的成功传统,在 Akamai 的支持下,该出版商添加了更为丰富的内容,进而提高了客户参与度。

Ferracci 表示:“作为反应迅速的战略技术合作伙伴,Akamai 帮助我们推进了数字化转型。我们确信,Akamai 使我们在任何情况下都能为读者提供优质的数字化体验,进而帮助我们取得成功。”


相关客户案例

Security

Suntory Business Systems

Akamai Technical Advisory Service (TAS) supports and resolves massive Website Analysis and Improvement
Read More
Security

BurdaForward

BurdaForward keeps millions of people reading online with fast, responsive websites fueled by Akamai.
Read More
Edge DNS

Microgame

Microgame delivers speedy, secure online gambling and betting sites with Akamai and Criticalcase
Read More

Akamai has acquired Guardicore to extend its Zero Trust solutions and help stop ransomware. Read more

Editoriale Domus’s digital magazines deliver as traffic doubles

Publisher subscribes to faster performance and lower costs in the cloud

High-performance digital magazines for the next generation of readers


Facing a significant spike in traffic to online publications, Editoriale Domus needed to increase speed and responsiveness to drive digital revenue, cut costs, and continue to evolve its digital magazines. As publisher of a dozen print magazines, Editoriale Domus has gradually been going digital to satisfy readers’ increasing demands for online content. Knowing that website performance is critical for attracting subscribers and driving ad revenue, the company turned to Akamai to enable fast, seamless digital experiences for rich, dynamic content – even as traffic rose.

From print to digital, experience matters

Editoriale Domus published its first print magazine in 1929 – the first step in its mission to inspire the future with premium content and experiences. Over the years, its commitment to creativity and innovation has kept the company relevant to the changing tastes of readers, expanding its focus from a single architecture and design magazine to mobility, travel, and cuisine. Today, the company publishes a dozen periodicals, including Quattroruote, its flagship automotive publication; Meridiani Montagne, devoted to mountaineering; Domus, the design magazine from which the company takes its name; and its popular and timeless cookbook series, Il Cucchiaio D’argento. The print magazines reach tens of thousands of loyal subscribers, and many readers still buy them at newsstands – just as they did nearly a century ago.

But times have changed. More people are reading content online – and where readers go, advertising dollars follow. To stay relevant for new generations of car lovers, outdoor enthusiasts, and home cooks, Editoriale Domus has spent the past decade building digital versions of its magazines, offering online subscriptions and adding rich, dynamic content to pull people in. The digital property of Quattroruote, the publisher’s top-selling magazine, is filled with in-depth articles, high-resolution photos, interactive content, and compelling video reviews of the latest cars. The content generates a lot of engagement, as readers comment on and share articles. It’s a popular destination for consumers who are in the market for a new vehicle, as well as all-around car enthusiasts, who can browse the site to their hearts’ content and imagine the thrill of a sleek new ride.

Making sure all that rich content loads smoothly without delays or timeouts is critical to keeping readers engaged. People won’t wait for more than a few seconds for a page to load, whether they’re researching fast cars or planning a meal at home. Any lag time in loading a recipe page or downloading a car review video could cause them to leave the site. For Editoriale Domus, speed and responsiveness are top priorities.

As traffic doubles, performance soars with Akamai

When the COVID-19 pandemic spread to Italy, the country went under lockdown, and what had been a gradual shift toward digital suddenly accelerated. Like other publishers, Editoriale Domus saw website traffic spike, especially at the publisher’s popular recipe site, cucchiaio.it.

With restaurants closed, people were cooking at home more often, and many turned it into a pastime, getting adventurous with their meals. Across Italy and around the world, kitchens filled up with the aromas of baked bread, fresh pasta, and homemade desserts. Eager to try new recipes, home cooks flocked to the Il Cucchiaio D’argento website – doubling its traffic nearly overnight.

It was a moment of truth for Editoriale Domus. However, as a longtime Akamai customer, the publisher knew that its websites would withstand the rising wave of digital activity, and there was no need to worry about high web user traffic.

“Akamai made it easy to support the increase in traffic without changing the infrastructure,” says Gianfranco Ferracci, Platform and Service Manager at Editoriale Domus. “By speeding up content delivery, Akamai contributes to our ability to keep customers on the site with a fast, enjoyable experience while serving up more advertisements and driving revenue for the business.”


By speeding up content delivery, Akamai contributes to our ability to keep customers on the site with a fast, enjoyable experience while serving up more advertisements and driving revenue for the business.

Gianfranco Ferracci, Platform and Service Manager

Ferracci is responsible for the web infrastructure, making sure it can support the company’s digital initiatives. Having joined Editoriale Domus five years ago, the company’s investment in Akamai predates him – and he can’t recall a single time when the products or the Akamai team have failed to live up to expectations.

“With Akamai Dynamic Site Accelerator (DSA) and Image & Video Manager, response times have always been remarkable,” Ferracci says. “The performance and ease of management we get through Akamai are the main reasons we’ve relied on Akamai all these years.” 

Ferracci turned to Akamai once again to try and optimize costs. The Akamai team worked closely with Editoriale Domus and quickly found a solution. High origin egress traffic was driving up egress costs for the company, and Akamai saw an immediate opportunity to bring those costs down for Editoriale Domus using Google Cloud Platform (GCP) Interconnect, a cloud-first feature of DSA.

“By rerouting our origin egress traffic through the Akamai content delivery network, the Akamai team helped us take advantage of a discount for the majority of our web traffic,” says Ferracci. “That cut our egress costs by 35%, saving thousands of euros every year.” GCP Interconnect is one of the latest Akamai capabilities designed to help customers manage their cloud deployments – as more and more companies move to the cloud. By establishing a direct connection to Google Cloud, Editoriale Domus gained greater control over the exchange of origin traffic, routing it through Akamai for lower costs and better performance.

Editoriale Domus continues its digital journey with Akamai

For users of Editoriale Domus properties, having Akamai behind the scenes has translated to a fast, seamless experience with immersive, interactive content, on any device – even as traffic volumes rise. That means people can find new recipes for their family dinners and explore their dream cars through increasingly sophisticated digital experiences.


We feel confident that Akamai puts us on a path to success by enabling us to deliver premium digital experiences to our readers — under any circumstances.

Gianfranco Ferracci, Platform and Service Manager

For Editoriale Domus, Akamai has made it easy to keep evolving at every level – with faster delivery and new opportunities for cost savings. Faster content delivery has meant more ad impressions and higher cost per mille (CPM), which has translated to more advertising revenue for the publisher. Content publishers can push updates faster through the content delivery network, which is crucial as magazines work to keep timely, accurate information on their websites. And system engineers can easily add new websites or change their configuration, setting up staging environments to test performance through Akamai.

That ease of management has kept Editoriale Domus focused on innovation and investment in areas with the greatest opportunities – creating a remarkable digital experience for its customers.

“Even during difficult times, we continue to advance our digital transformation because it’s the best way to thrive and win in this market,” says Ferracci. “We collaborated with Akamai to launch a premium subscription for Quattroruote, giving customers access to exclusive, in-depth content behind a paywall while reliably delivering the best possible performance.”

This premium online experience has helped Editoriale Domus continue its 90-year legacy of success, adding richer content to increase customer engagement, having Akamai at its back.

“Akamai is a responsive and strategic technology partner, helping us move our digital transformation forward,” Ferracci says. “We feel confident that Akamai puts us on a path to success by enabling us to deliver premium digital experiences to our readers — under any circumstances.”

About Editoriale Domus

Since 1929 Editoriale Domus has been shaping dreams by creating the best products, services and experiences featuring mobility, architecture, design, travel and cuisine. ED’s unique know how is a product of its evolution from media company to information, teaching, and entertainment system generating value for community and stakeholders both. ED’s success is founded on the passion of its people, a team with shared values and expertise that rises to the challenge of change on a daily basis. https://www.edidomus.it/


Related Customer Stories

Enterprise Application Access

Doshisha University

Akamai helps Doshisha University quickly configure remote work and adopt zero trust security best practices globally.
Read More
Enterprise Application Access

Skylark Group

Skylark Group helps restaurant employees focus on great customer service by simplifying application access with Akamai.
Read More
Edge DNS

Microgame

Microgame delivers speedy, secure online gambling and betting sites with Akamai and Criticalcase
Read More