Ex Machina 构建视频流媒体的未来

携手 Akamai 实现超低延迟的同步交互

我们行业领先的视频平台和工具由 Akamai 提供支持,可让数百万人在观看自己喜欢的电视节目、活动或流媒体直播时实时参与其中并进行互动,而不会出现故障并享有行业领先的服务规模。

Jeroen Elfferich,Ex Machina 首席执行官

满足市场需求缺口

Ex Machina 一直在为世界各地的品牌和媒体公司构建创新的多屏解决方案和备受关注的出色应用程序。现在的重点是为最终用户提供交互功能 - 从第二屏应用程序和交互式游戏工具,到购物视频领域的新一代互动解决方案,并且所有这些服务都可跨平台且在多个设备上运行。最新的突破是找到一种方法来满足市场上的迫切需求:在同一屏幕上实现超低延迟 (ULL) 和同步流媒体,并提供交互能力。

“我们的通用框架使我们能够随着时间推移不断发展演变,添加更多突破性的功能,为用户创造新的交互方式。” Ex Machina 首席执行官 Jeroen Elfferich 解释道。

大规模实现同步 ULL 流媒体

“在实现第二屏体验之后,我们想到了将交互能力直接集成到视频之中,通过单独一个界面加以呈现。我们看到了提供流媒体解决方案的机会,该解决方案可以在全球范围内扩展,并可以在全球数百万个设备上实现超低延迟 (ULL) 同步流媒体。”Elfferich 说道。

Ex Machina 借助去年推出的一些具有实时视频和交互功能的应用程序和 Twitch 扩展程序,研究了最终用户的行为。研究表明,积极参与到直播流媒体中的互动型观众的观看时长比被动型观众长 150%。基本视频互动(例如投票)可以达到 90% 的参与率。更精细的游戏化互动可以达到 30% 到 50% 的参与率。Ex Machina 意识到,需要交互能力的所有视频应用都可以从这种解决方案中受益,其中包括需要切换摄像机机位的体育赛事广播公司、具有互动玩家的游戏公司以及邀请观众提供答案的游戏节目。其应用领域甚至可以扩展到公司环境中,例如在全体员工会议上实现交互。

考虑到这一愿景,Ex Machina 制定了一项计划,以超越流媒体视频的范畴,并开发一种具有超低延迟、同步能力和交互功能的全新解决方案。于是该公司着手构建一种基于 WebRTC 将视频和交互层结合在一起的解决方案,但遇到了障碍。正如 Ex Machina 项目经理 Jeroen Mol 所说:“WebRTC 的速度和实时功能独树一帜,但它并不适合拥有数十万播放者和流量高峰的一对多平台。此外,WebRTC 需要专用的托管解决方案,因此灵活性更低、成本更高。”

凭借在为数千个并发用户提供解决方案和应用程序方面的丰富经验,Ex Machina 知道他们必须满足直播视频流媒体的三个主要要求:最低延迟、最佳视频质量和最低价格。除了能够迅速从数百个并发用户扩展到数千个并确保全球可用性之外,该公司还需要实现 ULL。

利用 Akamai 的独特优势

在调查市面上的各类解决方案之后,Ex Machina 决定使用 Akamai 的低延迟流媒体解决方案。Akamai 一直是倡导低延迟解决方案以及使用通用媒体应用程序格式 (CMAF)(自 2015 年问世以来即开始使用)来实现低延迟流媒体的先驱之一。如今,Akamai 通过分块编码分块传输 CMAF 支持低延迟流媒体工作流程。Ex Machina 采用 Akamai 基于标准的 DASH-CMAF 方法来实现 ULL 交互式视频解决方案。通过这种方法,Ex Machina 能够克服 WebRTC 遇到的两个主要问题:容纳大量并发播放器,投入比其他 ULL 流媒体解决方案低得多的成本。

“目前,DASH 是交付分块视频的理想协议。将这种协议与 CMAF 结合在一起,并与编码器、CDN 和客户端行为配对,才可以使整个系统实现低延迟。此外,由于它处在一个容器中,因此我们不必担心最终用户的设备究竟是什么。”Mol 解释道。

正如 Elfferich 强调的那样:“人人都想实现低延迟,但延迟的可预测性和一致性也很重要。只有 Akamai 的解决方案可以满足这样的要求。”Elfferich 表示,Akamai 的与众不同之处在于,低延迟视频功能使用与其他媒体流量相同的边缘交付平台,这意味着低延迟视频流量仍可获得规模和可靠性方面的优势。“我们可以利用 Akamai 的现有基础架构。另外,它在全球范围内提供了可预测、可靠的价格,因此客户也能间接受益。”

借助突破性的解决方案进入市场

Ex Machina 于 2020 年第一季度开始推出 ULL 产品 Livery,目前该产品已在全球范围内得到诸多客户的采用。Ex Machina 完全符合 Akamai 的 ULL 编码器认证。与认证同样重要的是,Ex Machina 在演示他们的解决方案时,展现出了一些令人惊叹的独到特色。“我们展示了两台能够显示低延迟视频并完美同步的设备,然后,只需按一下按钮,便可将其转变为交互式体验。Akamai 致力于宣传 ULL 创新中的最佳用例,这为我们提供了构建此解决方案的思路,没有 Akamai 的帮助,我们就没法取得这样的成果。”Elfferich 继续说道。

Akamai 在全球范围内交付 ULL 视频流媒体的独特能力,再加上 Ex Machina 允许视频播放器通过计算延迟和调整播放速度来管理常见延迟的能力,使得 Ex Machina 能够大规模交付同步 ULL 流媒体。

Ex Machina 在多个国家/地区进行了测试,以确定能实现最低的端到端延迟。测试及相关结果的目标是确定其生产设置在不同国家/地区的性能。该测试是在 Windows 10 台式机上使用 Livery Web 播放器在 Chrome 浏览器中完成的。测试使用 1.0 Mbps DASH 直播流媒体。播放 30 秒后开始记录结果。当发生重新缓冲事件或停顿,或缓冲低于 30% 时,测试失败,然后重新启动,并使用更高的延迟目标。

第一项测试包括位于荷兰的编码器,将内容提取到西班牙的 Akamai 入口点。记录了以下端到端延迟:荷兰(0.43 秒)、印度(0.84 秒)、加拿大(0.62 秒)、乌克兰(0.71 秒)、越南(1.20 秒)、斯里兰卡(2.08 秒)、新加坡(1.04 秒)、尼日利亚(2.37 秒)、肯尼亚 (1.38 秒)、罗马尼亚(0.81 秒)和危地马拉(0.73 秒)。这些值是平均端到端延迟值,包括 Ex Machina 编码器硬件增加的 0.06 秒。

第二项测试测量了延迟,并将其与可接受的流媒体质量相关联。在 30 分钟的测试过程中,使用了具有 1.5 Mbps 比特率和 96 kbps 音轨的 1080p 视频。提取地点位于荷兰的阿姆斯特丹,总计在 13 个国家/地区进行了 80 项测试。这些测试是在 iOS、Android 和 Web 播放器上进行的,所有这些播放器均连接了以太网、4G 或 Wi-Fi 连接,端到端延迟为 1-3 秒。

流媒体质量通过重新缓冲百分比来表示,即停顿总时间与会话总时间的比率。对于低延迟流媒体,重新缓冲百分比 <1% 则视为质量良好。

测试结果:在 13 个国家/地区中,有 10 个的重新缓冲百分比为 <1%,延迟值为 2 或 3 秒。详细结果在下表中列出。


延迟值为 2 或 3 秒的区域重新缓冲
国家/地区 平均每个用户的停顿次数 平均每个用户的重新缓冲次数
美国 3.6 0.39%
加拿大 9.2 0.65%
荷兰 1.1 0.06%
德国 1.0 0.06%
印度 11.6 0.51%
法国 1.0 0.01%
英国 7.2 0.65%
俄罗斯 2.7 0.15%
日本 2.1 0.80%

靠近提取位置的国家/地区能够以 1 秒的端到端延迟设置进行流媒体传输,并且重新缓冲百分比小于 1%。仅在印度,流媒体质量略高于可接受的重新缓冲百分比。详细结果在下表中列出。

延迟值为 1 秒的区域重新缓冲
国家/地区 平均每个用户的停顿次数 平均每个用户的重新缓冲次数
英国 3.0 0.06%
法国 0.9 0.07%
荷兰 1.5 0.07%
印度 32.0 1.44%

在端到端延迟为 1-3 秒的情况下,iOS、Android 和 Web 客户端的性能对比(重新缓冲百分比)表明,除了少数异常(如橙色突出显示的单元格所示)以外,流媒体质量在低延迟水平下表现出色。下表显示了相应客户端的性能与低延迟值的关系明细:

按设备类型划分的重新缓冲(延迟值为 1-3 秒)
设备类型 延迟:3 秒 延迟:2 秒 延迟:1 秒
iOS 0.63% 0.88% 1.49%
Android 0.34% 0.73% 1.86%
Web 0.86% 1.30% 11.33%

Mol 进一步解释道:“使用传统的 DASH 方法时,可以通过减小分段大小来减少延迟。使用 1 秒的分段大小时,可以实现 4 到 5 秒的端到端延迟。当我们开始使用基于视频块的 ULL-CMAF 时,在荷兰我们能够实现 2.61 秒的端到端延迟。去年的优化使我们可以在荷兰将端到端延迟进一步缩短为 0.43 秒。”

Akamai 和 Ex Machina 已经证明,当目标端到端延迟为 1-3 秒时,ULL-CMAF 是可扩展且经济高效的 WebRTC 替代方案。

Ex Machina 已与诸多客户开启了合作。“展望未来,我们希望与更多的内容所有者和发行商合作,使他们能够大规模分享交互式叙事内容,同时使他们能够控制自己的业务模型。”Elfferich 总结道。

Ex Machina Group 简介

我们为全球各类品牌、媒体和电子商务公司开发创新的交互式解决方案。我们的解决方案、概念、设计、应用程序和平台吸引了数千万用户,已经为全球长达数千小时的互动提供了技术支持,并支持着功能类型和成熟度在世界均处于领先地位的直播互动平台。Ex Machina Group 深受娱乐行业一些知名品牌的信任,例如 Red Bull、ITV、Twitch、FremantleMedia、Microsoft、RTL、Talpa Media、Sony Pictures Television、WinView 和 NBC。公司成立于 2001 年,最初致力于开发 Web 和移动端的多人游戏。在 2007 年,我们创建了首个第二屏幕播放应用程序,并在 2019 年发布了我们的交互式直播流媒体解决方案 Livery。从广义角度来看,我们当下的工作重点是互动视频 - 从第二屏应用程序和交互式游戏工具,再到直播视频领域的新一代互动解决方案,并且所有这些服务都可跨平台且在多个设备上运行。

我们的活动涵盖了整个创建过程 - 从策略和业务案例,到概念和架构,再到设计、开发和运营。我们了解从董事会到生产一线的整套企业运作方式。Ex Machina Group 的解决方案、概念、设计、应用程序和平台,可确保实现广泛的业务覆盖范围、出色的受众参与度以及更多新的增长和盈利机会。Ex Machina Group 的总部位于荷兰阿姆斯特丹,在荷兰鹿特丹和加拿大蒙特利尔设有办事处。


相关客户案例

Media and Entertainment

Adobe

Read More
Download Delivery

Fast, Credible Reporting for a New Generation of Business Leaders

Read More
Retail and Consumer Goods

IBM

Read More

Akamai has acquired Guardicore to extend its Zero Trust solutions and help stop ransomware. Read more

Ex Machina Builds Out the Future of Video Streaming

Partnering with Akamai Enables Ultra-Low Latency, Synchronized Interactivity

Our industry-leading video platform and tools enabled by Akamai allow millions of people to engage and interact in real time while they watch their favorite TV show, event, or live stream, without failure and at a scale that is unsurpassed in the industry.

Jeroen Elfferich, CEO, Ex Machina

Satisfying an Unmet Market Need

Ex Machina has been building innovative multi-screen solutions and high-profile, cutting-edge apps for brands and media companies around the world. The focus now is on enabling interactivity for the end users with second-screen apps and interactive gaming tools to next-level interactive solutions in the area of shoppable video — all multiplatform and on multiple devices. The latest breakthrough was finding a way to address an unmet need: enabling ultra-low-latency (ULL) and synchronized streaming with interactivity on the same screen.

“Our generic framework allows us to evolve over time and add revolutionary features and invent new ways for users to interact,” explains Jeroen Elfferich, CEO of Ex Machina.

Enabling Synchronized ULL Streaming at Scale

“After making second-screen experiences a reality, the idea came to us that the interactivity should be integrated directly into video, in a single interface. We saw the opportunity to offer a streaming solution that scales globally and enables synchronized ultra-low-latency (ULL) streaming across millions of devices around the globe,” says Elfferich.

Ex Machina studied the end-user behavior using a few apps and Twitch extensions launched last year that had live video and interactions. The studies revealed that engaged viewers actively participating in a live stream watch 150% longer compared to passive viewers. Basic video interactions (e.g., polls) can reach 90% engagement rates. More elaborate gamification can reach 30% to 50% engagement rates. Ex Machina recognized that every video application requiring interactivity can benefit from such a solution — sports broadcasters needing to switch cameras, gaming companies with interactive players, and game shows inviting viewers to chime in with their answers. The applications even extend to a corporate setup, such as to enable interactivity at an all-hands meeting.

With this vision in mind, Ex Machina devised a plan to go beyond streaming video and develop a new solution featuring ultra-low latency, synchronicity, and interactive capabilities. It started building a solution to combine the video and interactive layer based on WebRTC, but ran into roadblocks. As Ex Machina Project Manager Jeroen Mol explains, “You cannot beat WebRTC for its speed and real-time capabilities, but it wasn’t built for one-to-many platforms with hundreds of thousands of players and traffic spikes. Moreover, WebRTC requires a dedicated hosting solution, making it less flexible and more expensive.”

Based on its vast experience developing solutions and apps serving thousands of concurrent users, Ex Machina knew it had to satisfy three main requirements for live video streams: the lowest latency, the best video quality, and the lowest price. In addition to being able to quickly ramp from hundreds to thousands of concurrent users and ensuring global availability, the company needed to enable ULL.

Taking Advantage of Akamai’s Unique Differentiators

After investigating the market, Ex Machina decided on using Akamai’s low-latency streaming solution. Akamai has been one of the pioneers when it comes to championing the cause for low latency and the use of Common Media Application Format (CMAF) to achieve low-latency streaming right from its inception back in 2015. Akamai today supports low-latency streaming workflows with chunked encoded chunked transfer CMAF. Ex Machina adopted Akamai’s standards-based, DASH-CMAF approach to enable its ULL interactive video solution. With this approach, Ex Machina was able to overcome the two main issues experienced with WebRTC: accommodating multiple concurrent players and doing it for a significantly lower cost compared to other ULL streaming solutions.

“Currently, DASH is the best protocol for delivering chunked video. Combining this with CMAF — and pairing it with encoder, CDN, and client behaviors — is what allows the overall system to enable low latency. And because it’s in a single container, we don’t have to worry about the end-user device,” explains Mol.

As Elfferich underscores, “Everyone wants low latency, but it’s also important that the latency is predictable and consistent. Only Akamai’s solution satisfied this requirement.” According to Elfferich, what further sets Akamai apart is that the low-latency video capability utilizes the same edge delivery platform as other media traffic, meaning the benefits of scale and reliability can still be realized for the low-latency video traffic. “We can leverage Akamai’s existing infrastructure. Plus, it’s available at a predictable, reliable price globally that we can pass on to our customers.”

Going to Market with a Groundbreaking Solution

Ex Machina started the rollout of its ULL product Livery in the first quarter of 2020, and the product is currently being used by multiple customers globally. Ex Machina is fully compliant with Akamai’s ULL encoder certification. As important as the certification is, the real “wow” factor is when Ex Machina demos its solution. “We show two devices displaying low-latency video and perfectly in sync and then, with the push of a button, we turn it into an interactive experience. Akamai’s drive to evangelize best use cases in ULL innovation gave us the idea to build this; we would not have been able to do this without Akamai,” continues Elfferich.

Akamai’s unique capability to deliver ULL video streams globally — combined with Ex Machina’s ability for video players to maintain a common delay by calculating the latency and adjusting the playback speed — has enabled Ex Machina to deliver synchronized ULL streaming at scale.

Ex Machina performed tests in multiple countries in order to determine the lowest possible glass-to-glass latency. The goal of the test and the related results were to determine how its production setup performs in different countries. The test was done with the Livery web player on Windows 10 desktops with Chrome as the browser. A 1.0 Mbps DASH live stream was used for the test. The results were recorded after the 30 seconds of playtime. When a rebuffering event or stall occurred or when the buffer went below 30%, the test failed and was restarted with a higher latency target.

The first test included an encoder located in the Netherlands ingesting content into an Akamai entry point in Spain. The following glass-to-glass latencies were recorded: Netherlands (0.43 sec), India (0.84 sec), Canada (0.62 sec), Ukraine (0.71 sec), Vietnam (1.20 sec), Sri Lanka (2.08 sec), Singapore (1.04 sec), Nigeria (2.37 sec), Kenya (1.38 sec), Romania (0.81 sec), and Guatemala (0.73 sec). These values are the average glass-to-glass latency values and include 0.06 seconds added by the Ex Machina encoder hardware.

The second test measured the latency and correlated it to an acceptable streaming quality. A 1080p video with a bitrate of 1.5 Mbps and an audio track of 96 kbps was used during the 30-minute test. The ingest location was in Amsterdam, Netherlands, and a total of 80 tests were performed in 13 countries. The tests were performed with iOS, Android, and web players all connected with ethernet, 4G, or Wi-Fi connections and glass-to-glass latency of 1–3 seconds.

The streaming quality was defined as the rebuffering percentage — ratio of the total time of stall to the total session time, and a rebuffer percentage of <1% is considered to be good quality for a low-latency stream.

Test Result: Ten out of the 13 countries had a rebuffering percentage of <1% with a latency value of 2 or 3 seconds. Detailed results are in the table below.


Regional Rebuffering with Latency Value of 2 or 3 Seconds
Country Avg. Stalls Per User Avg. Rebuffer Per User
United States 3.6 0.39%
Canada 9.2 0.65%
Netherlands 1.1 0.06%
Germany 1.0 0.06%
India 11.6 0.51%
France 1.0 0.01%
United Kingdom 7.2 0.65%
Russia 2.7 0.15%
Japan 2.1 0.80%

Countries closer to the ingest location were able to stream with a glass-to-glass latency setting of 1 second and a rebuffer percentage of less than 1%. Only for India was the streaming quality slightly higher than the acceptable rebuffer percentage. Detailed results are in the table below.

Regional Rebuffering with Latency Value of 1 Second
Country Avg. Stalls Per User Avg. Rebuffer Per User
United Kingdom 3.0 0.06%
France 0.9 0.07%
Netherlands 1.5 0.07%
India 32.0 1.44%

The performance split (rebuffering percentage) across the iOS, Android, and web clients for glass-to-glass latency of 1–3 seconds indicated that, apart from a few outliers (indicated by the cells highlighted in orange), the streaming quality was good at the low latency levels. The table below shows the breakup of performance against the low latency values for the respective clients:

Rebuffering Split by Device Type with Latency Value 1–3 Seconds
Device Type Latency: 3 Sec Latency: 2 Sec Latency: 1 Sec
iOS 0.63% 0.88% 1.49%
Android 0.34% 0.73% 1.86%
Web 0.86% 1.30% 11.33%

Mol further explains: “With the traditional DASH approach, latency could be reduced by reducing the segment size. With a segment size of 1 second, a glass-to-glass latency of 4–5 seconds can be achieved. When we started out with ULL-CMAF based on video chunks, we were able to achieve a glass-to-glass latency of 2.61 seconds in the Netherlands. Last year’s optimization allowed us to push the limits to 0.43 seconds glass-to-glass in the Netherlands.”

Akamai and Ex Machina have shown that ULL- CMAF is a scalable and cost-effective alternative to WebRTC when targeting glass-to-glass latency of 1–3 seconds.

Ex Machina has launched with multiple customers. “Going forward, we anticipate working with more content owners and distributors, and enabling them to share an interactive narrative at scale while empowering them to take control of their business models,” concludes Elfferich.

About Ex Machina Group

We develop innovative, interactive solutions for brands, media, and e-commerce companies around the world. Our solutions, concepts, designs, apps, and platforms reach tens of millions of users, powering thousands of hours of interactivity worldwide, and support the world’s most versatile, proven platforms for live interactivity. Ex Machina Group is trusted by some of the biggest names in entertainment like Red Bull, ITV, Twitch, FremantleMedia, Microsoft, RTL, Talpa Media, Sony Pictures Television, WinView, and NBC. The company was founded in 2001 with an original focus on multiplayer games for web and mobile. In 2007 we created the first second-screen play-along-apps, and in 2019 we released Livery, our interactive live streaming solution. Today our focus is on interactivity video in the broadest sense, from second-screen apps and interactive gaming tools to next-level interactive solutions in the area of live video, all multiplatform and on multiple devices.

Our activities cover the whole process of creation from strategy and business case through concept and architecture, to design, development, and operations. We understand how the business works from the boardroom to the production floor. Ex Machina Group solutions, concepts, designs, apps, and platforms ensure maximum reach, audience engagement, and new opportunities for growth and profitability. Ex Machina Group is headquartered in Amsterdam (Netherlands) with offices in Rotterdam (Netherlands) and Montreal (Canada).


Related Customer Stories

Public Sector

Alodokter

Read More
Image and Video Manager

Editoriale Domus

Read More
Download Delivery

Roblox

Read More