为新生代商业领袖提供快速、可靠的报告

Business Standard 使用丰富的动态内容来推动增加数字化订阅量,并依靠 Akamai 解决方案来实现卓越的性能。

“在 Akamai 的帮助下,我们的网站性能实现了显著提升,这使我们能够在这个高度注重交付速度的行业中更好地展开竞争。如今,在提供让客户满意的优质体验方面,我们比竞争对手要更有优势。”

Business Standard 数字化业务主管 Shailendra Kalelkar

数字化时代的报纸

Business Standard 是印度首批提供付费数字化订阅的主要报纸之一,他们的内容提供可靠而深刻的商业分析,这对于付费用户具有极大的吸引力。但是,随着深度报纸文章越来越多地被社交媒体等数字化内容所取代,出版商需要找到新的方法来扩大读者群 - 借助于大量快速、动态的内容。Akamai 帮助他们实现了这一目标。

成为新一代业务领导者的可靠资讯来源,且极具吸引力

在印度,很少有商业刊物比 Business Standard 更值得信赖。该报纸拥有 45 年的悠久历史,以准确、可靠的报道著称 - 忠实读者遍布印度全国的 1000 个城市。凭借其在独立新闻报道领域的良好声誉,Business Standard 是首批通过付费订阅服务提供在线付费内容的商业出版物之一。虽然该出版商的大部分业务仍采用印刷发行,但其数字化读者群一直在稳步增长,每月拥有 1500 万的非重复访客。

对于 Business Standard 来说,开发新的读者是一项持续的挑战 - 尤其是在这个日益被社交媒体所主导的世界里。在印度及世界各地,越来越多的人从 Twitter、Facebook、TikTok 和 WhatsApp 等来源获取新闻和信息。在如此激烈的竞争环境下,传统新闻业必须实现发展 - 同时保持其在客观性和公信力方面的独特价值。

“如何吸引年轻读者并逐渐壮大我们的读者群,这是 Business Standard 当下面临的一个严峻挑战”Business Standard 数字化业务主管 Shailendra Kalelkar 表示。“为了迎合他们的需求,我们必须在数字化领域重塑自我,并发掘新的方式来赢得这部分读者的青睐。”

Kalelkar 负责推动数字化业务发展,帮助该报纸在线吸引新的读者和付费用户。他选择了与印度著名的商学院(即 B-schools)合作,为学生提供自由访问 Business Standard 在线内容的机会,此举的目的是赢得新一代业务领导者的青睐。数以千计的学生通过每日商业新闻以及包含学术研究、案例研究和最佳做法的档案来辅助学习,这些资源全部免费提供。

Business Standard 还在其 Web 和移动端的数字版内容中加入了视频、图片、播客和投票等,使其内容变得更加丰富和动态,以此来吸引新的读者。对于希望了解突发新闻及深入观点,并且获得独特体验的各年龄段读者来说,这一点都具有极大的吸引力 - 让他们更加愿意为此付费。随着 Business Standard 将越来越多的内容设为付费内容,它正在吸引许多挑剔的读者购买付费订阅服务。

快速、动态的新闻体验可提升读者数量和搜索排名

Business Standard 的数字版刊物越来越受欢迎,但不断增长的流量也对基础架构提出了更高的要求 - 从某种程度上来说,它们的性能已经达到了临界水平。对于读者来说,这意味着网站体验会在一些关键时刻变差,比如在 Business Standard 报道极端天气或板球世界杯这类突发新闻或高曝光度事件时。

“我们的源站服务器无法灵活应对突发的流量高峰,这有时会造成我们的网站对读者响应迟缓,”Business Standard 首席 IT 系统经理 Gururaj Patil 说。“为了提供更好的客户体验,我们需要投资于内容交付网络 (CDN),为此我们广泛征求意见,而几乎所有帮忙出谋划策的人都将 Akamai 推崇为市场上的佼佼者。”

为了提供优质的客户体验,Business Standard 决定采用优质的 CDN,并利用 Akamai 的解决方案分载来自其源站服务器的静态和动态内容。该公司购买了 Akamai 的 Dynamic Site Accelerator,以便更迅速地交付动态内容,包括股票行情、实时博文和流媒体视频元素。该公司还注册了 Akamai Download Delivery,为图片和视频等静态内容提供支持,这对于为当今高度注重视觉效果的消费者打造引人入胜的体验意义重大。

Business Standard 资深系统经理 Prafulla Patil 表示:“Akamai 是能支持我们在免费内容与付费数字订阅服务之间实现无缝体验的少有 CDN 提供商之一。这种解决方案有着出色的效率和效果,可以满足两类不同的受众群体,也能保证我们将某些内容稳妥地置于付费墙之后。”

“在 Akamai 的帮助下,我们的网站性能实现了显著提升,这使我们能够在这个高度注重交付速度的行业中更好地展开竞争,”Kalelkar 表示。“如今,在提供让客户满意的优质体验方面,我们比竞争对手要更有优势。”

通过提升性能,Business Standard 在 Google、Facebook 和 Apple 等搜索引擎和新闻聚合平台中的排名也得到了提升。由于这些平台聚合了整个互联网的内容,并将其呈现给读者,因此,它们更青睐于内容交付和页面加载速度较快的网站。这意味着 Business Standard 的文章更有可能被聚合平台选中,从而接触到更广泛的受众,为这家刊物吸引新的读者,进而建立公司的数字化收入管道。

面向未来的数字化刊物

现如今,Business Standard 可以全情投入到持续创新,努力为读者提供卓越的体验。“自从启用 Akamai 的解决方案之后,我们不再被性能和效率低下的问题所困扰,这让我们可以自由发挥创意,加速实施先前搁置的计划,”Kalelkar 说。 “Akamai 帮助我们推进了新项目,包括为商学院推出不同类型的付费内容和特色解决方案。”

例如,Business Standard 针对商学院学生开发了每周的互动测验,通过以既有吸引力又有个人奖励的形式提供内容 - 就像社交媒体网站那样 - 鼓励他们成为固定读者。该公司甚至与印度高等教育认证委员会建立了合作关系,探究将报纸内容纳入商学院课程,并让学生可以通过学习这些内容取得学分的可能性。

凭借这种创新思维,Business Standard 将赢得新一代商业领袖们的认同,也让年轻人愿意去阅读优质新闻报道。随着越来越多的读者看到该报纸付费内容的价值,这家公司对其报纸的数字化订阅量继续上升充满信心。在 Akamai 解决方案的帮助之下,该公司非常确信,即使读者人数不断增长和内容变得日益动态化,他们也可以持续提供卓越的体验。

“Akamai 提供了性能远超承诺的出色服务,”Patil 表示。“这帮助我们的业务更上一层楼。”

关于 Business Standard

Business Standard 是印度领先的商业报纸。该报纸于 1975 年 3 月 27 日在加尔各答首次出版,至今已有超过 45 年的悠久历史。网站的历史可以追溯到 1997 年 1 月,它是印度早期的数字化出版商之一。Business Standard 与其他报刊的不同之处(以及 45 年来始终坚守的原则)在于它对读者坚定的责任心和透明度,以及坚持成为一家真正独立的报刊组织的决心。

Business Standard 代表着强调准确性和公信力的报道;代表着知情、独立和公正的新闻评论;代表着植根于道德行为并以与读者的神圣纽带为宗旨的报刊内容。Business Standard 的所有记者都签署了行为准则,该准则可在其网站上查阅。由著名专栏创作者(即经济学家、专栏作家和观点作者)组成的撰稿人群体受到新生代和有识之士的推崇。撰稿人群由商界、政府(时任和现任)以及同行业内的精英人士组成。在这种得天独厚的商业资源组合(作家和内容)优势的推动下,Business Standard 成为了印度首批在数字化平台(于 2016 年 6 月 1 日推出)上设置读者付费服务的媒体之一。除了一份每日商业报纸(在 12 个大都市出版)和一个初具规模的网站,该品牌还出版印地语内容(在 6 个中心城市出版印地语报纸并建立网站)。


相关客户案例

Media and Entertainment

Adobe

Read More
Retail and Consumer Goods

IBM

Read More
Content Delivery - CDN

Airbnb

Read More

Fast, Credible Reporting for a New Generation of Business Leaders

Business Standard uses rich, dynamic content to drive digital subscriptions, relying on Akamai for industry-leading performance.

"With Akamai, we’ve seen a marked improvement in site performance — and that enables us to better compete in an industry where speed of delivery is crucial. We are far better equipped than our competitors to provide a premium experience that delights our customers."

Shailendra Kalelkar, Digital Business Head, Business Standard

Newspapers in a digital age

Business Standard was one of the first major newspapers in India to offer a premium digital subscription, and its credible, insightful business analysis is a powerful draw for paying subscribers. But as in-depth newspaper articles increasingly get edged out by bite-sized content such as social media, the publisher needed to find new ways to build readership — with lots of fast, dynamic content. Akamai has helped it achieve that goal.

Staying credible and compelling to the next generation of business leaders

Few business publications in India are more trusted than Business Standard. The 45-year-old newspaper is known for accurate, credible reporting — reaching loyal readers in 1,000 cities across the country. Trading on its strong reputation for independent journalism, Business Standard was one of the first business publications to provide premium online content through a paid subscription service. Though much of its business remains in print circulation, its digital readership has been growing steadily, with 15 million unique visitors every month.

Reaching new readers is a continuing challenge for Business Standard, especially in a world increasingly dominated by social media. In India and around the world, more and more people are getting their news and information from sources such as Twitter, Facebook, TikTok, and WhatsApp. To compete, traditional journalism must evolve — while maintaining its unique value of objectivity and credibility.

"One of Business Standard’s biggest challenges is appealing to younger readers and building our readership over time," says Shailendra Kalelkar, Digital Business Head at Business Standard. "To cater to their needs, we’ve had to reinvent ourselves digitally and find new ways to win their business."

Kalelkar is responsible for driving the digital business, helping the newspaper attract new readers and paid subscribers online. One way he’s doing that is by working with prestigious Indian business schools, known as B-schools, to provide students with open access to Business Standard’s online content, with the goal of winning over the next generation of business leaders. Thousands of students are supplementing their studies with daily business news and archives of academic research, case studies, and best practices — all for free.

Business Standard is also reaching new readers by making its content richer and more dynamic, filling its digital edition with videos, images, podcasts, and polls on web and mobile. That’s a powerful draw for readers of all ages, who want breaking news, in-depth perspectives, and a unique experience — and are increasingly willing to pay for it. As Business Standard puts more of its content behind a paywall, it is convincing many discerning readers to purchase a premium subscription.

A fast, dynamic news experience boosts readership and search rankings

Business Standard's digital editions have been growing in popularity, but rising traffic volumes were putting increasing demands on the infrastructure — and at a certain point, performance reached its limit. For readers, that meant a slower website experience at critical moments, such as when Business Standard was covering breaking news or high-profile events, from extreme weather coverage to the Cricket World Cup.

"Our origin servers couldn't accommodate large spikes in traffic, which sometimes left our sites unresponsive to readers," says Gururaj Patil, Chief Manager of IT Systems at Business Standard. "Delivering a better customer experience meant investing in a content delivery network (CDN), and everyone we spoke to recommended Akamai as the market leader."

Aiming to deliver a premium customer experience, Business Standard decided to adopt a premium CDN, offloading both static and dynamic content from its origin servers with Akamai. The company purchased Akamai's Dynamic Site Accelerator to deliver dynamic content faster, including the stock ticker, live blogging, and video streaming elements. It also signed on to Akamai Download Delivery for static content such as images and videos — crucial for creating an engaging experience for today's highly visual consumers.

"Akamai was the only CDN provider that could support a seamless experience between our free content and our premium digital subscription service," says Prafulla Patil, Senior Systems Manager at Business Standard. "It is an efficient and effective solution for catering to two separate audiences and keeping certain content behind a paywall."

"With Akamai, we've seen a marked improvement in site performance — and that enables us to better compete in an industry where speed of delivery is crucial," says Kalelkar. "We are far better equipped than our competitors to provide a premium experience that delights our customers."

The performance increase also boosted Business Standard's visibility with search engines and news aggregators such as Google, Facebook, and Apple. As these platforms aggregate content from across the internet and present it to readers, they favor sites with fast content delivery and page loads. That means Business Standard's articles are more likely to get picked up by aggregators and reach a wider audience, bringing in new readers and building the company's digital revenue pipeline.

Writing tomorrow's digital editions

Business Standard can now focus on continued innovation to deliver an exceptional experience for its readers. "Since launching Akamai, we no longer grapple with performance and inefficiency, which has freed us up to pursue new ideas and accelerate initiatives that were previously on hold," says Kalelkar. "Akamai helped us move forward with new projects, including the introduction of different kinds of premium content and unique solutions for B-schools."

For example, Business Standard has developed weekly interactive quizzes for B-school students, encouraging them to become regular readers by providing content in a compelling and personally rewarding format — like social media sites. The company is even working with India's higher education accreditation boards on the possibility of integrating its newspaper content into the B-school curriculum and assigning credit points for student participation.

It's that kind of original thinking that will help Business Standard capture the hearts and minds of the next generation of business leaders — convincing young people to appreciate high-quality journalism. As more readers see the value of its premium content, the newspaper is confident digital subscriptions will continue to rise. And with Akamai, the company knows it can keep delivering a great experience as readership grows and content becomes increasingly dynamic.

"Akamai is a premium service that delivers far better performance than what it promises," says Patil. "That helps us take our business to the next level."

About Business Standard

Business Standard is India's leading business newspaper. First published from Kolkata on 27th March 1975, the brand is more than 45 years old. The website has a vintage dating back to January 1997 and featured amongst the early crop of Indian digital publishers. What differentiates Business Standard from the rest and has remained unchanged through its 45 years of existence is its unflinching accountability and transparency to its readers, and a truly independent editorial organisation.

Business Standard stands for reporting that stresses accuracy and credibility; commentary that is informed, independent, and fair; and journalism that is rooted in ethical conduct and defined by a sacrosanct bond with the reader. All Business Standard journalists sign on to a code of conduct that is available on their website. The stable of renowned Op-Ed contributors, i.e., economists, columnists, and opinion writers, have been revered equally by the evolved and the young and ambitious. Some of the finest minds in business, in the bureaucracy (past and present) and industry form a part of this select group. This unique combination of the best in business (writers and content) pivoted Business Standard to be amongst the first in India to have a reader paywall on its digital platform (launched on 1st June 2016). Besides a daily business newspaper (published from 12 metros) and a fledgling website, the brand is also published in Hindi (as a newspaper from 6 centres and a website).


Related Customer Stories

Bot Manager

Yatra offers a top search experience using Akamai

Read More
Download Delivery

iQiyi, Inc.

Read More
Gaming

Riot Games

Read More