Dr. Boaz Gelbord

Senior Vice President und Chief Security Officer

Boaz Gelbord ist Senior Vice President und Chief Security Officer bei Akamai Technologies. Er leitet die Organisation der Informationssicherheit des Unternehmens und ist verantwortlich für Cybersicherheit, die Compliance in der Informationssicherheit und den Schutz von Systemen, Daten, Mitarbeitern und der weltweit führenden Intelligent Edge Platform von Akamai an mehr als 4.000 Standorten in 135 Ländern weltweit.

Dr. Gelbord kam 2021 als erfolgreicher CISO zu Akamai und verfügt über 15 Jahre Erfahrung im Aufbau und bei der Leitung von Informationssicherheitsteams in den USA und Europa. Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei Akamai war er Chief Information Security Officer bei Dun & Bradstreet, wo er das globale Cybersicherheitsprogramm leitete und für die Sicherheit der größten Unternehmensratingagentur der Welt sowie für den Schutz von Daten verantwortlich war, die mit 330 Millionen globalen Unternehmen verknüpft sind. Davor arbeitete er als CISO bei Bloomberg, LP, nachdem er als CISO bei Amplify (ehemals Education Division von News Corporation) tätig war. Zuvor hatte er Positionen in der Informationssicherheit an der New School University in New York, bei der European Network and Information Security Agency (ENISA) und bei der KPN Royal Dutch Telecom/TNO inne.

Er engagiert sich für Internet-Politik und Governance und arbeitete als ernanntes Mitglied im Cybersecurity"Moonshot"Subcommitee des President's National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee (NSTAC) und hat das Weiße Haus zu Bedrohungsrisiken und -prävention beraten.

Dr. Gelbord schloss sein Studium an der University of Calgary (Kanada) mit einem Bachelor of Science in Mathematik ab. Zudem erwarb er einen Master of Science in Mathematik an der University of Toronto (Kanada) und einen Doktortitel in Mathematik am Technion, Israel Institute of Technology (Israel). Zusätzlich zu seiner Muttersprache Englisch spricht er fließend Niederländisch und Hebräisch und hat gute Französisch- und Spanischkenntnisse.

Dr. Boaz Gelbord

Senior Vice President and Chief Security Officer

Boaz Gelbord is Senior Vice President and Chief Security Officer of Akamai Technologies. He leads the company’s Information Security organization and is responsible for overseeing cybersecurity, information security compliance, and the protection of Akamai’s systems, data, employees, and the world’s leading intelligent edge platform across more than 4,000 locations in 135 countries around the world.

Dr. Gelbord joined Akamai in 2021 as an accomplished CISO with 15 years of experience in building and leading information security teams in the U.S. and Europe. Prior to Akamai, he was Chief Information Security Officer at Dun & Bradstreet, where he led its global cybersecurity program and was responsible for securing the world’s largest business credit rating agency and protecting data associated with 330 million global businesses. Before that, he was CISO at Bloomberg, LP, after serving as CISO at Amplify (formerly the Education Division of News Corporation). Previously, he held information security positions at the New School University, in New York, and at the European Network and Information Security Agency (ENISA) and KPN Royal Dutch Telecom/TNO.

He is active in Internet policy and governance circles and served on the President's National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee (NSTAC) as part of the cybersecurity "moonshot" subcommittee, advising the U.S. government on threat risk and prevention.

Dr. Gelbord graduated from the University of Calgary (Canada) with a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics and earned a Master of Science degree in Mathematics from the University of Toronto (Canada) and a PhD in Mathematics from Technion, Israel Institute of Technology (Israel). In addition to his native English, he is fluent in Dutch and Hebrew and proficient in French and Spanish.