Grant Thornton

这家国际商务咨询公司通过无缝的 Akamai 集成大大减少了 VPN 的数量和对 HTTPS 的使用

“我们对 Enterprise Application Access 的功能广度感到惊叹。它支持审核和日志记录以及多种身份验证方法,并且可无缝集成到我们更大的品牌解决方案中,而其他解决方案无法做到这一点。”

Grant Thornton 数字化风险部门合伙人 Mike Harris

Grant Thornton 是一个由独立担保、税务和咨询公司组成的全球专业服务网络。该公司高度注重质量,并提供深入见解来帮助企业应对当今瞬息万变的市场。Grant Thornton Ireland 是该国/地区业务发展速度迅猛的一家专业服务公司。它拥有 53 家合作伙伴,聘请了超过 1,450 名员工,管理着由大约 56,000 人组成的全球专业服务网络,这些人包括分布在 140 多个国家/地区的各家独立会计和咨询成员公司的员工。

近年来,这家专业服务组织在不断推动自己的服务交付模型发展演进,以适应不断变化的客户需求。这最终形成了一个计划,可帮助客户制定适当的策略,以帮助员工重返工作岗位,并通过增强的数字化流程为其提供协助。为此,它更加依赖于技术和基于云的服务(例如电子数据展示 (eDiscovery) 平台)来为其服务提供支持。随着提供的技术解决方案数量越来越多,该公司开始更加关注安全性和客户的在线体验。

在满足一系列安全访问需求时面临的挑战

作为爱尔兰规模靠前的电子数据展示提供商,Grant Thornton 提供了计算机取证和电子数据展示解决方案,以帮助客户应对这样的挑战:在往往错综复杂的调查、诉讼和监管事务中管理电子数据的激增。该企业帮助客户深入了解关键信息,并找到识别、收集、审查和生成电子数据的理想方法,在此过程中使用经得起法院审查的稳健且可重复的流程。

该企业通过在爱尔兰数据中心托管的 Relativity 应用程序来提供此电子数据展示服务。当需要将信息从英国转移到都柏林以处理一个敏感的法律案件时,Grant Thornton 意识到,他们需要一种更简单、更安全的方式来允许法律团队和法院官员访问 Relativity 应用程序。

Grant Thornton 数字化风险部门合伙人 Mike Harris 表示:“我们使用的技术确保我们的电子数据展示平台具备与云端解决方案同样的安全性。然而,在满足不同群体的不同访问要求方面,我们面临着一系列挑战。在客户对 GDPR 日益关注的情况下,我们必须解决这个问题。”

当时,该企业管理着多个 VPN,并使用 HTTPS 来满足不同的访问要求。但是,它很难决定具体对象的具体访问权限,也难以轻松解除为用户调配的权限。此外,其客户的工作人员可能从不同的地点通过不同类型的连接(如家用宽带网络、共享图书馆环境和无线网络)访问电子数据展示平台。针对这些情况,该企业默认采用的访问控制方法是将 IP 地址允许列表与用户名和密码结合使用。然而,对于 IP 地址往往频繁发生变动的移动网络来说,这种方法并不奏效。

随着 Grant Thornton 承接的客户量增加,它需要设法减少满足一系列访问需求所造成的管理开销,同时确保提供出色的安全性和无缝的客户体验。

利用第三方技术专业知识

Grant Thornton 求助于 CTI Global,这是一家国际 IT 服务公司,也是 Akamai 的合作伙伴。它的主要要求是:与能够提供托管在爱尔兰辖区内的解决方案的单独一家供应商合作。

CTI Global 与 Grant Thornton 紧密合作,开发了一套完整的应用程序交付技术解决方案。该解决方案包括私有云基础架构、服务器、存储、防火墙、互联网连接,以及从都柏林数据中心到 Grant Thornton 办事处的专用连接和 Akamai Enterprise Application Access。

“我们正在努力预测客户与身份验证有关的要求,以及他们可能希望如何与我们的电子数据展示系统进行互动。建设这种类型的基础架构并不是我们的日常工作,因此我们依赖于合作伙伴的响应能力和主动性。“CTI Global 很快就提出了一种面向未来的解决方案,可在所有想要利用此服务的 Grant Thornton 业务地点满足客户的各种访问和规模要求,这给我们留下了深刻的印象。”Harris 说道。

Enterprise Application Access 是一种易于部署的服务,可在无需访问网络的前提下,实现对应用程序的安全、高性能访问,同时降低应用程序交付风险、成本和复杂性。它可以针对跨多个位置的应用程序提供安全身份、单点登录、多重身份验证和监控功能。

“我们是安全方面的专家,因为我们经营着自己的网络安全咨询业务。我们深知,Akamai 是业内的优秀公司,而 Enterprise Application Access 的广泛功能给我们留下了深刻的印象。它支持审核和日志记录以及多种身份验证方法,并且可无缝集成到我们更大的品牌解决方案中,而其他解决方案无法做到这一点。”Harris 继续说道。

克服对 VPN 的高度依赖性

Grant Thornton 发现整套解决方案十分容易管理。虽然它仍要使用一个 VPN 来访问后端基础架构,但大大减少了必须管理的 VPN 数量。“我们之前在客户解决方案中使用了点对点 VPN,而现在已经消除了这方面的开销。现在,我们的团队可以完全专注于客户问题和服务交付。”Harris 说道。

此外,Grant Thornton 过去要投入大量时间管理和保证 Relativity 电子数据展示应用程序的用户访问,如今,他们也将这一时间减少了三分之一。“我们的很多技术都要在法庭上使用,因此必须 100% 无故障运行。过去,我们要花费大量的时间来确保用户访问,比如解决因 IP 地址改变而造成用户无法正常访问的问题。如今,我们的客户获得了更顺畅的体验,接到的客户求助电话明显减少。”Harris 说道。

这是 Grant Thornton 及其客户实现的双赢,同时,这一解决方案代表了该企业在安全性方面的又一进步。“我们的解决方案正越来越多地集成到客户的企业环境中,因此,我们正朝着 Zero Trust 模型的方向发展。我们知道,Akamai 可以帮助我们完成这一历程。”Harris 总结道。

关于 Grant Thornton Ireland

Grant Thornton 是爱尔兰业务发展速度迅猛的一家专业服务公司。我们在爱尔兰有 7 个办事处,拥有超过 1,450 名员工,在全球 140 多个国家/地区拥有 56,000 名员工,能为您提供本地知识、全国专业技术和全球化业务,帮助您和您的企业取得成功 - 无论您位于何处。我们提供能解决各种业务难题的解决方案。客户之所以选择我们,是因为我们可以提供他们所需的广泛金融和商业服务,并以创新的方式和始终如一的高标准提供这些服务。Grant Thornton 致力于建立长期关系。


相关客户案例

Security

KKLab

KKLab introduces Akamai's Zero Trust solution, combining flexibility and protection for both internal and external networks.
Read More
Security

Intuit

Intuit keeps TurboTax, QuickBooks, and Mint available and secure year-round with Akamai.
Read More
Security

Suntory Business Systems

Akamai Technical Advisory Service (TAS) supports and resolves massive Website Analysis and Improvement
Read More

Akamai has acquired Guardicore to extend its Zero Trust solutions and help stop ransomware. Read more

Grant Thornton

The international business advisor dramatically reduced the number of VPNs and use of HTTPS via a seamless Akamai integration

"We were impressed with the breadth of functionality in Enterprise Application Access. It supports auditing and logging, and multiple authentication methods, and works as a seamless part of our larger branded solution, which other solutions couldn’t accommodate."

Mike Harris, Partner, Digital Risk, Grant Thornton

Grant Thornton is a global professional services network of independent assurance, tax, and advisory firms. The company has a strong focus on quality and delivers insights to help organisations navigate today’s volatile markets. Grant Thornton Ireland is the country’s fastest-growing professional services firm. It has 53 partners and employs more than 1,450 people, with a global network of some 56,000 people who are part of independent accounting and consulting member firms in over 140 countries.

In recent years, this professional services organisation has evolved its service delivery model in response to changing client needs. This culminated in a program that helps clients create strategies around getting their employees back to work and assisting with enhanced digital processes. To that end, it calls upon more technology and cloud-based services — such as an electronic discovery (eDiscovery) platform — to support its services. As it has increased the number of technology solutions it offers, the firm has become more concerned about security and the clients’ online experiences.

Challenges Enabling a Range of Secure Access Needs

As the largest eDiscovery provider in Ireland, Grant Thornton offers computer forensic and eDiscovery solutions to help clients address the challenges of managing the proliferation of electronic data in often complex investigation, litigation, and regulatory matters. The organisation helps clients drill down to the most critical information and determines the best approach for identifying, collecting, reviewing, and producing electronic data, using robust and repeatable processes that hold up to court scrutiny.

The organisation enables this eDiscovery with a Relativity application it hosts in its data centres in Ireland. When the need arose to move information out of the UK and hold it in Dublin for a sensitive legal case, Grant Thornton it needed an easier and more secure way to grant legal teams and court officials access to the Relativity application.

According to Mike Harris, Partner, Digital Risk for Grant Thornton, "The technologies we use ensure our eDiscovery platform is at least as secure as a cloud solution. However, we faced challenges accommodating different access requirements for different cohorts. It was critical we address this with growing client concerns around GDPR."

At the time, the organisation was managing multiple VPNs and using HTTPS to enable different access requirements. However, it struggled to determine who could access what and to easily deprovision users. Moreover, its clients’ staff members could be accessing the eDiscovery platform from various locations over different connection types — home broadband, shared library environments, and wireless, for example. For those situations, IP address allow listing combined with username and password was the default access control method. However, this didn’t work for mobile networks that tend to change IP addresses frequently.

As Grant Thornton took on more clients, it needed a way to reduce the management overhead of supporting a range of access needs while ensuring industry-leading security and a seamless client experience.

Calling Upon Third-Party Technology Expertise

Grant Thornton turned to CTI Global, an international IT services company and Akamai partner. Its key requirements were working with a single vendor that could provide a solution hosted in the Irish jurisdiction.

Working closely with Grant Thornton, CTI Global developed a full technology solution for application delivery. The solution encompassed private cloud infrastructure, servers, storage, firewalls, internet connectivity, private connectivity from a Dublin data centre to Grant Thornton offices, and Akamai Enterprise Application Access.

"We are trying to anticipate client requirements around authentication and how they might want to interact with our eDiscovery system. Building this type of infrastructure is not our day job, so we rely on our partners to be responsive and proactive. We were impressed that CTI Global quickly came up with a future-proof solution that will support the various access and scale requirements of our clients — across all Grant Thornton locations that want to take advantage of this," says Harris.

Enterprise Application Access is an easy-to-deploy service that delivers secure, high-performance access to applications, bypassing the need for network access while reducing application delivery risk, cost, and complexity. It provides secure identity, single sign-on, multi-factor authentication, and monitoring capabilities for applications across multiple locations.

"We are experts in security as we run our own cybersecurity consulting practice. We are well aware of Akamai as an industry leader and were impressed with the breadth of functionality in Enterprise Application Access. It supports auditing and logging, and multiple authentication methods, and works as a seamless part of our larger branded solution, which other solutions couldn’t accommodate," continues Harris.

Overcoming a High Dependency on VPNs

Grant Thornton has found the full solution easy to manage. While it still uses one VPN for access to back-end infrastructure, it dramatically reduced the number of VPNs it must manage. "We previously used point-to-point VPNs for client solutions, and the overhead of that has been eliminated. Now our team can focus completely on client issues and service delivery," says Harris.

Moreover, Grant Thornton has eliminated about one-third of the time it used to dedicate to managing and ensuring user access to its Relativity application for eDiscovery. "Much of our technology is used in court, so it must work without fail 100% of the time. We spent a disproportionate amount of time ensuring user access, such as when it was lost due to change of IP address. Our clients now enjoy a smoother experience, and we no longer get calls at all hours," says Harris.

While a big win for Grant Thornton and its clients, this solution represents another step in the organisation’s evolution when it comes to security. "Our solution is increasingly being integrated into our clients’ corporate environments, so we are moving in the direction of a Zero Trust model. We know Akamai can help us on that journey," concludes Harris.

About Grant Thornton Ireland

Grant Thornton is Ireland’s fastest-growing professional services firm. With over 1,450 people in seven offices across Ireland and 56,000 located in over 140 countries around the world, we bring you the local knowledge, national expertise, and global presence to help you and your business succeed — wherever you’re located. We deliver solutions to all business challenges. Clients choose us because the breadth of financial and business services they need is available, delivered innovatively and always to the highest standards. At Grant Thornton, we are committed to long-term relationships.


Related Customer Stories

Enterprise Application Access

Doshisha University

Akamai helps Doshisha University quickly configure remote work and adopt zero trust security best practices globally.
Read More
Enterprise Application Access

Skylark Group

Skylark Group helps restaurant employees focus on great customer service by simplifying application access with Akamai.
Read More
Edge DNS

Microgame

Microgame delivers speedy, secure online gambling and betting sites with Akamai and Criticalcase
Read More