提供快速、可信的医疗信息

Drugs.com 借助 Akamai 解决方案实现了稳定的性能和安全性

“Akamai 可以轻松无缝地处理各种事情,它已成为我们业务不可或缺的一部分。”

Drugs.com 首席技术官 Nick Le Mouton

在全球范围内提供可靠的医疗信息

作为值得信赖的药品和医疗信息来源,Drugs.com 的成功取决于其内容的质量、准确性和速度。任何停机或性能滞后都会导致用户流失,损害搜索引擎排名,并降低广告所带来的收入。由于该公司需要通过原有的 Drugs.com 和现在的 Medicine.com 两个网站在全球范围内进行扩张,因此它更加依赖 Akamai 的 Web 性能和安全产品来保证网站顺利运行。

内容驱动 Drugs.com 的业务发展

Drugs.com 提供了互联网上最大、最准确的医药知识库,为消费者和医疗专业人员提供了有可能拯救生命的信息。它的姐妹网站 - 最近推出的 Medicine.com - 专注于培养人们在病情和治疗方法方面的知识。两个网站共同为消费者提供了必要的真实信息,以帮助消费者安全服药,更好地管理自己的健康,以及与医疗服务提供商进行更明智的对话。

由 Harvard Health 和 Mayo Clinic 等出色的医疗信息提供商和优秀刊物内容提供支持的高质量内容是 Drugs.com 和 Medicine.com 最为重视的资产。消费者知道,他们可以信任他们在这些网站上看到的信息,他们会继续回来寻找更多信息。但是,内容对于优化搜索引擎性能也至关重要 - 搜索引擎是最初将人们带到网站的主要途径。

Drugs.com 的首席技术官 Nick Le Mouton 说道:“我们的大部分流量来自于自然搜索,这意味着,我们的成功关键在于网站上包含正确的内容。我们有一个由编辑、药剂师和内容写手组成的团队,致力于创作能够获得良好搜索引擎排名的优质内容。”

这意味着,例如,如果有人在 Google 或其他搜索引擎中键入“amoxicillin”,他们将在搜索结果页面的顶部看到 Drugs.com 的链接。内容越好,交付速度越快,查找信息的消费者和医疗专业人员就越容易看到 Drugs.com。让人们访问网站是首要任务,因为该公司的收入来源依赖于广告。

Drugs.com 了解可扩展性的重要性

Drugs.com 每月的访问量超过 3,000 万次,随着该公司在全球范围内扩大业务,并加强自身在美国这一关键市场的影响力,这一数字也在不断增长。作为 CTO,Le Mouton 肩负着保持所有服务全天候正常运行的重要责任 - 确保内容的快速交付、可访问性和安全性。

“如果我们的网站停机,将会造成我们永远无法挽回的收入损失。”Le Mouton 说道。他说的是经验之谈。在 Drugs.com 工作了近 20 年,他帮助公司克服了一些重大的成长难题。十多年前,他是该公司唯一的系统运营人员,所以他经常要半夜起来处理来自世界各地的流量高峰。

Le Mouton 说道:“流量已经达到了源站服务器的极限,而我们无法足够快速地进行扩展。当 Michael Jackson 在 2009 年不幸去世时,流量达到了顶峰。在这段时间里,随着人们搜索有关异丙酚的信息,我们看到了 20,900% 的流量激增。仅与此药物相关的流量在一天内就从 650 次页面访问增加到 135,000 次,巨大的流量激增使我们离线了几个小时。”

该事件让 Drugs.com 开始寻找内容分发网络 (CDN),以减轻其源站服务器的压力。虽然该公司在早期尝试了一些不同的产品,但他们仍然难以获得所需的性能和 100% 的正常运行时间 - 直到 Akamai 出现。

Le Mouton 说道:“我们几乎评估了所有能找到的 CDN,Akamai 是其中的佼佼者。它是我们评测的最快的解决方案之一,为我们提供了在全球范围内继续增长所需的可扩展性、性能和创新。”

网站全天候正常运行 - 无需 IT 团队全天值守

如今,Drugs.com 已经从 Akamai 购买了一套集成的 Web 性能和安全产品。借助前端优化 (FEO) 和 Ion,该公司可以最大限度地提高网站性能,从而实现更好、更快的最终用户体验。最近,该公司将 NetStorage 与内容管理系统集成在一起,将静态内容移至更加靠近边缘的位置,并从源站系统分载流量。对于调查医药和医疗主题的用户来说,这意味着网页可以实现瞬间响应 - 消除了可能使用户跳转到竞争对手网站的滞后时间。

Le Mouton 说道:“当我们开始使用 Akamai 服务在边缘缓存动态内容时,我们看到页面性能显著提高,特别是在一些关键市场。此外,Akamai 帮助我们保持网站正常运行和收入流入,并提供 100% 的可用性,这是其他供应商无法做到的。”

对于 Le Mouton 来说,这意味着性能和可用性问题不再让他夜不能寐 - 即使是在流量意外上升的时候。确实,在新冠疫情期间,寻找潜在治疗方法的搜索量急剧增加。另一方面,Google 搜索排名算法的更改导致流量突然激增了 75%。但是,与以前可能会使源站服务器过载的激增不同,这两种情况均没有引起任何延迟问题或停机。

他说道:“我们可以依靠 Akamai 平台来吸收额外的负载,因此可以照常开展业务。不再需要在半夜起床解决问题,或在最后一刻尝试扩大源站服务器的规模。”

这使 Drugs.com 在过去 10 年中将流量增加了一倍,并且完全没有对其源站基础架构造成影响。为了进一步提高性能,该公司为 Medicine.com 添加了 Image & Video Manager。这款解决方案利用简单易用且含有丰富图像的方式来帮助人们更有效地管理自己的健康。无论访问者使用哪种设备,Akamai 的解决方案旨在为他们提供更顺畅的体验,并提高越来越重视视觉内容的网站的搜索引擎排名。

Akamai 帮助该公司轻松保护这两个网站和数百万访问者

该公司还实施了 Edge DNS 和 Kona Site Defender 来防御安全威胁,包括分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击和网络入侵。Akamai 解决方案极大地简化了对日益庞大和复杂的环境的日常监控和管理。

Le Mouton 说道:“过去,我们每天都要花费数小时来追踪警报,在源站阻止 IP 地址并处理误报。而使用 Akamai 服务后,当活动超过一定阈值时,我们就会收到警报。所以,虽然我们的流量增加了,但在安全管理上花费的时间却大大减少。”

Drugs.com 还注册了 Akamai 的 Enterprise Application Access,以帮助员工远程访问后端系统。在新冠疫情期间,随着员工开始更频繁地在家中工作,这种安全访问变得更有价值。

Drugs.com 借助 Akamai 服务在全球范围内实现扩展

Drugs.com 和 Medicine.com 的知名度不断提高,他们依靠内容质量和交付速度来提高搜索引擎排名,吸引访问者并增加广告收入。Le Mouton 曾见过增长使源站基础架构不堪重负时导致的后果,因此知道,他们无法回到采用 Akamai 服务之前的状态 - 他认为,性能和安全产品组成的集成平台为该公司带来了巨大的好处。

Le Mouton 表示:“过去,我们采用了很多工具,但完全没有效果 - 每个工具都带来了新的瓶颈,还增加了延迟。Akamai 可以轻松无缝地处理各种事情,它已成为我们业务不可或缺的一部分。”

该公司对 Akamai 的依赖来自他们对 Akamai 及其竞品的深入了解。Le Mouton 毫不隐瞒他所采用的技术评估方法,他的目标是找到最有效的工具来保持自己的网站正常运行。Le Mouton 说道:“我们会定期试用竞品,以了解市面上的其他产品,但我们最终选择的仍然是 Akamai。Akamai 是我们了解并信任的公司,我们认为它就是最好的。”

随着该公司在美国及其他地区扩大广告收入,这种方法对 Drugs.com 的最终效益有利,这有助于保持较低的基础架构成本。此方法对于消费者和医疗专业人员也有益,他们越来越依赖于 Drugs.com 和 Medicine.com 来查找保持安全和健康所需的信息。

 


相关客户案例

Security

Intuit

Intuit keeps TurboTax, QuickBooks, and Mint available and secure year-round with Akamai.
Read More
Edge DNS

Microgame

Microgame delivers speedy, secure online gambling and betting sites with Akamai and Criticalcase
Read More
Security

Suntory Business Systems

Akamai Technical Advisory Service (TAS) supports and resolves massive Website Analysis and Improvement
Read More

Providing fast, trusted medical information

Drugs.com achieves unfailing performance and security with Akamai

"Akamai handles everything seamlessly without breaking a sweat, and it has become an integral part of our business."

Nick Le Mouton, CTO, Drugs.com

Reliable health information at global scale

As a trusted source of pharmaceutical and medical information, Drugs.com's success hinges on the quality, accuracy, and speed of its content. Any downtime or performance lags can drive people away, hurt search engine rankings, and cut into advertising revenue. As the company expands worldwide with Drugs.com and now Medicine.com, it has turned to Akamai web performance and security products to keep its websites running smoothly.

Content drives the business at Drugs.com

Drugs.com provides the largest, most accurate library of pharmaceutical knowledge on the internet, providing potentially life-saving information for consumers and medical professionals. Its sister site — the recently launched Medicine.com — focuses on educating people on medical conditions and treatments. Together, the websites give consumers the facts they need to take medications safely, better manage their health, and have more informed conversations with their healthcare providers.

Powered by leading medical information providers and content from leading publications such as Harvard Health and Mayo Clinic, high-quality content is everything for Drugs.com and Medicine.com. Consumers know they can trust the information they read on the websites, and they continue to come back for more. But the content is also crucial for optimizing search engine performance — the main avenue that brings people to the websites in the first place.

"Most of our traffic comes from organic search, which means our success is all about having the right content on the site," says Nick Le Mouton, CTO at Drugs.com. "We have a team of editors, pharmacists, and content writers working to create quality content that has a chance of being well ranked by the search engines."

That means, for example, that if someone types "amoxicillin" into Google or another search engine, they’ll see a Drugs.com link at the top of the search results page. The better the content and the faster the delivery, the more visible Drugs.com is to consumers and medical professionals looking for information. And getting people to the websites is priority one, as the company depends on advertising as its source of revenue.

Drugs.com learns the importance of scalability

Drugs.com sees more than 30 million visits every month, and that number has grown as the company has expanded its reach globally and strengthened its presence in its key market, the United States. As CTO, Le Mouton has the critical responsibility of keeping everything up and running around the clock — making sure the content is fast, accessible, and secure.

"If our sites go down, that’s lost revenue we can never regain," Le Mouton says. He speaks from experience. Having worked with Drugs.com for almost 20 years, he has helped the company overcome some significant growing pains. A little over a decade ago, he was the sole systems operations person for the company, which meant he was often up in the middle of the night dealing with traffic spikes coming from around the world.

"Traffic was bumping up against the limits of the origin server, and we couldn’t scale up fast enough. That all came to a head in 2009, when Michael Jackson died tragically," says Le Mouton. "During this time, we saw a 20,900% traffic spike as people searched for information on Propofol. Traffic related to this medication alone rose from 650 to 135,000 page views in a single day, and all that huge traffic spike took us offline for several hours."

That event convinced Drugs.com to look for a content delivery network (CDN) to take the pressure off its origin servers. Though it tried a few different products early on, the company struggled to find the performance and 100% uptime it needed — until it found Akamai.

"We reviewed just about every single CDN that we could get our hands on, and Akamai was the leader," Le Mouton says. "It was one of the fastest solutions we reviewed — and it gave us the scalability, performance, and innovation we needed to continue growing globally."

Websites stay up 24/7 — not the IT team

Today, Drugs.com has purchased an integrated suite of web performance and security products from Akamai. With Front End Optimization (FEO) and Ion, the company has maximized site performance for a better, faster end-user experience. And it recently integrated NetStorage with its content management systems, moving static content closer to the edge and offloading traffic from the origin systems. For people researching pharmaceutical and medical topics, that means split-second responses from the web pages — without lag time that might make users bounce to a competitive site.

"When we started caching dynamic content at the edge with Akamai, we saw page performance improve significantly, especially in key markets," says Le Mouton. "Plus, Akamai helps us keep our websites up and revenue flowing in with 100% availability — something other vendors can’t provide."

For Le Mouton, that means performance and availability problems no longer keep him up at night, even when traffic rises unexpectedly. Indeed, during the COVID-19 pandemic, there were dramatic increases in searches for potential treatments. On a separate occasion, a change in Google’s search ranking algorithm led to a sudden 75% jump in traffic. But unlike previous surges that might have overloaded the origin servers, neither situation caused any latency issues or downtime.

"We can trust the Akamai platform to absorb the extra load, so we can get on with business as usual," he says. "No more getting up in the middle of the night to fix issues or trying to scale up origin servers at the last minute."

That has enabled Drugs.com to double its traffic over the past 10 years, all without an impact on its origin infrastructure. To further boost performance, the company added Image & Video Manager for Medicine.com, which takes an image-rich, consumer-friendly approach to help people manage their own health more effectively. Akamai’s solutions are designed to enable a smoother experience for visitors, no matter what device they’re using, and help boost the site’s rankings with search engines — which increasingly favor visual content.

Akamai makes it easy to protect two websites and millions of visitors

The company also implemented Edge DNS and Kona Site Defender to protect against security threats, including distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attacks and network intrusions. The Akamai solutions vastly simplified the day-to-day monitoring and management of an increasingly large and complex environment.

"In the past, we spent hours every day chasing down alerts, blocking IP addresses at our origin, and dealing with false positives," says Le Mouton. "With Akamai, we get alerts when activity passes a certain threshold, so even though we have more traffic, we spend a lot less time managing security."

Drugs.com also signed up for Akamai’s Enterprise Application Access to give employees remote access to back-end systems. That secure access became even more valuable during the COVID-19 pandemic, as staff members started working from home more frequently.

Drugs.com scales up globally with Akamai

Drugs.com and Medicine.com have grown in popularity, trading on the quality and speed of their content to improve search engine rankings, attract visitors, and drive ad revenue. Having seen what happens when growth overwhelms the origin infrastructure, Le Mouton knows there is no going back to the days before he adopted Akamai — and he sees the integrated platform of performance and security products as a powerful benefit to the company.

"We had a patchwork of tools in the past, and it just didn’t work — every tool added a bottleneck and an extra layer of latency," says Le Mouton. "Akamai handles everything seamlessly without breaking a sweat, and it has become an integral part of our business."

The company’s reliance on Akamai comes from a place of deep familiarity with both Akamai and its competitors. Le Mouton isn’t shy about his approach to evaluating technology — his goal is to find the most effective tools to keep his sites up and running. "We try competitive products regularly to see what else is out there, and we always stay with Akamai," Le Mouton says. "It’s a company we know and trust, and we think it’s the best."

That approach has been good for the bottom line at Drugs.com, keeping infrastructure costs low as the company scales up its advertising revenue in the United States and beyond. And it’s good for consumers and medical professionals, who increasingly rely on Drugs.com and Medicine.com for the information they need to stay safe and healthy.

 


Related Customer Stories

Security

The Washington Post

For Arc Publishing, owned by The Washington Post, security is critical. With Akamai, Arc secures at the Edge, ensuring that their - and their customers' - brands are protected.
Read More
Publishing

The Associated Press

The Associated Press chose Akamai's Managed Kona Service and Live Event support to ensure uninterrupted news delivery during the coverage of the 2016 U.S. presidential election.
Read More
Download Delivery

ASUS

Global high tech giant ASUS relied on Akamai’s platform to deliver and secure online experiences.
Read More