Akamai 收购 Guardicore 以拓展 Zero Trust 解决方案,从而更好地帮助客户抵御勒索软件攻击。 阅读全文

Blue Code Hero Background

开拓家具电商购物新方式

Mobly 借助 Akamai 产品打造激动人心的数字体验,吸引购物者在家购物和到店购物。

通过全渠道购物赢得客户

Mobly 的创始人雄心勃勃地将家具电商购物体验带到巴西,但他们首先需要应对一些重大挑战,包括在偏远地区也能快速加载包含大量图片的页面、阻止网络安全攻击以及降低基础架构成本。Akamai 安全内容交付网络的服务器遍布全国各地,靠近客户所在位置,恰好满足了他们的需求。结果这家电商蓬勃发展,创始人的愿景得以实现,并且几年后,Mobly 还增设了实体店。如今,巴西的家具购物者可以享受涵盖其应用程序、网站和实体店的全渠道购物体验。新颖的数字体验(例如通过增强现实技术查看家具在客厅中的摆放效果、在门店中扫描二维码以查看仅限线上购买的商品)让客户倍感满意,也吸引了很多回头客。

确保世界各地的访问者都能快速加载网站

2011 年,三位在国外留学期间相识相知的巴西人提出了一个大胆想法 - 在网上开一个家具和装饰品商店。信息安全基础架构主管 João Batista 说:“当时,投资者对这个想法充满怀疑,他们觉得,人们不会愿意坐在沙发上选购沙发。”但这些创始人坚持自己的信念。毕竟,事实已经证明了消费者喜欢在线购买电子产品和其他大件商品的便利性。

不过与电视相比,消费者对沙发具有更明显的私人喜好。为了赢得客户,Mobly 需要自始至终提供卓越体验。以最低标准来看,这意味着让每一位购物者都需要能查看大量图片并获得快速的页面加载时间。更进一步来说,需要让客户拥有一般实体店无法提供的那种激动人心的体验。例如,客户可以借助增强现实技术了解商品在自家客厅中的实际摆放效果。João 说:“为了给所有客户提供卓越体验,包括那些身处偏远地区的客户,我们需要将网店托管在靠近他们的服务器上。否则,页面加载时间将过于漫长,刚刚开始接触家具电商购物的客户可能会放弃这种渠道,转而到竞争对手的实体店购物。

线下购物与线上购物的融合

在 Akamai 的帮助下,Mobly 创始人实现了自己的愿景。João 说:“Akamai 内容交付网络拥有遍布全国的庞大服务器网络,有效解决了我们的问题。”由于不必自行建立数据中心,Mobly 的基础架构成本大幅降低,对于一家刚刚起步的公司来说,这一点非常重要。

如今,Mobly 的电商业务蓬勃发展,上架的商品数量多达 20 万种。仅在 2021 年第一季度,就有 100 多万名活跃客户提交了超过 32.7 万笔订单。João 说:“很有意思的一件事情是,我们现在最畅销的商品是沙发。”2019 年,该公司增设第一家实体店。如今,Mobly 有 11 家实体店,还有更多实体店在筹建中。

这家公司凭借涵盖网站、移动应用程序和实体店的丰富购物体验脱颖而出。“我们将优秀的电商购物体验与实体店购物体验相融合,打造出比单一购物渠道更出色的体验,”João 说道。例如,前往实体店的客户可以通过扫描二维码查看当前没有库存的商品。使用 Mobly 应用程序在家购物的客户可以利用增强现实技术,只要将手机对准某个空间,然后就能查看不同构造的沙发摆放在那里的实际效果。如果他们喜欢朋友家里的茶几,也可以拍下来并到 Mobly 寻找类似的商品。

 


“如果没有 Akamai,我们不可能提供全渠道购物体验。增强现实之类的体验要耗用大量带宽,因此我们必须通过距离客户非常近的边缘服务器提供这些体验。”

Mobly 信息安全基础架构主管 João Batista

发生意外时的业务敏捷性

在新冠疫情爆发之时,Mobly 的电商模式为这家公司提供了极大的助益。该公司有 85% 的收入来自电商销售,在巴西家具公司中,这样的比例十分可观。João 说:“突然转为在家办公的人们想要更好的椅子和更令人愉悦的装饰品,线上购物可以让他们在保持安全的同时升级工作空间。我们不必经历数字化转型之旅,因为我们是一家原生数字化企业。”

借助 Akamai,Mobly 轻松处理了一年内电商销售量激增 57% 的局面,那段时间里的利润增长了 55%。João 说:“在疫情期间,我们不仅吸引了新客户,也看到了越来越多的回头客 - 不论是在网店中,还是在重张开业后的实体店中。”优质产品与卓越体验共同造就忠实客户

防止停机并保护客户数据安全

为了维护客户信任、遵守巴西数据隐私法规,并防范可能造成业务中断的攻击,Mobly 将网络安全视为头等大事。João 估计,停机成本约为每小时 50 万巴西雷亚尔(相当于 97,000 美元)。他说:“Akamai 会自动拦截可疑流量,而且允许我们灵活控制规则。”他的团队创建了数千条自定义规则。例如,有些规则会阻止平台各部分之间的异常通信,这类通信往往是黑客活动的标志。还有一些规则会在一天中特定时间段的流量偏离标准时触发警报,因为这种异常流量也属于危险信号。

 


“Akamai 每分钟可阻止 12 万个恶意请求,有助于保持我们的服务器正常运行并保护敏感信息。”

Mobly 信息安全基础架构主管 João Batista

 

João 说:“Akamai 每分钟可阻止 12 万个恶意请求, 有助于保持我们的服务器正常运行并保护敏感信息。我们不断更新软件,Akamai 还能自动发现新的 API,从而帮助我们及时更新保护规则。我简直不知道,如果没有 Akamai,我们该怎么办。”

João 还使用 Akamai 解决方案来保护托管在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 上的业务应用程序。João 说:“Akamai 和 AWS 为我们提供了非常有效的网络威胁防御能力。例如,包括攻击者在内的任何人都无法直接访问我们托管于互联网中的 AWS 基础架构,而是必须经过 Akamai,这样就可以清除攻击。”

家具业务迈向美好未来

2021 年 2 月,在三位大学好友提出开创性的商业计划十年之后,Mobly 进行了首次公开募股。目前,João 的团队正在为进一步的增长做准备。João 说:“我们的研究表明,电商购物在巴西所有购物中所占百分比将同比增加二倍,从 5% 增加到 15% 以上。”他们为把握这样的可观增长机会制定了计划,其中的举措包括创新的购物体验、库存品的快速配送选项以及出色的售后体验。João 说:“我们相信,在 Akamai 的支持下,我们必定能不断取得发展,并继续提供出色的体验。”未来犹如精致的 玻璃台面桌一般闪亮

关于 Mobly

Mobly 是一家专注于电子商务的科技公司,由 Victor Noda、Marcelo Marques 和 Mario Fernandes 于 2011 年创立。该公司通过其网站、移动应用程序和遍布巴西的实体店供应 20 万种家具和装饰品。2021 年,Mobly 完成首次公开募股(股票代码为 MBLY3)。 https://www.mobly.com.br/

相关客户案例

Security

Suntory Business Systems

Read More
Retail and Consumer Goods

SINET

Read More
Retail and Consumer Goods

EMC

Read More

Akamai has acquired Guardicore to extend its Zero Trust solutions and help stop ransomware. Read more

Trailblazing a New Way for Online Furniture Shopping

Mobly draws in shoppers with exciting digital experiences — at home and in stores — with Akamai.

Omnichannel shopping wins customers

Mobly’s founders were excited to bring online furniture shopping to Brazil, but needed to overcome some big challenges first, including loading image-heavy pages quickly even in remote areas, blocking cybersecurity attacks, and keeping infrastructure costs down. They found the answer in Akamai’s secure content delivery network, with servers located across the country, near customers. The online store thrived, validating the founders’ vision, and years later Mobly added brick-and-mortar stores. Today, Brazil’s furniture shoppers enjoy an omnichannel shopping experience that spans its app, website, and stores. Novel digital experiences — like augmented reality to see how an item would look in one’s living room, and scanning QR codes in stores to view items only available online — delight customers and keep them coming back.

Making sure the website loads quickly in every corner of the world

In 2011, three Brazilian friends who met while studying abroad hatched a bold idea for an online store for furniture and decor. “At the time, investors were skeptical that people would buy a sofa without first sitting on it,” says João Batista, Head of Information Security Infrastructure. But the founders knew they were on to something. After all, consumers had already proved they liked the convenience of online shopping for electronics and other big-ticket items.

But a sofa is more personal than, say, a television. To win customers, Mobly would need to deliver an exceptional experience from beginning to end. At minimum, that meant lots of images and a fast page loading time for every shopper. Even better would be exciting experiences not available in a typical brick-and-mortar store — such as augmented reality to see how an item would look in the customer’s own living room. “To make it work for all customers, even those in remote areas, we’d need to host the online store on servers located close to them,” João says. “Otherwise, pages would take too long to load, and customers new to online furniture shopping might give up and go to a competitor’s brick-and-mortar store."

Marrying in-person and online shopping

Mobly’s founders made their vision come true with Akamai. “Akamai’s content delivery network gave us our answer because of its huge network of servers throughout the country,” João says. Not having to build a data center also kept infrastructure costs down, which was important for the fledgling company.

Today, Mobly has a thriving online business showcasing 200,000 products. More than one million active customers placed more than 327,000 orders in the first quarter of 2021 alone. “Ironically, sofas are now our best-selling products,” João says. In 2019, the company added its first physical store. Today there are 11 Mobly stores, with more in the works.  

The company sets itself apart with a rich shopping experience that spans the website, mobile app, and physical stores. “We’re combining the best of digital and in-store shopping to create an experience better than either alone,” João says. For example, customers visiting a physical store can see products that aren’t currently in stock by scanning QR codes. Customers shopping from home with the Mobly app can use augmented reality to point their phones at a space and see how different sofa configurations would look there. If they like their friend’s coffee table, they can take a photo of it to see similar items from Mobly.

 


“We couldn’t deliver our omnichannel shopping experience without Akamai. Experiences like augmented reality use a lot of bandwidth, so they have to be delivered from edge servers very close to the customer.”

João Batista, Head of Information Security Infrastructure, Mobly

Business agility when the unexpected happens

Mobly’s digital business model saved the day during the COVID-19 pandemic. Eighty-five percent of the company’s revenue comes from online sales, an unusually large portion for Brazilian furniture companies. “People suddenly working from home wanted better chairs and more cheerful decor, and ordering online allowed them to upgrade their workspace while staying safe,” João says. “We didn't have to go through the digital transformation journey because we were born digital.”

Thanks to Akamai, Mobly easily handled a 57% surge in online sales in one year. Profits during that time jumped 55%. “Not only did we attract new customers during the pandemic, we’re also seeing more customers make repeat purchases — both online and in our physical stores as they re-open,” João says. Great products plus a great experience build loyalty.

Security to prevent downtime and protect customer data

Cybersecurity is a top priority for Mobly in order to maintain customer trust, comply with Brazil’s data privacy regulations, and prevent attacks that could interrupt the business. João estimates the cost of downtime at around R$500,000 (US$97,000) per hour. “Akamai automatically blocks suspicious traffic, giving us flexible control over the rules,” he says. His team has created thousands of customized rules. For example, some block unusual communications between parts of the platform, a sign of hacker activity. Other rules trigger alerts when traffic volume deviates from the norm for that time of day, another warning sign.

 


“Akamai blocks 120,000 malicious requests each minute, helping to keep our servers up and protect sensitive information.”

João Batista, Head of Information Security Infrastructure, Mobly

 

“Akamai blocks 120,000 malicious requests each minute, helping to keep our servers up and protect sensitive information,” João says. “We’re constantly updating our software, and Akamai also automatically discovers new APIs so we can keep our protection rules up to date. I don’t know how we’d do that without Akamai.”

João also uses Akamai solutions to protect business applications hosted on Amazon Web Services (AWS). “Akamai and AWS give us a very effective defense against cyberthreats,” João says. “For example, nobody, including attackers, can get to our AWS infrastructure over the internet. They need to go through Akamai, which weeds out attacks.”

Furnishing the future

In February 2021, a decade after the three college friends came up with their trailblazing business plan, Mobly made its initial public offering. Now João’s team is getting ready for more growth. “Our research shows that online shopping as a percent of all shopping in Brazil is set to triple year over year, from 5% to more than 15%,” João says. Plans to capture a big chunk of that growth include new, innovative shopping experiences, expedited shipping options for in-stock products, and a superb after-sales experience. “With Akamai, we know we can continue delivering a great experience as we keep growing,” says João. The future looks as shiny as a polished glass-topped table.

About Mobly

Founded in 2011 by Victor Noda, Marcelo Marques, and Mario Fernandes, Mobly is a technology company focused on e-commerce. The company offers 200,000 furniture and decorative items through its website, mobile app, and physical stores located throughout Brazil. In 2021, Mobly celebrated its IPO, under the symbol MBLY3.  https://www.mobly.com.br/

Related Customer Stories

Retail and Consumer Goods

iCanvas

Read More
Bot Manager

Yatra offers a top search experience using Akamai

Read More
Retail and Consumer Goods

Enigmo

Read More