公主号邮轮借助 Akamai 产品提升网站性能

Akamai 专业服务团队帮助该邮轮公司改进缓存和网站分载,从而实现其业务目标

我想,我们在过去几周中为 DPC 变更付出的辛勤努力收获了回报。我们的全天的流量持续增加了 200%。分载率平均达到 87%。

Jubil Sason,荷美集团项目负责人

公主号邮轮在 Akamai 的帮助下再创销售佳绩

2016 年,嘉年华集团旗下的主要邮轮公司公主号邮轮的团队希望增加客户流量、直接预订量,并改善其整体网站性能。由于该公司一直在投资于 Web 营销和电子邮件营销,网站速度和用户体验成为他们的首要关注点,成为最大限度地提高公主号邮轮推广活动有效性的重点所在。公主号邮轮过去曾经与 Akamai 服务和支持部有过合作,因此他们联系到了 Akamai,要求其提供咨询服务,以协助实现其高度优先的业务目标。

一支由专业服务专家组成的专门团队考虑了这个项目,制定了改善缓存和网站分载率的目标,从而帮助该公司增加 Princess.com 网站预订量。Akamai 专业服务团队根据框架、交付时间表和专业技术为公主号邮轮团队确定了 Princess.com 网站优化工作中的重要领域。该团队确定了其 Akamai 设置中有待改进之处,并制定了一份路线图,提供了调整网站架构的建议,以支持这家邮轮公司进一步满足其业务目标。

主要业务目标

  • 提高网站性能: 不断调整和优化 Princess.com 网站架构,以支持网站速度和提高分载率
  • 增加客户流量: 通过提供高速、优质的体验,满足乃至超越最终用户的期望
  • 实现价值最大化,风险最小化: 增加与公主号邮轮的推广活动直接挂钩的预订量,以支持推广活动覆盖率和转化率

Akamai 凭借专业技术指导公主号邮轮取得成功

该邮轮公司预计,在推出“1 美元邮轮押金大促”活动之后,其网站流量将大幅上升。公主号邮轮每年都会开展多次类似的活动,但在 2016 年,他们根据 Akamai 的评估结果看到了改善其 CPU 使用情况的机会。

Akamai 评估中的一项重要发现强调,Princess.com 在使用“Expires 标签”配置时遇到了问题。随着大促活动的邻近,公主号邮轮的团队急于寻找机会来提高网站的分载率。为公主号邮轮提供专属服务的 Akamai 专业服务专家团队挖掘了 Princess.com 的原有架构,并启用动态页面缓存,从而大幅提高了网站性能。在该项目中,Akamai 团队还深入研究了 Web 应用服务器逻辑,通过分析 Princess.com 的 CORS 逻辑来调试 Web 应用服务器逻辑。

战略目标 先前的方法 与 Akamai 合作之后
提高网站性能 现有的网站架构限制了 Princess.com IT 团队实施优化的能力 通过测试和实施经过改进的缓存规则,所有传入请求造成的源站/应用服务器负载得以降低,分载率提高到平均 87%
增加客户流量 平均每分钟最多 9,000 个请求 请求数量增加到平均每分钟 16,000 个,从而使直接预订量增加了 10 倍
通过整体化的方法实现价值最大化,风险最小化 通过手动网站优化工作来影响预订量的回报有限 Akamai 专家提供持续支持,以改善服务器逻辑并优化 Akamai 元数据设置

业务成果

  • 提高了网站性能: Princess.com 的分载率提高到平均 87%,CPU 使用率从 30-35% 降低到 20-25%
  • 增加客户流量: Princess.com 的流量平均增加 200%
  • 实现价值最大化,风险最小化: 通过 Princess.com 直接进行的平均每日预订量增加了 10 倍,达到其上次破纪录的一天的 2 倍

性能就是一切

在“1 美元邮轮押金大促”活动期间,Princess.com 的网站流量平均增加了 200%。Akamai 得以成功地将 Princess.com 的部分静态缓存分载到 Akamai Intelligent PlatformTM,减少了所有传入请求造成的源站服务器负载。这些优化将分载率提高到平均 87%。更重要的是,这使得通过 Princess.com 直接进行的预订量再创新纪录,平均每日预订率提升 10 倍,达到其上次破纪录一天的 2 倍。在 Princess.com 最盛大的年度活动中,Akamai 服务和支持团队通过确保安全的端到端用户体验,助力这一在线活动大获成功。


相关客户案例

Retail and Consumer Goods

EMC

See how Akamai helped EMC to deploy solutions to support their e-learning applications providing and enhanced web experience in remote countries.
Read More
Download Delivery

Fast, Credible Reporting for a New Generation of Business Leaders

India-based publisher Business Standard needed to build readership with lots of fast, dynamic content and Akamai has helped it achieve that goal.
Read More
Hotel and Travel

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts uses Akamai's CDN services to drive its online booking platform and improve website response time by 90%.
Read More

Princess Cruises uses Akamai for site performance

The Akamai professional services team helped the cruise line to improve caching and site offload to meet its business objectives

I think the DPC changes we worked hard on in the last few weeks have helped. We had 200% more traffic consistently throughout the day. Offload averaged at 87%.

Jubil Sason, Project Lead,, Holland America Group

Princess Cruises Breaks Sales Record with Akamai’s Help

In 2016, the team at Princess Cruises — a major cruise line in the Carnival Group — was looking to gain more customer traffic, increase direct bookings, and improve its overall site performance. With ongoing investments in web and email marketing, site speed and user experience are top priorities to maximize effectiveness of Princess Cruises’ promotions. Since Princess Cruises already had an existing engagement with Akamai Services and Support, the Princess Cruises team requested consulting services to assist in meeting their high-priority business goals.

A dedicated team of Professional Service experts scoped the project, with the goal of improving caching and site offload in an effort to increase bookings on Princess.com. The Akamai Professional Services team framework, delivery timeline, and technical expertise offered the Princess Cruises team key areas for optimization of Princess.com. The team mapped out areas of improvement within their Akamai setup and a roadmap with recommendations to adjust site architecture to further meet their business goals.

Primary Business Objectives

  • Improve site performance: Continuously tune and optimize the Princess.com site architecture to support site speed and improve offload rate
  • Increase customer traffic: Meet and exceed end-user expectations by delivering fast, quality experiences
  • Maximize value and minimize risk: Increase bookings directly correlated with Princess Cruises’ promotions to support reach and conversion

Akamai’s Expertise Guides Princess Cruises to a Win

Princess Cruises anticipated a significant uptick in site traffic as a result of its “$1 Cruise Deposit Sale.” Princess Cruises runs a variety of campaigns like this annually, but in 2016 it saw an opportunity to improve its CPU usage based on the findings from an Akamai assessment.

A key finding in the Akamai assessment highlighted that Princess.com was encountering issues using the “Expires Tag” configuration. With the impending campaign approaching, the team at Princess Cruises was rushing to find opportunities that would improve the site offload rate. Princess Cruises’ dedicated team of professional service experts at Akamai was able to dig into the existing architecture of Princess.com and enable Dynamic Page Caching to dramatically improve site performance. As a component of the project, the Akamai team also dug into the web app server logic to debug the Princess.com CORS logic by analyzing its web app server logic.

Strategic Goal Previous Approach After Partnering with Akamai
Improve site performance Existing site architecture limited the Princess.com IT team’s ability to implement optimizations Reduced origin/app server load for all incoming requests by testing and implementing improved caching rules, resulting in an improved offload rate to an average of 87%
Increase customer traffic Average maximum of 9,000 requests per minute Increased number of requests to an average of 16,000 per minute, which led to a 10x increase in direct bookings
Establish a holistic approach to maximize value and minimize risk Limited return on manual site optimization efforts to impact bookings Ongoing support from Akamai experts to improve server logic and optimize Akamai metadata settings

Business Outcomes

  • Improved site performance: Princess.com’s offload rate improved to an average of 87% and CPU usage was lowered from 30-35% to 20-25%
  • Increased customer traffic: 200% average increase in Princess.com traffic
  • Maximized value and minimized risk: Direct bookings via Princess.com increased by 10x the average daily bookings rate and 2x its previous record-breaking day

Performance is everything

During the “$1 Cruise Deposit Sale” campaign, Princess. com saw a 200% average increase in site traffic. Akamai was able to successfully offload some of the static Princess. com caching to the Akamai Intelligent PlatformTM, reducing the origin server load for all incoming requests. These optimizations improved offload rate to an average of 87%. More importantly, this resulted in a record-breaking day for bookings via Princess.com, closing 10x the average daily bookings rate and 2x its previous record-breaking day. The Akamai Services and Support team helped achieve this online success by ensuring a secure end-to-end user experience during Princess.com’s largest annual campaign.


Related Customer Stories

Image and Video Manager

Editoriale Domus

For users of Editoriale Domus properties, having Akamai behind the scenes has translated to a fast, seamless experience with immersive, interactive content, on any device – even as traffic volumes rise.
Read More
Public Sector

Alodokter

Read about how Alodokter keeps its secure digital healthcare platform, powered by Akamai, accessible to all Indonesians
Read More
Publishing

Seven West Media - WA News

Watch how Seven West Media uses Akamai's Image Manager to completely offload image optimization to increase their website's speed.
Read More