迪肯大学致力于建设数字化校园

针对必须在全球范围内提供课程材料和其他数字资源的现状,Akamai 为这所大学提供了合适的解决方案

 

“几年前,我们决定与 Akamai 合作,并投资建设我们的数字化基础架构,这一决定取得了良好的成效。优秀的合作伙伴会在危机下挺身而出,Akamai 正是如此,它帮助我们建设了全数字化校园。”

Craig Warren,迪肯大学代理首席数字官

迪肯大学成立于 1974 年,它是澳大利亚的一所公立大学,提供优秀卓越的课程以及大量学习和研究机会。迪肯大学在墨尔本、吉朗和瓦南布尔拥有四个校区,该大学已发展成了每年超过 61,000 名学生(包括数千名国际学生)和 8,000 名教职员工的首选大学。迪肯大学的研究和教学能力在国际上享誉盛名,根据世界大学学术排名,该校位列全球大学的前 1%。该学校还被公认为在澳大利亚提供了一流的教育体验,部分原因就在于其在线学习体验。

当新冠病毒爆发时,迪肯大学需要迅速为所有学生和教职员工提供支持,使他们能够在线开展学习和工作。尽管迄今为止的远见和做出的数字化投资让该校处于有利地位,但它仍求助于长期合作伙伴 Akamai,以确保为世界各地的学生提供无缝的体验。

快速支持超过 69,000 名用户在线学习和办公

早在 2011 年,迪肯大学就公布了一项愿景,并计划将自己建设成推动数字化领域发展的澳大利亚一流大学。实际上,最近迪肯大学发展最快的“校园”位于云端,有 15,000 多名学生主要在网上学习知识。

迄今为止,虽然迪肯大学的每门课程都包含在线选项,但当 COVID-19 爆发时,该大学不得不立即将所有课程和资源都转移到线上。作为一所拥有数字化 DNA 的大学,迪肯大学认为,此情况是一个契机,可以借此机会进一步投资数字化学习模型,从而在未来数年受益。同时,由于国际学生占了很大比例,迪肯大学希望确保提供尽可能出色的体验,以最大程度减少潜在的学生流失。

"我们已经在数字化能力方面进行了大量投资,因此,我们预计这一转型能够顺利进行。也就是说,我们确知自身还可以更进一步,更好地为我们的学生、教职员工以及世界各地的其他学生提供服务。"Deakin 代理首席数字官 Craig Warren 解释道。

特别是,该大学希望主动满足针对视频流媒体和大文件下载的日益增长的需求。正如 Warren 解释的那样,学生们往往会选择最便宜的上网套餐,或将手机用作热点,因此,该大学需要采取措施来加快媒体和下载交付。

依靠值得信赖的合作伙伴

多年来,迪肯大学一直在采用多种 Akamai 解决方案,以确保为澳大利亚和世界各地正在使用其课程和其他资源的学生提供快速、安全的数字化体验。"我们当时已经具备了所有核心技术的基础组件,所以我并不担心没法满足紧迫的时限要求。不过我还是接洽了 Akamai,以应对预计因海外学生使用视频流媒体和下载内容会造成的流量激增。"Warren 说道。

由于迪肯大学和 Akamai 的长期紧密合作关系,Akamai 能够迅速推荐合适的产品:Adaptive Media Delivery 和 Download Delivery。Adaptive Media Delivery 可为任何屏幕以及具有各种连接速度的网络类型(固网或移动网络)提供一致的高质量视频播放体验。Download Delivery 是一种基于文件的内容交付解决方案,它经过优化,可以通过互联网快速交付大型文件内容。

"在线体验取决于最后一英里的连接性和互联网带宽,因此,我们需要确保通过每种类型的互联网连接提供出色体验。如果没有 Akamai 的帮助,这一目标就无从实现。"Warren 继续说道。

扩展和保护数字化体验

随着成千上万的教职员工和学生在线访问资源,迪肯大学开始为前所未有的流量和下载量提供支持。在 Akamai Intelligent Edge Platform 上实施的解决方案组合为迪肯大学铺平了道路,使其能够为扩大的在线受众提供无缝支持。

Warren 认为,之所以他们能够向全面的远程学习和工作模式平稳过渡,是因为他们与 Akamai 建立了强大的合作伙伴关系。"在 Akamai 的性能优化、媒体处理和安全性解决方案的帮助下,我们在访问视频会议和学习管理系统等资源方面从未遇到过麻烦。"Warren 解释道。

例如,迪肯大学在中国的学生过去需要等待数分钟(有时甚至是几个小时)来下载大小为 1-2 GB 的课程。实施 Akamai 解决方案后,他们平均可以在 20 秒后访问这些课程。

"在当下这种时刻,业界巨头有两种结局:要么借此机会进一步巩固自身地位,要么丧失用户淡出人们视野。我们的优势和与众不同之处就在于我们提供的在线课程,而我们为安全、快速地交付这些课程而建立的基础将在未来给我们带来无尽收益。"Warren 总结道。


相关客户案例

Retail and Consumer Goods

EMC

See how Akamai helped EMC to deploy solutions to support their e-learning applications providing and enhanced web experience in remote countries.
Read More
Download Delivery

Fast, Credible Reporting for a New Generation of Business Leaders

India-based publisher Business Standard needed to build readership with lots of fast, dynamic content and Akamai has helped it achieve that goal.
Read More
Hotel and Travel

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts uses Akamai's CDN services to drive its online booking platform and improve website response time by 90%.
Read More

Deakin University pivots to a digital campus

Akamai provided the right solution for the university when course materials and other digital resources had to be accessible worldwide

 

"Our decision to both partner with Akamai years ago and invest in our digital infrastructure served us well. Good partners step up in crisis situations, and that’s exactly who Akamai is and what it did it to help us become a 100% digital campus."

Craig Warren, Deputy Chief Digital Officer, Deakin University

Established in 1974, Deakin University is a public university in Australia offering world-class programs and endless learning and research opportunities. With four campuses spread across Melbourne, Geelong, and Warrnambool, Deakin has grown to become the university of choice for more than 61,000 students each year — including thousands of international students — and 8,000 staff. Its internationally recognised research and teaching puts Deakin in the top 1% of the world’s universities according to the Academic Ranking of World Universities. The school has also been recognised for providing the number one educational experience in Australia, partly because of its online study experience.

When the novel coronavirus hit, Deakin needed to rapidly enable all students and staff to learn and work online. While the university was well-positioned because of its foresight and digital investments to date, it turned to longtime partner Akamai to ensure a seamless experience for users around the world.

Quickly Enabling Online Learning and Work for 69,000+

As early as 2011, Deakin launched a vision and plan to establish itself as Australia’s premier university in driving the digital frontier. In fact, until recently, Deakin’s fastest-growing campus was in the cloud, where more than 15,000 students studied predominantly online.

While every Deakin course has included online options to date, the university was driven to immediately move all classes and resources online when COVID-19 hit. As an organisation with digital in its DNA, Deakin saw the situation as an opportunity to invest further in a digital learning model that would serve it for years to come. At the same time, with a large percentage of international students, Deakin wanted to ensure the best possible experience to minimise potential student attrition.

"We have already invested heavily in our digital capabilities, so we expected this transition to go fairly smoothly. That said, we knew we could do even more to best serve our students, faculty, and other constituents around the world," explains Craig Warren, Deputy Chief Digital Officer at Deakin.

In particular, the university wanted to proactively address the heightened demand for video streaming and large file downloads. As Warren explains, students often opt for the cheapest internet plan or use their mobile phone as a hotspot, so the university needed to take measures to accelerate media and download delivery.

Calling Upon a Trusted Partner

For years, Deakin has called upon a number of Akamai solutions to ensure a fast, secure digital experience for those in Australia and around the world who are accessing its courses and other resources. "We had all the core technology building blocks in place, so I wasn’t concerned about meeting our aggressive timeline. But I engaged Akamai to address the anticipated surge in video streaming and downloads by students who were overseas," says Warren.

Because of the close collaboration between Deakin and Akamai over the course of their long-standing partnership, Akamai was able to quickly recommend the right products: Adaptive Media Delivery and Download Delivery. Adaptive Media Delivery provides consistent, high-quality video playback experiences across any screen and network types — fixed or mobile — at varying connection speeds. Download Delivery is a file-based content delivery solution optimised to quickly deliver large file-based content over the internet.

"Online experiences are dictated by last-mile connectivity and internet bandwidth, so we need to ensure the best experiences over every type of internet connection. Without Akamai, we wouldn’t be able to do that," continues Warren.

Scaling and Securing the Digital Experience

With tens of thousands more staff and students accessing resources online, Deakin began supporting an unprecedented volume of traffic and downloads. The combination of solutions implemented on the Akamai Intelligent Edge Platform paved the way for Deakin to seamlessly support this expanded online audience.

Warren credits its strong partnership with Akamai for the smooth transition to full remote learning and work. "Because we are leveraging Akamai solutions for performance, media, and security, we haven’t seen a hiccup in access to resources like videoconferencing and our Learning Management System," explains Warren.

For example, Deakin students in China had been waiting many minutes — and sometimes hours — to download lectures 1–2 GB in size. After implementing Akamai solutions, they could access them in an average of 20 seconds.

"Industry legends enhance their status or fade into insignificance at times like these. Our strength and differentiator is our online course offerings, and the foundation we have established to deliver these securely and quickly will serve us for years to come," concludes Warren.


Related Customer Stories

Publishing

Seven West Media - WA News

Watch how Seven West Media uses Akamai's Image Manager to completely offload image optimization to increase their website's speed.
Read More
Content Delivery - CDN

Linen Chest solves image-weight challenge to speed up sales

Learn how Akamai's Image & Video Manager solution resulted in better performance and superior results for Linen Chest, including a 19% increase in conversion rates.
Read More
Download Delivery

Jam City

Akamai helps Jam City keep their players engaged with fast game downloads.
Read More