Akamai 将收购 Guardicore 以扩展其零信任解决方案并帮助阻止勒索软件。 阅读全文

台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司

台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司与 Akamai 合作,以提高互联网速度和加强 DDoS 防御

由于网络攻击和计算机病毒每天都在变化,台中银行在过去几年中设定了几个主要目标,旨在加强信息安全防御和预警系统。

Peng Zhenqian,台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司信息办公室经理

台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司成立于 1995 年,是台湾地区第 17 家证券投资信托公司。它的产品包括股票基金、本货市场基金和海外股票基金。20 多年来,该公司围绕稳定和可靠的战略发展业务。通过精心开发具有稳定投资率的金融产品,基金的表现跻身业内最佳之列。台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司目前正在积极利用金融技术,通过更多渠道为大众投资者提供迅捷和创新的投资服务。

该公司的投资与信息部信息办公室经理 Peng Zhenqian 表示,近年来,该公司围绕加强信息安全防御和信息安全预警系统制定了一些目标,以应对网络攻击和计算机病毒的迅速变化。

首先,公司致力于提高内部安全性。通过改善内部安全性,投资部门每天可以安全地接收和存储大量研究报告和财务信息,与此同时,仍允许交易员接收实时信息,以确保畅通无阻地掌握市场动态。其次,公司致力于提高外部安全性。通过改善外部安全性,投资者能够通过交易平台完成认购、赎回或转换基金等操作,而不必担心黑客阻止服务或窃取个人信息。

为了实现这两个目标,台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司知道,他们需要引入 Web 应用程序防火墙 (WAF) 和内容交付网络 (CDN) 服务。这些服务将有效抵御 DDoS 攻击并加快网页速度。经过仔细评估,该公司决定实施 Akamai 解决方案,并于 2020 年 5 月正式部署了该解决方案。

降低流量净化预算

Peng Zhenqian 提到,在过去的几年中,发生了许多著名的 DDoS 勒索事件。尤其值得注意的是,金融行业成为黑客攻击的第一大目标,投资和信贷公司也属于这一行业。台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司一直以来都将避免网站停机视为头等大事,因为在现代世界,金融交易的主要渠道就是网络。无论是赎回基金的投资者、投资研究部门中接收信息的员工,还是针对一天中的市场变化平衡基金操作的基金经理,所有这些人都依赖于互联网。如果网络的某个区域出现故障,则所有这些操作都会受到影响。

该公司最初在几年前部署了 WAF 和 CDN 服务,以防止发生此类停机。最初,该公司考虑过构建内部 WAF 解决方案。该解决方案将花费大量时间和资源来维护和更新,因此,该公司决定投资购买专业供应商的服务。供应商对全球攻击趋势的了解以及自动规则调整算法有助于台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司减轻维护负担。

Peng Zhenqian 和信息部门的同事仍然对现有的 WAF 服务感到担忧。WAF 服务通常根据攻击量计费。如果客户选择 1 Gbps 解决方案,则有一天可能会遇到超过 1 Gbps 的攻击流量。服务提供商将要求客户购买额外的容量,如果客户拒绝,则等同于完全没有防御。但是,额外容量的购买价格昂贵,而且一旦客户增加了容量,便几乎无法取消退款。例如,假设某个客户购买了 1 Gbps 解决方案,但是,为了抵御攻击,其容量增加到了 5 Gbps。未来将向客户收取 5 Gbps 的费用,这将逐渐增加财务负担。

“DDoS 是一种不时发生的攻击,其流量总是不规则且不可预测的。”Peng Zhenqian 说道。因此,无论客户购买多少容量(1 Gbps、5 Gbps、10 Gbps 或更高),都不足以给客户带来稳定感。因此,当现有 WAF 合同到期时,台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司决定趁机寻找更合适的解决方案。该公司选择了 WAF、Site Shield、DSA (CDN) 和 Akamai 提供的其他服务。

该公司之所以选择 Akamai,是因为通过代理商合作伙伴 Sysage Technology,该公司可以选择一项收费方案,在该方案中,将根据产生的流量收取费用。换句话说,无论 DDoS 攻击产生的是 5 Gbps、10 Gbps 乃至 100 Gbps 的流量,该公司只需要为净化的流量付费。这有助于台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司削减信息安全预算中不必要的 IT 支出。

隐藏 IP 地址以减少黑客攻击

2019 年,主管机关举行了跨境网络攻防演习。在所有参与者中,Akamai WAP 平台表现良好,并成功通过了金融行业要求的 3Gbps 攻击流量测试。这增加了台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司对于购买 Akamai 服务的信心。

Akamai 维护着全球大型云互联网平台,该平台每天承载着大量 Web 流量。这使 Akamai 能够使用大数据分析来有效识别各种威胁,并帮助台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司在 DDoS 防护、Web 安全性和速度之间取得更好的平衡。最让 Peng Zhenqian 印象深刻的是,Akamai 提供了独特的 Site Shield 服务,这让防御效率更上一层楼。

大多数 WAF 和 CDN 服务都采用类似的代理运行模式。用户首先连接到 CDN 服务器,并且只有在检查确保流量干净之后,才将它们定向到应用程序源站。但问题在于,黑客通常会尝试绕过代理,并使用 IP 地址直接访问应用程序源站。台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司可以使用 Site Shield 服务隐藏其 IP 地址,并成功摆脱黑客的检测范围,从而大大降低了遭到攻击的可能性。

在五月份部署之前,该公司启动了为期两个月的概念验证 (POC)。在此阶段,Sysage Technology 与经销商合作伙伴合作,帮助台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司调整 WAF 管理规则,从而帮助 Akamai WAF 成功通过了第三方攻击和渗透团队的严格测试。Akamai 服务上线后,Sysage Technology 也与经销商合作伙伴合作提供季度策略审查和攻击趋势分析,以帮助确保公司网站保持高水平的性能和防护。这让信息部门倍感安心。

通过引入 Akamai 解决方案,台中银证券投资信托股份有限公司网站的性能得到了提升,DDoS 防护和黑客防御也得到了加强。这使大众投资者、投资研究人员、基金经理以及其他内部和外部用户能够获得最优质的体验,从而轻松且安心地开展在线活动。


相关客户案例

Security

Intuit

Read More
Security

Suntory Business Systems

Read More
Security

BurdaForward

Read More

Akamai has acquired Guardicore to extend its Zero Trust solutions and help stop ransomware. Read more

Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust Co., Ltd.

Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust works with Akamai to strengthen internet speed and DDoS defense

With cyberattacks and computer viruses changing daily, Taichung Bank has set several major goals over the past several years to strengthen information security defense and early warning systems.

Peng Zhenqian, Information Office Manager, Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust Co., Ltd.

Founded in 1995, Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust was established as the 17th domestic securities investment trust company. Its products include stock funds, domestic money market funds, and overseas stock funds. For more than 20 years, the company has built its business around a strategy of steadiness and reliability. By carefully developing financial products with a stable investment rate, the fund performance ranks among the best in the industry. Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust now actively uses financial technology to provide instant and innovative investment services across more channels to the investing public.

Peng Zhenqian, manager of the Information Office for the company’s Investment and Information Division, said that in recent years, the company has set several goals around strengthening information security defenses and information security early warning systems to counter the rapid changes in cyberattacks and computer viruses.

First, the company aims to improve internal security. Improving internal security will allow the investment department to safely receive and store a large number of research reports and financial information every day, while still allowing traders to receive real-time information for smooth and unimpeded market access. Second, the company aims to improve external security. Improving external security will allow investors to complete actions such as subscribing, redeeming, or converting funds through the trading platform, without needing to worry about hackers blocking service or stealing personal information.

To achieve these two goals, Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust knew that it needed to introduce Web Application Firewall (WAF) and Content Delivery Network (CDN) services. These services would effectively prevent DDoS attacks and speed up web pages. After careful evaluation, the company decided to implement the Akamai solution, officially rolling it out in May 2020.

Cutting budget for traffic scrubbing

Peng Zhenqian mentioned that over the past several years, numerous notable DDoS ransom incidents have occurred. In particular, the financial industry is the number one target by hackers, with investment and credit companies also falling under this umbrella. Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust has always considered avoiding website downtime to be a top priority, as financial transactions are largely conducted over networks in modern times. Whether it’s investors redeeming funds, employees in the investment research department receiving information, or fund managers balancing funds for market changes through the day, all of these people rely upon the internet. If one area of the network goes down, then all of these actions are affected.

The company initially deployed WAF and CDN services several years ago to prevent this downtime from occurring. At first, the company thought about building an in-house WAF solution. This solution would take a great deal of time and resources to maintain and update, so it decided to invest in the services of a professional vendor instead. Vendors’ knowledge of global attack trends, as well as automated rule-adjustment algorithms, help Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust reduce the burden of maintenance.

Peng Zhenqian and colleagues in the Information Department were still concerned about the existing WAF service. WAF services are generally billed according to the attack volume. If a customer chooses a 1 Gbps solution, it might one day encounter more than 1 Gbps of attack traffic. The service provider will ask the customer to purchase additional volume, and if the customer refuses, it will be the same as having no defenses at all. But purchasing additional volume is expensive, and once a customer increases its volume, it’s nearly impossible to roll back. For instance, say that a customer purchases a 1 Gbps solution, but then to resist an attack, the volume is increased to 5 Gbps. The customer will be billed for 5 Gbps in the future, which will gradually increase financial burden.

"DDoS is a sporadic attack, and the traffic is always irregular and unpredictable," said Peng Zhenqian. Therefore, no matter how much volume a customer purchases—1 Gbps, 5 Gbps, 10 Gbps, or higher—it will never be enough to bring a sense of stability. Therefore, when the existing WAF contract expired, Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust decided to take the opportunity to find a better fitting solution. The company chose WAF, Site Shield, DSA (CDN), and other services provided by Akamai.

The company selected Akamai because through agency partner Sysage Technology, the company can work with a plan where it is billed for the amount of traffic generated. In other words, no matter whether the DDoS attack generates 5 Gbps, 10 Gbps or even 100 Gbps of traffic, the company only needs to pay for the amount of scrubbed traffic. This helps Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust cut its information security budget of unnecessary IT expenditures.

Hide IP addresses to reduce hacker attacks

In 2019, the competent authority held a cross-border network attack and defense exercise. Among all participants, the Akamai WAP platform performed well and successfully passed the 3Gbps attack traffic test that was demanded by the financial industry. This increased the confidence of Taichung Bank Investment Trust in purchasing Akamai.

Akamai maintains the world’s largest cloud Internet platform, which carries huge volumes of web traffic every day. This gives Akamai the ability to use big data analysis to effectively identify various threats and to help Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust improve the balance between DDoS protection, web security, and speed. What impressed Peng Zhenqian most is that Akamai provides a unique Site Shield service, which adds an additional layer of defense efficiency.

Most WAF and CDN services all adopt a similar proxy mode of operation. Users connect to the CDN Server first, and only after checking that the traffic is clean will they be directed to the application origin. But the problem is that hackers usually try to bypass the proxy and use the IP address to reach the application origin directly. Using the Site Shield service, Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust can hide its IP address and successfully escape the hacker's scope of detection, thereby greatly reducing the chance of being attacked.

Before rollout in May, Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust launched a two-month proof of concept (POC). During this stage, Sysage Technology worked with dealer partners to help Taichung Bank Investment Trust adjust the WAF management rules to help Akamai WAF successfully pass the rigorous testing of a third-party attack and penetration team. After the Akamai service went online, Sysage Technology also worked with reseller partners to deliver a quarterly policy review and attack trend analysis to help ensure the company website maintain a high level of performance and protection. This helped the information office department feel at ease.

The introduction of Akamai solutions speeds up performance of the Taichung Bank Securities Investment Trust website, while also strengthening DDoS protection and hacking prevention. This allows public investors, investment researchers, fund managers, and other internal and external users to get the best quality experience to carry out online activities with ease and peace of mind.


Related Customer Stories

Download Delivery

ASUS

Read More
Public Sector

Douglas Omaha Technology Commission | Akamai

Read More
Enterprise Threat Protector

Adastria Quickly and Proactively Secures Its Workforce with Enterprise Threat Protector

Read More