Akamai 收购 Guardicore 以拓展 Zero Trust 解决方案,从而更好地帮助客户抵御勒索软件攻击。 阅读全文

Blue Code Hero Background

SINET 借助 Akamai 消除中断

这家服务提供商能够使用 Akamai 安全产品保护其 DNS 基础架构,并保护其订阅者免受网络威胁影响

与 Akamai 的合作改善了我们的安全状况,让我们有信心继续在柬埔寨实现积极增长。

Vireak Ouk,SINET 首席运营官

建立创新的安全方法

SINET 是一家领先的互联网和电信服务提供商,目前正在处理导致网络中断和用户访问中断的网络威胁。找到应对这些威胁的最佳解决方案对于确保高可靠性、高质量的服务和避免客户流失至关重要。

SINET 成立于 2009 年,拥有并经营着整个柬埔寨的 200 多个活跃的入网点 - 从所有主要城市和省城,到偏远地区和村庄。作为柬埔寨最大的互联网服务提供商之一,SINET 为创新客户 - 尤其是游戏和小额信贷行业的初创公司 - 提供服务。这迫使该提供商必须找到一种行之有效、可靠的方法来抵御导致网络中断和破坏用户体验的 DDoS 攻击和恶意软件。

更好地防御威胁

尽管 SINET 的金融客户特别担心恶意软件和软件,但游戏客户更容易遭受可能中断其服务的 DDoS 攻击。在任一情况下,定向到 SINET 基础架构的攻击有时会阻止其客户访问互联网。大多数网站依赖 DNS 发挥作用,而专门针对关键 DNS 基础架构的新威胁已被开发出来。

SINET 过去依赖 BIND - 一种广泛使用的 DNS 软件。SINET 的 BIND 软件多次成为暴力破解攻击的目标,这会影响该提供商的整个网络。SINET 的一些客户将其 DNS 更改为 Google DNS,这暂时解决了该问题。其余客户等待 SINET 的工程师找出攻击源并将其禁用。但是,工程师花费了过多的时间来执行此操作,而这并不总是行之有效,因为攻击源可能会被伪装。在大多数情况下,它们被迫重建 BIND。

经过几次攻击,SINET 的网络连续几个小时停止运行,该提供商因此失去了一些客户,现在是时候采取新方法了。SINET 的首席运营官 Vireak Ouk 描述道:“我们的首席执行官意识到了这一问题,并同意,我们需要更好的方法来保护我们的网络和客户免受威胁。”

选择为电信提供商设计的安全解决方案

了解 DNS 是 DDoS 攻击的主要目标之后,SINET 转为使用 Akamai 解决方案,而不是简单地使用访问列表、防火墙或 BIND。正如 Ouk 所说,“Akamai 向我们介绍了 BIND 软件的限制以及 Akamai DNSi CacheServe 和 SPS ThreatAvert 解决方案如何独一无二地解决恶意威胁以增强服务提供商的安全状态。”

DNSi CacheServe 能够实现自我防御型 DNS 基础架构,该基础架构旨在保护网络和用户免受网络威胁的侵害。Akamai SPS ThreatAvert 实时评估 DNS 查找,以检测和中断恶意活动。该解决方案针对的是导致网络中断或速度下降的威胁,包括基于 DNS 的 DDoS 攻击和爬虫恶意软件。

“由于所有互联网流量都需要经过 DNS,因此我们必须保护此基础架构。我们认为 Akamai 解决方案比企业版 BIND 和另一 DNS 解决方案更好。Akamai 的解决方案专为电信提供商构建,可阻止和缓解各种网络威胁并提高网络安全性。”Ouk 解释道。

改善市场声誉

自实施 DNSi CacheServe 和 SPS ThreatAvert 以来,SINET 未经历过任何与 DNS 相关的停机。“在切换之前,我们每 12 个月经历三到四次 DNS 中断 - 轻微中断和重大中断。自使用 Akamai 解决方案以来,我们的 DNS 一直没有出现中断。事实上,我们已经全面减少了与 DNS 攻击相关的客户流失。”Ouk 说道。

Akamai 解决方案已极大地改变了 SINET 处理主要安全威胁的方法。过去,提供商无法向受影响的客户解释网络问题的原因。“我们只是告诉他们需要清理网络,并希望他们自行处理这项工作。”Ouk 继续说道。

借助 Akamai 解决方案,SINET 的工程师可以专注于增值计划,而不是花时间尝试查明攻击来源及其影响。他们不再需要恢复 BIND,因为 Akamai 解决方案阻止了网络中断。如果提供商遇到与 DNS 相关的任何安全问题,Ouk 表示他们现在有信心主动接触客户,并明确引导他们执行后续步骤。

“Akamai 的行业领先地位和专业知识将帮助我们实现长期战略目标。通过将 Akamai 解决方案添加到我们的安全层,我们在柬埔寨的网络安全方面处于领先地位。”Ouk 总结道。

SINET 简介

SINET 是一家专业的专用互联网和电信服务提供商,自 2009 年以来一直致力于提供卓越的工程服务和可靠的支持。SINET 是面向企业的互联网和 ICT 服务的领导者之一,也是柬埔寨的 ICT 新发展、最新网络技术和安全最佳做法领域的重要先驱。

我们以我们对通信技术的不懈热爱为驱动力,并通过这些技术促进业务以及人与人之间的联系。

与 SINET 联系


相关客户案例

Security

Smilegate West

Smilegate West delivers a high-quality game experience for thousands of players, blocking DDoS attacks with Akamai
Read More
Download Delivery

ASUS

全球高科技巨头华硕依靠 Akamai 的平台交付并保护他们的在线体验。
Read More
Security

Intuit

Intuit keeps TurboTax, QuickBooks, and Mint available and secure year-round with Akamai.
Read More

SINET eliminates blackouts using Akamai

The service provider was able to protect its DNS infrastructure and shield its subscribers from cyberthreats using Akamai security

Partnering with Akamai has improved our security posture and given us the confidence to continue pursuing aggressive growth in Cambodia.

Vireak Ouk, COO, SINET

Establishing an Innovative Security Approach

SINET, a leading Internet and telecom service provider was dealing with cyberthreats that resulted in network downtime and blacked out user access. Finding the best solution to combat these threats was essential to ensure a highly reliable, quality service and stem the tide of customer churn.

SINET, founded in 2009, owns and operates over 200 active network POPs across Cambodia, from all main cities and provincial towns to remote districts and villages. As one of the biggest ISPs in Cambodia, SINET serves innovative customers, particularly startups in the gaming and microfinance industries. This made it all the more critical that the provider find a proven, reliable way to ward off DDoS attacks and malicious software that were causing network blackouts and disrupting the user experience.

Better Protecting Against Threats

While SINET’s finance customers are particularly concerned with malware and ransomware, gaming customers are susceptible to DDoS attacks that can disrupt their services. In either case, attacks directed at SINET’s infrastructure sometimes prevented its customers from accessing the Internet. Most websites rely on DNS to function, and new threats have been developed that specifically target critical DNS infrastructure.

SINET used to rely on BIND, widely-used DNS software. A few times, SINET’s BIND software was the target of brute force attacks, impacting the provider’s entire network. Some of SINET’s customers changed their DNS to Google DNS, which solved the issue temporarily. The remaining customers waited for SINET’s engineers to figure out the attack source and disable it. However, the engineers spent inordinate time doing so, and this was not always effective since the source can be spoofed. In most cases, they were forced to rebuild BIND.

After several attacks disabled SINET’s network for hours on end and the provider lost some customers as a result, it was time for a new approach. According to Vireak Ouk, COO for SINET, “Our CEO was aware of the issue and agreed we needed a better way to protect our network and our customers from threats.”

Selecting Security Solutions Designed for Telecom Providers

Understanding DNS was the main entry for DDoS attacks, SINET turned to Akamai rather than simply using access lists, firewalls, or BIND. As Ouk says, “Akamai educated us on the limitations of BIND software and how the Akamai DNSi CacheServe and SPS ThreatAvert solutions uniquely address malicious threats to enhance a service provider’s security profile.”

DNSi CacheServe enables self-defending DNS infrastructure that is designed to shield networks and subscribers from cyberthreats. Akamai SPS ThreatAvert evaluates DNS lookups in real time to detect and disrupt malicious activity. The solution targets threats that cause network outages or slowdowns, including DNS-based DDoS attacks and bot malware.

“Because all Internet traffic needs to go through DNS, it’s critical that we secure this infrastructure. We felt the Akamai solutions were a much better option than the enterprise version of BIND and another DNS solution. Akamai’s solutions are purpose-built for telecom providers to block and mitigate various cyber threats, and improve network security,” explains Ouk.

Improving Its Marketplace Reputation

Since implementing DNSi CacheServe and SPS ThreatAvert, SINET has not experienced any DNS-related downtime. “Before switching, we experienced three to four DNS interruptions – both minor and major – every 12 months. Our DNS has not gone down since going live with Akamai. In fact, we have completely reduced customer churn related to DNS attacks,” says Ouk.

The Akamai solutions have dramatically changed SINET’s approach to handling major security threats. In the past, the provider was unable to explain to its impacted customers the reasons for network issues. “We simply told them they needed to clean up their network and hoped they took care of it on their end,” continues Ouk.

With Akamai in place, SINET’s engineers can focus on value-added initiatives instead of spending time trying to pinpoint the source of attacks and their impact. They no longer need to restore BIND since the Akamai solutions have prevented the network from going down. Should the provider experience any security issues related to DNS, Ouk says they now have the confidence to proactively approach customers and clearly guide them on next steps.

“Akamai’s industry leadership and expertise will help us achieve our long-term strategic objectives. By adding the Akamai solutions to our security layer, we are ahead when it comes to cybersecurity in Cambodia,” Ouk concludes.

About SINET

SINET is a specialist Dedicated Internet and Telecom Service Provider with strong focuses on engineering excellence and reliable support since 2009. SINET is one of the leaders in Internet and ICT services for businesses and entreprises and is the key pioneer in the new ICT advancement, latest network technologies, and security best practices in Cambodia.

We are driven by our endearing love of communication technologies and by using them to facilitate business and human connections.

Connect with SINET


Related Customer Stories

Download Delivery

ASUS

Read More
Public Sector

Douglas Omaha Technology Commission | Akamai

Read More
Enterprise Threat Protector

Adastria Quickly and Proactively Secures Its Workforce with Enterprise Threat Protector

Read More